We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice place to stay”
Review of Cannery Pier Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cannery Pier Hotel
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Astoria
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Very nice place to stay”
Reviewed October 4, 2012

We stayed here for my moms birthday. We stayed in the Pilot House, which is there best room, and well worth the money. It looks over the pier and is a well kept hotel and room. The staff is very nice and attentive. We will recommened this hotel to friends and family.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    985
    162
    31
    13
    3
See reviews for
191
770
24
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (388)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
201 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Upon arrival the greeting is warm and friendly. The staff are all extremely helpful, from the front desk to the housekeeping. The ambiance is warm and cozy, set against the background of the mighty currents where the Columbia River meets the Pacific Ocean. The ships pass by so closely that guests cannot help but be captivated and awestruck as behomoth vessels are so close one imagines touching them or being onboard. The evening offering of smoked salmon and local cheeses, wines, tea, coffee, or soft drinks is a lovely social event for sharing experiences among the guests while overlooking the natural beauty of the mighty mouth of the Columbia. The added touch of the complimentary classic cars with a driver to privately whisk guests into town for supper is reminiscent of the glory of old Hong Kong! The rooms are nicely appointed, with large claw foot soaker tubs, separate glassed in showers, and separate water closets, all set upon nicely placed tile surrounds. There are stainless coffee carafes, microwaves, refrigerators, and an assortment of coffee and tea to enjoy. Even cold cream in the refrigerator and sugar in the raw to add a unique touch. The furnishings are comfortable, simple, practical and set with in room fireplaces so as to compliment the nautical design of the surroundings. The halls, rooms, and public areas are all lined with photos and artwork of the region, taking the observer to the past for visions of a thriving port city built on fisheries and timber. The spa is clean, quiet, and comfortable, providing guests with 24 hour access to a whirlpool and a workout facility, as well as treatment rooms for relaxing experiences to soothe the senses.

The Cannery Pier Hotel and Spa is beyond compare on the Northwest Pacific Coast, and offers experiences that simply cannot be found elsewhere in the world! A must do for the bucket list! And a great place to stay anytime one is visiting the Oregon Coast. There is so much to do and see in the area, so many wonderful restaurants in Astoria, all set within the natural beauty of the rolling green hills and the powerful Columbia, that this is the place to be!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bdsbjmin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PORTLAND
Level Contributor
188 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Although I think the place is starting to get a tiny-bit rough around the edges (now going on 7 years from opening), it's one of the best places in Astoria. Overpriced? I think so, but that didn't stop us. :-) With only about 40 rooms that are, essentially, identical - every room has a stunning view of the Columbia... and maybe a mere 400 yards from the main shipping traffic lane!

The rooms are very spacious, with very nice bathrooms (each with 2 person claw-foot tubs). There is a small deck off each room. The continental breakfast is in the lobby and is modest. They also offer an early evenig snack (cheese and wine). You can also take advantage of their classic cars (Caddy and Packy) for a ride to a restaurant - and we did that.

Parking is easy right out on the pier.

All staff we dealt with were extremely friendly.

One down-side (to me): wi-fi didn't work (and was free). I've traveled all over the world and have never had an inability to connect... but they said "it's common here with an Apple product" (we had a iPad3). We had used it all the way up the Oregon coast... and have in Turkey, Solvenia, Italy, etc. etc. and never had this problem. There's something wrong with their wireless router system. The signal strengthy was strong (and we tried several networks in the hotel - in our room and in the lobby). No luck.

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MARK K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana Point, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Beautiful hotel in great location. The rooms are spacious and well decorated. Nice breakfast settup too. The lobby/dining area is spectacular. We lucked out on the weather, warm and sunny, but I imagined it would be a great place to weather an infamous NW storm.We weren't so impressed with the town though. It looks like it is stuck in the 70's. We didn't spend much time in town becauses, at least on the surface, there wasn't much to it. We would come back here again though as a destination stoppover.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lolathegoldendoodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockwall, Tx.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Imagine being in a setting that has a 285 degree view of the magnificent Columbia river. (this large view is from the "Pilot House" on 5th floor)
It was pure joy in 80 degree weather on the Oregon Coast to watch the freighters, yachts, sailboats, and fishing vessels transit just outside our windows.
The hotel provides guests, each morning, with a printed list of the freighters that will pass by that day and what cargo they carry. The staff is welcoming and there are two vintage cars that are provided, with driver, to take and pick you up from local restaurants. (At no charge !) A superior wine and appetizer hour is offered at 5:00 pm and a lovely fresh breakfast bar in the morning. Unscheduled lectures by visiting experts l add to the wealth pleasures to be found at CPH.... And, of course, free use of bicycles for touring this atmospheric seaport . Guests are welcome to enjoy a true Finish Sauna.experience. If you have the good fortune to be a guest when there is an impromptu BBQ (halibut, salmon, oysters..)...consider yourself in the right place at the right time. This is a venue that will keep you coming back.

Room Tip: All rooms at Cannery Pier Hotel face the river, The Pilot House on the fifth floor is an ideal choi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luckycook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Wonderful views of the Columbia River with the boats of all sizes passing just outside your
window. Nice morning breakfasts and wine in the afternoon and even an old Cadillac to take
you to your restaurants. This is really a class act hotel.

Room Tip: They are all good overlooking the River.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nanclaws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelburne, Vermont
Level Contributor
194 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

We selected this based on Fodor's Choice and Tripadvisor reviews. This was our last stop before heading back to PDX for an overnight stay and flight to end a great ten day trip with good friends who shared the rental car expense. Hard to beat this place for service, friendliness, complementary vintage shuttle to restaurants, great cocktail happy hour with complementary wine, beer, appetizers, fantastic continental breakfast, luxury rooms with soaking tub and large bath room. Nice, comfortable seating area with fireplace adjacent to lobby.
Views of passing container ships and pilot boats. Adjacent pier with gulls and pelicans made our birding wives happy. Nice exercise room.
We chose one of the two recommended seafood restaurants that need a limo ride (Clemente's),. The other restaurant which people raved about was a short walk from the hotel.
I would definitely like to come back here some day and stay a few nights. Astoria is a very nice city with lots to see. The price was about a hundred more than we were paying for B&B's, motels and inn's in the first part of our ten-day trip but worth the extra expense.

Room Tip: Plan to spend more time here if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Philly2VT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Astoria
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Astoria
22.4 mi away
The Ocean Lodge
The Ocean Lodge
#2 of 14 in Cannon Beach
1,511 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Astoria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.3 mi away
Stephanie Inn
Stephanie Inn
#1 of 14 in Cannon Beach
1,691 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Astoria Bayfront Hotel
0.2 mi away
Astoria Riverwalk Inn
Astoria Riverwalk Inn
#7 of 14 in Astoria
678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cannery Pier Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cannery Pier Hotel

Property: Cannery Pier Hotel
Address: 10 Basin St, Astoria, OR 97103-6221
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Astoria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Astoria
#1 Family Hotel in Astoria
#1 Green Hotel in Astoria
#3 Business Hotel in Astoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cannery Pier Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Hotels.com so you can book your Cannery Pier Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cannery Pier Astoria
Hotel Cannery Pier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing