We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay at the CPH”
Review of Cannery Pier Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cannery Pier Hotel
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Astoria
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed November 11, 2008

We stayed in one of the 2 room suites with a balcony overlooking the river. It was absolutely amazing and beautiful. I spent hours watching the huge ships go by.

The complimentary lobby wine tastings were fun and this hotel is very clean and modern. The location is decent for sight-seeing downtown.

The only bad thing I can say is the room had no air conditioning so it got warm during the day, but at night it gets pretty cool here even in the summer so it wasn't a problem generally for sleeping.

We would definitely come back!

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank MARKLakeWorth_Fl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,232)
There are newer reviews for Cannery Pier Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,136 - 1,142 of 1,232 reviews

Reviewed November 3, 2008

From being on their e-mail list we were notified that they were having a Halloween Special. My husband and I use every excuse we can find to head to CPH! We met under the Astoria-Megler Bridge! The staff are always friendly and very accommodating. We've enjoyed the Day Spa as well as the Hot Tub. All are well maintained. "IF" they make a mistake, they make it RIGHT! And their mistakes are few and far between. They have a wonderful breakfast in the morning that is part of your room fee and wine tasting and hors in the evening. There is not a bad room in the house!

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank debadger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2008

The Cannery Pier Hotel was a great way to start off our tour of the Oregon Coast, although it did set the bar a little high for other hotels later in the trip. As everyone else has said, this hotel is in a fantastic location and has great views (apparently there are no rooms without views) of the Columbia River and bridge. It was an unusual treat to watch giant ships pass by our window, and we had a sea lion swim by our balcony as well. The room was big, modern, clean, and comfortable, with binoculars for watching ships and sea birds and an awesome claw-foot tub. The bed was super comfortable with high thread-count sheets. What we hadn't expected was the complimentary wine and cheese (and local smoked salmon) cocktail hour and even better, the milk and fresh baked cookies that greeted us when we came back from dinner. I would recommend this to anyone and I will definitely stay there again if I find myself in Astoria in the future.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank infiknitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2008

The Cannery Pier Hotel is, quite simply, unique. As other reviewers have noted it sits at the end of a pier almost underneath the beautiful Astoria-Washington bridge. Whoever the architect was who designed this rebuild of an old salmon cannery deserves an award. Every room literally overlooks the Columbia River Bar ship channel where huge ships pass right in front of the balconies. Hopefully the attached pictures will give an idea of what an awesome experience this is. The hotel is full of mementoes of Astoria's past as the salmon cannery capitol of the world. Staff are excellent and the open spaces off the lobby are filled with guests who meet and greet at the daily manager's reception while watching the ever changing Columbia. The two vintage buicks that are used to chauffeur guests to local restaurants are a great touch. I've posted many reviews on Trip Advisor, for hotels all over the world, and can say with confidence this is one of the best experiences to be had anywhere - and at a reasonable price.

Dale Dunlop

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank maritimeexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2008

We booked this hotel as part of a MIL/DIL weekend away. In town for the 10K Great Columbia River Crossing. We Ran/Walked across the Megler-Astoria Bridge. The location was perfect, the staff very helpful. The room was awesome!
I only wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maggie99501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2008

When you are booking a hotel of this price, you are expecting a certain level of experience. This hotel not only delivers that level but possibly the next two! It is impossible to find any criticism of this hotel; the customer service was the best I've received at any hotel - they booked us a table at an excellent restaurant in town, and drove us there and back. The room was large and has everything you would need; and the bathroom is probably better than the one you've got at home! If you are going within 50 miles of Astoria, and can afford to stay at this hotel, do it - you won't be disappointed.

Stayed: September 2008
Thank psnth2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2008

I have wanted to stay at this property since a visit to Astoria while this hotel was being constructed. I wasn't disappointed! We live close to the Oregon Coast and are frequent visitors, and a $200+ a night hotel is a stretch for our budget. It was worth saving up for, and when we added in use of the amenities and the food during the day it certainly didn't seem unreasonable.

Our room was on the first floor and it was amazing how close to the water it was. Two mornings we got up to see a great blue heron resting on the dilapidated pier next to the hotel, was quite a sight. Also had a sea lion surface, check me out, and dive back down while I was checking emails from the laptop while curled up at the window seat.

The morning started with a breakfast (early - 6 to 9 am during the week, until 10 on the weekend) that had hard boiled eggs, fruit, make your own waffles, assorted breads and pastries, and yogurt. There was also juice, and 24 hours a day there were coffee, tea, spiced cider and cocoa available in the breakfast room. My personal favorite was the hour in the afternoon (5 to 6) when they served wine and set out a cheese and crackers tray as well as a tray of bread with cream cheese and smoked salmon. Refills of the wine were available! Finally, in the evening (around 8pm) they put out a basket of cookies (you can smell the cookies baking earlier in the day).

Our first night during the wine & cheese hour we reviewed the local menus available at the front desk, and then the front desk person set up a time for the car to drive us to dinner and made a reservation for us. When you are finished with dinner, just ask the restaurant to call the hotel and they will send the car back for you. That was a luxury that we weren't expecting, and it was fabulous.

One of my favorite things about Astoria is the river walk path and the trolley, both of which are easily accessible from the hotel. We walked to dinner one night along the path, and it is great to take the borrowed bikes on. It goes for miles along the Columbia River, you can take the path or the trolley (the path runs along the trolley tracks) to the Columbia River Maritime Museum (which is definitely worth a stop, you learn so much about the history of the river). We also thoroughly enjoyed watching the ships coming and going - the hotel provides a list from the bar pilots of the ships expected to arrive or depart during the day so that you have an idea what you are seeing. The list shows where they ship is coming from and where it is headed. There were some ships we saw that weren't on the list, and it was fun to Google the names of the ships and learn about them!

We didn't try the "spa" experience, but as hotel guests we did use the hot tub and sauna and enjoyed them both. There was a fitness room with a treadmill, stair climber, elliptical, and a weight set, that also had a great view upriver. There seemed to be a room set aside for massages, but the rest of the "spa" seemed to be shared with the hotel guests.

Finally, the rooms - they were great. Our only issue was that the room was too warm - and I NEVER can get warm, so that's impressive for me to say. There is a gas fireplace in the room that comes on to heat the room but even when it's off it has a fairly large pilot light and puts out quite a bit of heat. We had the heat set at 50 most of the time, and had to open the window to sleep as it was just too warm. The large & deep soaking tub was wonderful, and there was even a view from the glass shower through the window to the river (but being on the first level - we didn't take advantage of that really, too many large and small boats going by!) Other than the heat, though, our room was very large, very clean, the bed was very comfortable, and we enjoyed playing games at the table. There was also a couch and the window seat for more relaxing.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank mmeoww
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Astoria hotels
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Astoria
0.2 mi away
Astoria Riverwalk Inn
Astoria Riverwalk Inn
#6 of 14 in Astoria
748 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Astoria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Best Western Astoria Bayfront Hotel
1.1 mi away
Hotel Elliott
Hotel Elliott
#5 of 14 in Astoria
398 reviews
2.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Columbia River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cannery Pier Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cannery Pier Hotel

Address: 10 Basin St, Astoria, OR 97103-6221
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Astoria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Astoria
#1 Family Hotel in Astoria
#1 Green Hotel in Astoria
#3 Business Hotel in Astoria
Price Range: $341 - $397 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cannery Pier Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Hotels.com so you can book your Cannery Pier Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cannery Pier Astoria
Hotel Cannery Pier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing