We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique Surprise in Astoria, Oregon”
Review of Cannery Pier Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cannery Pier Hotel
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Astoria
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Naples, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Unique Surprise in Astoria, Oregon”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Outstanding & Very Friendly Customer Service, Unique and Large Room, Extremely Clean, where the Columbia River meets the Pacific. I can't think of anything they missed. A great place to start a trip down Highway 101 along the Oregon Coast! An Excellent Replica on the old Cannery that was once at the end of this pier. Very Unique!

Room Tip: We had a King Suite with a Fireplace and Balcony to Columbia River. All rooms face the Columbia.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,007
    163
    31
    13
    4
See reviews for
197
785
24
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (395)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Fabulous place. Beautiful room with gorgeous views. . Great attention to detail. Wonderful organic breakfast. Service was perfect - staff were thoughtful and welcoming! Had bikes, binoculars, chauffeur, robes and even a couple of guests playing music in the lobby in the evening. Very highly recommended!

Room Tip: Not sure about any others but 201 has a corner window which was wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alicampbell30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Amazing views and location. Rooms are clean and good sized with fireplaces, window seats overlook where the ships go by, views of the bridge, claw footed soaking tubs. Organic teas and Greek yogurt are highlights of the great breakfast. We got mints on the pillows at night. All natural bath products and good quality towels with included bath robes. Wonderful service from a friendly staff. Attractive lobby. Peaceful. All around fantastic stay.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WI_Momma_76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013 via mobile

They really thought of everything, from the planning and layout to binoculars and robes in the room to top notch service from everyone and perks like a sauna, in room refridge, DVD player and even washing machines for guests to use. The view is absolutely stellar! I'd gladly return

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nikkiinbutare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waco, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

I discovered Astoria a few years ago and finally had the opportunity to return for a few days. Staying at the Cannery Pier Hotel was marvelous. The service is excellent, with helpful wait staff, nightly cookies, and an early evening wine hour. Regularly, a local historian lectures on the history of this fascinating town. The hotel is located at the base of a magestic bridge across the Columbia River and each room fronts the river. The accommodations were clean and thoughtfully decorated. Although pricy, a stay here is comfortable and restful. Guests from all over the globe share stories and conversation over wine, snacks or breakfast. Cannery Pier Hotel is well worth the money.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosalie51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

This was my 3rd time for a quick getaway to the Cannery Pier. It does not disappoint. The room may cost more than an average motel, but this place isn't average! And they offer a lot of special amenities that we always utilize on each trip. The service of the staff, the cleanliness of the room, the view of the river and bridge, the wine hour and morning breakfast, the driver and car to dinner are all top notch. Did I mention they bake cookies at night? This time we booked 90 minute massages in the Spa. It was amazing and was a really great price as well, especially for the quality of the massage. Be sure to book the spa in advance to make sure you can get in during your stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lexjett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoughton, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

I had the opportunity on a short trip to Oregon to spend the night at the Cannery Pier Hotel. What a wonderful place. After a long day of driving, we were able to benefit from the on-site spa and have wonderful massages. After, the hotel made reservations for us as well as providing a ride to and from the restaurant in a classic car! It was a hoot! The hotel recommended the restaurant - Baked Alaska - and the meal was as AWESOME as the hotel suite! We were able to watch the sunset on the Columbia River from our balcony. The night was chilly so we turned on the fireplace and enjoyed the ambiance. The hotel was quiet. We never heard any sounds from our neighbors or from the hallway. The morning breakfast was filled with a variety of foods and drinks. Overall, it was a wonderful experience and I would not hesitate to stay at Cannery Pier Hotel the next time I'm in the Northwest!

Room Tip: All of the rooms face the Columbia River and have a balcony for a good view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M L G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Astoria
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Astoria
0.2 mi away
Astoria Riverwalk Inn
Astoria Riverwalk Inn
#7 of 14 in Astoria
723 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Astoria Bayfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Astoria
2.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Columbia River
22.3 mi away
Stephanie Inn
Stephanie Inn
#1 of 14 in Cannon Beach
1,789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cannery Pier Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cannery Pier Hotel

Property: Cannery Pier Hotel
Address: 10 Basin St, Astoria, OR 97103-6221
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Astoria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Astoria
#1 Green Hotel in Astoria
#1 Romantic Hotel in Astoria
#3 Business Hotel in Astoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cannery Pier Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Cannery Pier Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cannery Pier Astoria
Hotel Cannery Pier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing