We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slice of heaven.”
Review of Cannery Pier Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Cannery Pier Hotel
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Astoria
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed June 13, 2009

I rarely go to the same place twice because there are so many places to explore, however, I just left the Cannery Pier hotel for the second time. This small boutique hotel is a wonderful place that pays attention to detail. You can soak in a "feetie" bathtub and watch the boats go by out the window. They offer wine and cheese every night, fresh baked cookies before bed, and breakfast in the mornings. The hotel is situated at the end of a pier. They have bikes for guests to ride down the river walk. I highly recommend it!!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 123marciec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,230)
There are newer reviews for Cannery Pier Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,113 - 1,119 of 1,230 reviews

Reviewed May 30, 2009

Our stay at the Cannery Pier Hotel was wonderful. We had the opportunity to experience many great places during our Oregon Coast getaway, and this was one of our favorites! The staff at the CPH went above and beyond to make our anniversary night special! We had complimentary champagne waiting in our room and rose petals (artificial but thoughtful) on the bed and bar. We were escorted to dinner in one of the vintage cars. When the staff made our dinner reservation, they even informed the resturant of our anniversary, where we were treated so well! The staff gave great recommendations for dinner and a night out on the town! It was a fantastic stay, wish we could have been there more than 1 night. The room was well decorated, comfortable, and large. The view, window seat, and balcony were so enjoyable for us. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel and we will be back!!!

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fun2Trav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2009

Very interestingly located out at the end of a Pier that provided dramatic views of the Columbia River emptying into the Pacific Ocean. We could wave at the crew of passing ocean liner ships. We wre given a comfortable king room for $180 night. Very modern furnishings, including a refrigerator and microwave complimented the room's unique angular design. Hotel offered a fair wine and cheese hour in the evening and a continental breakfast, both in the attractive lobby. Only negative was the fact that there was very limited counter space in bathroom and no closet, only a clothes cabinet.

Friendly staffing and a quiet night’s rest made this an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SanFrancisco_Tourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2009

My wife and I stayed at the CPH after a few days of road travel and after saying at a few boutique hotels in Portland. The CPH is located in the water, recently built on a restored pier at the mouth of the Columbia River where salmon canneries historically processed fish. The location is truly unique; it is a bit isolated and provides views of the water and Astoria-Megler Bridge so striking and mesmerizing it almost gave me vertigo. We stayed in a corner suite. The design of the suite was good with a separate king bedroom, large bath with jetted tub and separate shower, and a small seating area with a gas fireplace and wet bar, and settee at the water-view side. There was also a small balcony, which we put to good use for talking photos of the bridge, each other, and of the many merchant ships traveling in the nearby shipping lane. TVs were not HD, were older tube style and not impressive. The wet bar was well appointed with a drip coffee maker, French press, teas, electric hot water kettle, and corkscrew (but no wine glasses). Wireless interned did not work (weak signal) and the Ethernet connection in the room also did not work.

Upon arrival at the hotel we were welcome at the desk nicely, and were told we could have help with our bags if we “needed it”. This was a stark contrast in the level of service we had just experienced at other boutique hotels where staff would customarily say “I will gladly help you with your bags” as they extend a hand. No one paying close to $400 per night wants to carry their own suitcases. This was not a big deal but it did appear to foreshadow a casual level of service. The complementary wine reception held in the evening in the large lobby was pleasant and it was enjoyable to meet other guests. The complementary breakfast buffet was similarly well done with all the usual breakfast-bar foods.

The view of the bridge and water is what you pay for, and it does not disappoint. The hotel appeared to do quite well with bookings and seemed to be at capacity during our stay. The building is of somewhat unique architectural character, and being an architect of sorts myself I appreciated the common areas of the building, use of openness, light and windows, and overall well executed design. I did not admire the cheap building materials and finishes: Pergo floors, cheap doors, cheap moldings/trim and cheap room furnishings. Finishes appeared to be sloppily constructed with building boom labor. The cleanliness of the room was not exceptional but was tolerable. The fireplace glass was dirty and some wear and tear was evident on furnishings and surfaces throughout the room. There was a fresh lipstick mark on one of the coffee mugs in the bar and we needed to wash the mugs prior to our own use.

Upon checkout there was an apology for the internet not working, but no discount was offered. Addressing my wife and me, the young hostess at the desk then said “have a great day guys” with no offer to help us out with our bags. At other hotels we stayed at recently we were addressed properly (by our names) and wished a safe trip after our bags were placed in our car. Expect to pay more for exclusive views and casual attitudes at the CPH.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sitestudio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2009

We just spent two nights in Astoria at the Cannery Pier Hotel and found it to be a real treat. The hosts are very gracious and helpful. It is very conveniently located and just the right size hotel for us. It is located on the water and all the rooms, including the lobby area, have wonderful views of the river, the bridge and the mouth of the Columbia. I was concerned that being in such close proximity to the bridge there could be noise from vehicle traffic or from passing boats but we heard nothing unless our door was wide open to the deck. The room was a nice size with a small refrigerator and bar sink, gas fireplace, small sofa and window seat. The bath area is larger and more convenient than most hotel rooms.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fuzzybennuti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2009

Was very shocked at the very special treatment every person was given at this lovely hotel. The staff was outstanding and the owner was a wonderful man. Everyone was treated like family. Nothing was held back by the staff. Everything from the location, to the concierge, to the wine and cheese 5-7 (or whenever you returned!) the housekeeping, the rooms, the front desk the homemade choc chip cookies every night, the breakfast people, were 1st rate. This hotel is a hidden gem on the Oregon coast. Wish I could move in to this hotel. The rooms are lovely, open, airy and spacious. The bathrooms are lovely and pampering (great deep large claw foot tubs) and the beds are comfortable and the views are outrageous. There is nowhere I have stayed that was not a 500.00 a night hotel that treated me as well is this hotel did. If you are anywhere on the coast please stay here. I can not thank the staff including Allison who really went out of her way to make sure everything was perfectly done for us enough. I will return to this hotel, without ever looking anywhere else.

  • Stayed: May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisacpnj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2009

My husband stayed on the top floor in a King room. The room was very nice. The room has a table and two chairs, sofa, TV and fireplace. There was a small balcony. Loved the great window seat to look at the ships. The hotel has a list of the ships leaving and coming in at the front desk. There are binoculars in the rooms. The bathroom has a large tub that looks out into the room and outside. There are folding shutters by the tub if you want to be more private. There is a small shower. The toilet has its own room. In the evening cheese and crackers are set out with lox on bread. There is breakfast with hard boiled eggs, choice of breads and cereals, fresh fruit, waffle maker, milk and juices, also coffee, hot chocolate and teas. There are just 3 small tables to eat at. But there are sofas and comfy chairs in the rest of the lobby. It can get crowded if there are a lot of people staying. They also offer to take you to restaurants in one of the two old restored cars. Sign up ahead if you want this sometimes they can be booked at the time you want. This is a beautiful place with a wonderful view. Plus the winter rates are good, and even better is when you book one of their specials. we got this room for $129---well worth the price.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jillybeanpink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Astoria hotels
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Astoria
0.2 mi away
Astoria Riverwalk Inn
Astoria Riverwalk Inn
#5 of 14 in Astoria
746 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Astoria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Best Western Astoria Bayfront Hotel
2.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Columbia River
1.1 mi away
Hotel Elliott
Hotel Elliott
#6 of 14 in Astoria
398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cannery Pier Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cannery Pier Hotel

Address: 10 Basin St, Astoria, OR 97103-6221
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Astoria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Astoria
#1 Green Hotel in Astoria
#1 Family Hotel in Astoria
#3 Business Hotel in Astoria
Price Range: $341 - $397 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cannery Pier Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Cannery Pier Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cannery Pier Astoria
Hotel Cannery Pier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing