We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Make Sure You Meet Spencer”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cannery Pier Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Cannery Pier Hotel
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Astoria
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
80 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Make Sure You Meet Spencer”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

An article in a Calgary newspaper on Spencer and his courtesy limo service at the Cannery Pier Hotel caught our eye, and was the reason for our choosing this hotel for our north Oregon stay. An inviting boutique hotel on the river front near the famous Astoria bridge. Great reception upon arrival...front desk staff were most helpful in planning our two day stay in Astoria. Each evening before diner there is free wine, cheese and eats adjacent to the front entrance area...and one night an entertainer made the stay even more special. Complementary breakfast in the morning is worth your consideration. Hotel rooms are large, well maintained and nicely furnished with upgraded items. From your room, you can watch ships sailing past your window...within a football field length of your room. Take advantage of the complementary bikes and Spencer to drive you to your restaurant of choice in an older model car. Great restaurants near the hotel. A bit pricey, but worth the extra few dollars to stay in this first class hotel. And, make sure you get an opportunity to meet Spencer.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Doug B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    950
    159
    31
    13
    3
See reviews for
180
747
24
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (373)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
GIG HARBOR
Level Contributor
284 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

We went here for a weekend getaway and were not disappointed. The view from our room was gorgeous. They provide binoculars so you can check out the river. The fireplace was nice but it made the room too hot for me. We went into town for dinner and took advantage of the vintage car-we were driven in a 1951 Cadillac!! We also received massages at the spa and enjoyed those. We are going back for sure because we didn't have time to do everything and we want to use the bikes at the hotel!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mom2my4boyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
111 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

Outstanding & Very Friendly Customer Service, Unique and Large Room, Extremely Clean, where the Columbia River meets the Pacific. I can't think of anything they missed. A great place to start a trip down Highway 101 along the Oregon Coast! An Excellent Replica on the old Cannery that was once at the end of this pier. Very Unique!

Room Tip: We had a King Suite with a Fireplace and Balcony to Columbia River. All rooms face the Columbia.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

Fabulous place. Beautiful room with gorgeous views. . Great attention to detail. Wonderful organic breakfast. Service was perfect - staff were thoughtful and welcoming! Had bikes, binoculars, chauffeur, robes and even a couple of guests playing music in the lobby in the evening. Very highly recommended!

Room Tip: Not sure about any others but 201 has a corner window which was wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alicampbell30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

Amazing views and location. Rooms are clean and good sized with fireplaces, window seats overlook where the ships go by, views of the bridge, claw footed soaking tubs. Organic teas and Greek yogurt are highlights of the great breakfast. We got mints on the pillows at night. All natural bath products and good quality towels with included bath robes. Wonderful service from a friendly staff. Attractive lobby. Peaceful. All around fantastic stay.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WI_Momma_76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013 via mobile

They really thought of everything, from the planning and layout to binoculars and robes in the room to top notch service from everyone and perks like a sauna, in room refridge, DVD player and even washing machines for guests to use. The view is absolutely stellar! I'd gladly return

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nikkiinbutare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waco, Texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

I discovered Astoria a few years ago and finally had the opportunity to return for a few days. Staying at the Cannery Pier Hotel was marvelous. The service is excellent, with helpful wait staff, nightly cookies, and an early evening wine hour. Regularly, a local historian lectures on the history of this fascinating town. The hotel is located at the base of a magestic bridge across the Columbia River and each room fronts the river. The accommodations were clean and thoughtfully decorated. Although pricy, a stay here is comfortable and restful. Guests from all over the globe share stories and conversation over wine, snacks or breakfast. Cannery Pier Hotel is well worth the money.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosalie51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Astoria
22.4 mi away
The Ocean Lodge
The Ocean Lodge
#2 of 14 in Cannon Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,440 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Astoria
22.3 mi away
Stephanie Inn
Stephanie Inn
#1 of 14 in Cannon Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Astoria
0.6 mi away
Best Western Astoria Bayfront Hotel
0.2 mi away
Astoria Riverwalk Inn
Astoria Riverwalk Inn
#8 of 14 in Astoria
3.5 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cannery Pier Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cannery Pier Hotel

Property: Cannery Pier Hotel
Address: 10 Basin St, Astoria, OR 97103-6221
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Astoria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Astoria
#1 Green Hotel in Astoria
#1 Romantic Hotel in Astoria
#3 Business Hotel in Astoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cannery Pier Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Cannery Pier Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cannery Pier Astoria
Hotel Cannery Pier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing