We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Awesome Getaway”
Review of Cannery Pier Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Cannery Pier Hotel
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Astoria
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed December 26, 2013

This hotel has a beautiful setting on the Columbia River under one of the longest bridges. The many ships pass under it and whether it is a clear day or a foggy one, it is engaging to watch as the ships navigate through this area. The views are present from the main lobby, the second floor balcony or one's room. The rooms are spacious with a fireplace, a balcony and a very comfortable bed. The staff is friendly and quick to accommodate any requests. Their is a complementary wine reception in the evening and a small breakfast in the morning. There is no restaurant or bar on site but there are ones close by.

Room Tip: The fourth floor rooms offer an excellent view of the river.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank susansox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,231)
There are newer reviews for Cannery Pier Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

620 - 626 of 1,232 reviews

Reviewed December 19, 2013

This is a lovely hotel in a fabulous (and sometimes stormy!) location in an historic town in Oregon. Service is friendly and prompt. Highly recommend on all levels. Borrow one of their bikes if you are there on a good day, and ride the boardwalk. Also, if it's summer, you must go to Astoria Farmer's Market on the weekend.

Room Tip: Book well in advance so you get a waterfront view.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SusanandJim_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2013

While I haven't stayed here because I live here, I've been in the rooms many times as this is without question the best hotel in the county and I put favored business guests and good friends here.
It LOOKS like an old converted cannery (the reman ends of old canneries are evident all over Astoria from the century (1875-1975) when they dominated the waterfront.
But this is a brand new hotel that would stand up to say, the Andaz in Manhattan (where I have stayed).
They offer free wine tasting, every room has a truly spectacular view and fireplaces.
Although no in facility restaurant there is an unaffiliated great place - the Bridgewater Bistro maybe 200 feet toward the main road. Parking is easy and free,
If you don't have a car they have a fleet of beautifully restored 50s Cadillacs and other cars to pick you up or allow up to imbibe at one of Astoria's many great earring places (the town has blossomed since the mid-90s) without fear of driving while impaired.
The staff are wonderful and helpful.
I have no association with the hotel, owners or employees but this place is a jewel.

Room Tip: Check out off-peak rates
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank coastda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2013

My husband and I took a month-long road trip along the Pacific Northwest coast in September & October 2013, starting in Mendocino, California and then heading north along the coast of northern California, Oregon and Washington.....finally ending at the San Juan Islands, Washington before heading back east to Illinois. We stayed at many wonderful Inns and B&Bs along the way but I can truly say that the Cannery Pier Hotel was the most unique and memorable place that we stayed. Located over the water on the pilings of an old cannery at the mouth of the Columbia River, every room has floor-to-ceiling windows and a small balcony to look out over the River, a pair of binoculars and a listing of all the huge freighters and times that they will be entering/leaving the Columbia River each day.......passing our hotel room windows no more than 200-300 yards from our windows. An awesome, breathtaking experience. And when there are no freighters, you look at the big beautiful Columbia River and the high Astoria-Megler Bridge (the longest continuous Truss bridge in North America) that connects Oregon to Washington. We stayed at the Cannery Pier Hotel for 4 nights, exploring Astoria and the Columbia River Gorge during the days......and would have loved to have stayed even a couple more days. If we ever get back to Astoria, we will definitely stay at the Cannery Pier Hotel. I have been recommending it to all my friends.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank judychicagoillinois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013

This hotel was amazing. We did not have a booking. As it was low season they gave us a great walk in rate and the lady at the front desk was very helpful and very nice. The rooms have the most amazing view over the bridge and river. The rooms are huge. You can sit in the bath and look out over the river and bridge through the fold out windows. Every afternoon they put on complimentary wine and snacks which is a nice way to spend the afternoon before heading to dinner. There is no restaurant however they offer a complimentary service where they take you into down in their classic cars. It was a very nice touch and the chauffeur was very nice. Breakfast is also included in the price.

Room Tip: I believe all the rooms offer the same amazing views.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gaylependy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

We just returned from a nice stay at this lovely hotel. It was a nice break from staying at corporate big chains after we had our daughter. In the past, before the birth our often rambunctious toddler, we used to enjoy staying at quaint bed and breakfast places. Although this hotel does not advertise itself as being like B and B, it gave us that nostalgic feelings. Excellent cheese and wine service in the evenings. Warm cookies for my little one. A pretty decent continental breakfast in the morning. A constant supply of the warm drinks such as coffee, tea, and hot water. We couldn't ask for more. The best part was the friendly staff. The hotel staff genuinely seems to like children and hence making it a very family friendly establishment.

Although this hotel was small, all the amenities it provided was first rate. There was espresso stand in the morning, computer station on the second floor, chauffer service, and the view of Astoria bridge was spectacular.

We enjoyed watching the storm, ships, and other wild life from our room. We were at first disappointed when we entered the room because the room was cold but we soon learned that the heat was controlled by the in room fire place. Pictures and paintings on the walls throughout the hotel told the story of the cannery and we especially liked that paintings were originally done by a local artist. We wished that we actually had more money to buy some of these. :) Overall, we had a great time and we hope to return again!

Room Tip: Higher floors may be better? We stayed on the first floor.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank enjoytravel_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

I was one of 'those guests' ......I needed a phone charger, they had 20. I needed a ride to dinner, they did it in a nice old fashioned car. I needed a roll away, they brought it. And finally......I needed some wine at night, a bottle was offered.

This is a nice clean modern hotel. The view is spectacular. Family friendly. We couldn't be happier.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank levinem9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Astoria hotels
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Astoria
0.2 mi away
Astoria Riverwalk Inn
Astoria Riverwalk Inn
#6 of 14 in Astoria
747 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Astoria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Best Western Astoria Bayfront Hotel
1.1 mi away
Hotel Elliott
Hotel Elliott
#5 of 14 in Astoria
398 reviews
2.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Columbia River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cannery Pier Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cannery Pier Hotel

Address: 10 Basin St, Astoria, OR 97103-6221
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Astoria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Astoria
#1 Green Hotel in Astoria
#1 Romantic Hotel in Astoria
#3 Business Hotel in Astoria
Price Range: $341 - $397 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cannery Pier Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Cannery Pier Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cannery Pier Astoria
Hotel Cannery Pier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing