We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel I've stayed at in years”
Review of Cannery Pier Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cannery Pier Hotel
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Astoria
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
San Diego, California
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best hotel I've stayed at in years”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

This hotel has a view in every room! The hotel is well taken care of and they have thought of everything!

We enjoyed the free breakfast, happy hour (wine and cheese), vintage car ride into town for dinner, indoor jacuzzi and sauna, nightly fresh baked cookies, and the second floor history walk.

They even provided bath salts for the clawfoot tub (any you have a view of the river from the tub).

We had a wonderful experience and would highly suggest it for couples who want to reconnect.

Room Tip: Every room has a view and a patio! You can't have a bad room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandiegofan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    997
    162
    31
    13
    4
See reviews for
193
779
24
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (392)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Taipei, Taiwan
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013 via mobile

We came here off recommendation from our last hotel in Newportand TA reviews. Well, we're glad we did. What a place!
Walking in the lobby made us say "Wow" a dozen times, it was that spacious and gorgeous. The staffs, every single one we met, were polite, helpful and went out of there way to make our stay a remarkable one.
Yes, there are no restaurants but to our surprise, they provide menus to a few of the local restaurants in Astoria and they are quite good, plus the hotel will drive you there and back in a good old Cadillac from the 60's with chauffeur.
They do serve a breakfast though and do not be mislead by its small size, everything is of good quality, from the Greek yogurt, nice French roasted coffee to the surprising delicious fresh fruit salad etc...
All this was top by a great off season deal. WE ARE COMING BACK!!!!!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Igor K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Make this a special stay, because it will be. Freighters cruising past your window as if they were going to dock at your veranda (but without a sound), fireplace, wonderfully appointed rooms, a wine tasting hour that really is, generous breakfasts, knowledgeable concierges, a ride in an antique car to your restaurant and back, all at the mouth of one of the world's great rivers in the best town on the Oregon North Coast. There is nothing between you and the river. Do consult the staff about restaurants. We had a 30 minute menu discussion, and settled on the perfect place. They have full menus from every restaurant in town. Just ask. If you want a downtown hotel, expect this one to be for the hiking set...unless you take advantage of the shuttle into town.

Room Tip: Go for the fireplace. This is that rare hotel in which the extra few bucks is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Senklip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Must agree with other reviewers that this is a great place. It is more of a boutique hotel, not a full service hotel. No restaurant/bar or room service. We thought the breakfast was plentful with healthy options. Very polite staff. It was easy to feel a bit spoiled here. Got a great off season rate.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redhills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Federal way
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful rooms, awesome view. The rooms were very nice and spacious. Got the pet friendly king room. I don't think they cleaned it very well though. Room smelled like poop as soon as you walked in. Had to open the windows and air in out for a while. The pet treats and toys are a huge plus to the hotel. The front desk staff were very friendly.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cadetshorty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We took a small (!) detour to Astoria in our drive from Portland to Seattle, partly because we wanted to see this interesting town, but mostly because we are Goonies nerds.
We chose the Cannery Pier to stay based on many of the reviews on TA. The room we stayed in on the 3rd floor was large and very clean - the view was stunning!
It was the staff though that really made this a great stay, even though it was short. Every member of staff bent over backwards to help us out with everything, printing out maps, making reservations for dinner, etc. It was great to be chauffeur driven in a vintage car to a restaurant in town and be picked up again at the end of the meal. This meant we could have a few drinks and not have to worry about driving back to the hotel.
It was also great to have breakfast included, although the small number of tables to sit at when the weather does not permit a verandah breakfast was a bit of a downside.
So long Astoria, but if I get head your way again I will definitely stay at the CPH.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tych0Brahe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaver Bay, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

This is our second stay here and I can't say enough good things about this hotel. Every room has a river view, fireplace, claw foot tub and very clean. Every night there is a free wine and appetizer reception and every morning there is a free buffet breakfast. They also offer free car service to the local restaurants in town-- ours via a 1952 Cadillac! The service is wonderful and we will definitely be back!

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank kujdi88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Astoria
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Astoria
0.2 mi away
Astoria Riverwalk Inn
Astoria Riverwalk Inn
#7 of 14 in Astoria
687 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Astoria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.4 mi away
The Ocean Lodge
The Ocean Lodge
#2 of 14 in Cannon Beach
1,542 reviews
22.3 mi away
Stephanie Inn
Stephanie Inn
#1 of 14 in Cannon Beach
1,746 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Astoria Bayfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cannery Pier Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cannery Pier Hotel

Property: Cannery Pier Hotel
Address: 10 Basin St, Astoria, OR 97103-6221
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Astoria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Astoria
#1 Green Hotel in Astoria
#1 Romantic Hotel in Astoria
#3 Business Hotel in Astoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cannery Pier Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Cannery Pier Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cannery Pier Astoria
Hotel Cannery Pier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing