We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A dream getaway”
Review of Cannery Pier Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cannery Pier Hotel
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Astoria
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed May 28, 2013

This was my 3rd time for a quick getaway to the Cannery Pier. It does not disappoint. The room may cost more than an average motel, but this place isn't average! And they offer a lot of special amenities that we always utilize on each trip. The service of the staff, the cleanliness of the room, the view of the river and bridge, the wine hour and morning breakfast, the driver and car to dinner are all top notch. Did I mention they bake cookies at night? This time we booked 90 minute massages in the Spa. It was amazing and was a really great price as well, especially for the quality of the massage. Be sure to book the spa in advance to make sure you can get in during your stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lexjett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,260)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

779 - 785 of 1,260 reviews

Reviewed May 26, 2013

I had the opportunity on a short trip to Oregon to spend the night at the Cannery Pier Hotel. What a wonderful place. After a long day of driving, we were able to benefit from the on-site spa and have wonderful massages. After, the hotel made reservations for us as well as providing a ride to and from the restaurant in a classic car! It was a hoot! The hotel recommended the restaurant - Baked Alaska - and the meal was as AWESOME as the hotel suite! We were able to watch the sunset on the Columbia River from our balcony. The night was chilly so we turned on the fireplace and enjoyed the ambiance. The hotel was quiet. We never heard any sounds from our neighbors or from the hallway. The morning breakfast was filled with a variety of foods and drinks. Overall, it was a wonderful experience and I would not hesitate to stay at Cannery Pier Hotel the next time I'm in the Northwest!

Room Tip: All of the rooms face the Columbia River and have a balcony for a good view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank M L G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013

We didn't know what to expect and both the town of Astoria and this hotel were pleasant surprises. It is said that Astoria is the "San Francisco of Oregon" but it's an unfair comparison because Astoria is clean, friendly, has no homeless people to speak of, and is well maintained and charming. The hotel provides a unique experience in that all the rooms face the river and one can watch the endless parades of ships and boats going by under the bridge. The architecture and decor are new and fresh; the staff is most friendly and helpful. The additions of a wine hour and cookies in the evening make it special. The rooms are charming with beautiful linens and appointments. Someone put a lot of care and effort into this hotel. Don't miss it.

Room Tip: all are nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marjorie v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Stayed at the Cannery Pier in Mid-April 2013. What a terrific place. The room faced the river and what a view--Washington State, the bridge and boat traffic.

The staff was so friendly. Helpful with questions and reservations and always pleasant.

The Continental Breakfast is great and eating it in the lobby with its floor to ceiling windows is a great way to start the day.

The beds were comfortable and the staff did a great job of cleaning.

Most places I've stayed there is always at least a small problem, but not here.

We will be back.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ptglaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013

We traveled to this area so my husband could see some of the Lewis & Clark history and scenery along the Columbia. It was a fantastic trip, and one of the highlights was our stay at the Cannery Pier Hotel with a room overlooking the river. It is a very unique building, very simple but efficient in decor, inviting sitting areas, and a really top=notch spa area. My massage was one of the best ever! There was a vintage car available for travel to dinner with a friendly driver who commented on the area and little footnotes and helpful info. Very nice place to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank b b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Would tell everyone to stay here! Room was big, clean and overlooked the water.. Front desk was friendly, pleasant and very helpful. Breakfast was yummy! The hotel was open and beautiful. Loved our stay!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

We recently stayed at the Cannery Pier Hotel and were overall pleased. The location of the hotel can't be beat as it is situated on the water atop of a repurposed pier. The views are phenomenal and you could spend your day watching the numerous ships go by on your balcony. The room was neat and clean. Although it was apparent that the owners were thoughtful about the furnishings, it somehow lacked luxurious finishes found in other hotels of its class. Not necessarily a bad thing, just an observation.

A continental breakfast and wine reception are held each day. Our only complaint is that the establishment did not have a highchair or booster seat for use which made going to these difficult.

They did offer complimentary sodas and milk and cookies which was a nice touch.

Overall, I would return here while in Astoria.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank modernclassic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Astoria
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Astoria
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Astoria
2.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Columbia River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Best Western Astoria Bayfront Hotel
22.4 mi away
The Ocean Lodge
The Ocean Lodge
#2 of 15 in Cannon Beach
1,669 reviews
22.3 mi away
Stephanie Inn
Stephanie Inn
#1 of 15 in Cannon Beach
2,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cannery Pier Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cannery Pier Hotel

Address: 10 Basin St, Astoria, OR 97103-6221
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Astoria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Astoria
#1 Romantic Hotel in Astoria
#1 Family Hotel in Astoria
#3 Business Hotel in Astoria
Price Range: $189 - $393 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cannery Pier Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Cannery Pier Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cannery Pier Astoria
Hotel Cannery Pier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing