We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic, stunning, classically comfortable”
Review of Cannery Pier Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Cannery Pier Hotel
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Astoria
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed September 15, 2011

Our first night on our trip down the Oregon coast, myself, my husband and our 18 yr old son. I'd wanted to start with something memorial and totally relaxing, and from the reviews on the site, the Cannery Pier Hotel was exceptional. The large, historic and slightly plain looking building built right out over the river on a long pier might not look that exciting architecturally, but once you step inside the wonderful, well-appointed lobby and lounge area, you will be captivated by the views, the comfort and the personal and warm service from the front desk. This hotel was scrupulously clean, up to date in every respect, and a pleasure to stay in. The beds were extremely comfortable, and every single room faces the river (is right out over the river!) and has a small balcony, and binoculars are waiting for your use inside on the window ledge, as well as schedule of various types of notable ships that will pass by in front of your room and under the picturesque Astoria Bridge, as they go up the Columbia River, including cruise ships at various times of the year.

The room is a very generous size, and the bathroom is spa-like with a slipper-style soaker tub, bathrobes, large separate tiled shower, and there are small doors that open up over the tub, so that you could take a nice soak and gaze out towards the river. Lovely. The breakfast included with your stay is very nice, self-served in a pleasant little breakfast room off the main lobby and was kept well stocked. Fresh cookies are baked in the evening and available at the front desk, and there is a small but cute gift shop near the front of the lobby. There is an exercise room and jacuzzi room, as well as the ability to book spa treatments in-house. Everything is as it should be for this class of boutique hotel, and I can't recommend it highly enough! Although we were not privileged to stay in the suite upstairs, I hear it is spectacular! We were on the first floor, and importantly to my sleep, no noises intruded on our sleep. The hotelalso has 2 or 3 beautiful vintage cars and a driver on staff to take guests to dinner, or places around town, compliments of the hotel. Pet friendly as well! The Cannery has it all in Astoria.

Room Tip: They are all great rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Mercer12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,241)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

972 - 978 of 1,241 reviews

Reviewed September 12, 2011

My husband and I treated ourselves to a two might stay here on a recent trip down the Oregon coast on our Harleys. Rooms all face onto the Columbia River and you are actually out over the water! The ships and other river traffic could not get much closer....even when the ships blew their fog horn at 4:15 in the morning it just added to the ambience! Great breakfast is included and a wine reception each evening! They also offer complimentary rides in a 1958 Cadillac to any place in town with a tour and history of this Victorian city thrown in. No problem for safe parking for the Harleys!!

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Harley60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2011

This hotel is six years old, although it looks and feels brand new. It is in terrific condition. The rooms are large, clean, and nicely decorated, and ours had a lovely little balcony overlooking the harbor and bridge. The hotel is not cheap, but it is a lovely place to stay for a few nights.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RILnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2011

Go for the view; it's truly superb. The concept on turning a cannery into a hotel is great, but the rooms are not that special; nor is the wine hour or the continental breakfast. Staff very nice and accommodating. Not worth paying for the suite. We had one and it was poorly laid out; a great of waste in space. Saying every room has a balcony is a little misleading since it is only about 18" wide; one could stand out there but no room for a chair. All in all, only worth the cost if the view is the most important thing to you.

Room Tip: suites not well laid out; waste of money
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vanam1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2011

The room was comfortable and had a beautiful view of the river and bridge. The staff was very helpful, friendly, and accommodating. We used the "limo" service to take us to dinner. Since the restaurant was within walking distance, our chauffeur gave us a mini tour of the downtown area prior to dropping us off. She was great! The hotel also made restaurant recommendations and reservations. Afternoon wine hour was nothing to get excited about, but was nice. Breakfast was good.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SMP59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2011

We came to Astoria to go to the Maritime Museum. What I thought would be an hour or so ended up being five hours. So instead of driving on to Seattle, we got a room in Astoria. The staff at the desk were fantastic. They allowed us to see a room before making our decision. Since it was late in the day, they adjusted the price to a bit lower rate. We took the bait and stayed. All the rooms have a fantastic view of the river. This alone is worth the price of the room. The building is made to resemble a cannery, historic photos of the canneries line the walls. In the evening, you can sign up for a car and driver to take you to a local spot for dinner. We rode in a vintage Cadillac. It was fun, and informative. Astoria is a neat little town.

The room was clean and fresh and clearly thought went into the details of the room. But I'm guessing there were budget cuts before the building was finished. The toilet is in it's own room, a plus, there is a separate shower and a soaking tub, but the lighting is pretty standard. The bed was comfortable, but the sheets were not first class. The furnishings in the room were smart and attractive, but were not heavy duty, I'm not sure they will survive a lot of wear and tear.

These somewhat less then deluxe features would have bothered me if we paid full price.

But, the staff, the view and the historical aspect of the property make it a special place. If you are in the area stop and enjoy Astoria.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank majorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2011

This is a gem. You can almost touch the ocean-going ships as they glide by your room. The binoculars are a nice touch. Good breakfast, short walk to an excellent restaurant at the end of the pier, and dog-friendly too. Well worth the tariff.

Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
1  Thank WhirledTravlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Astoria hotels
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Astoria
0.2 mi away
Astoria Riverwalk Inn
Astoria Riverwalk Inn
#5 of 14 in Astoria
757 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Astoria Bayfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Astoria
1.1 mi away
Hotel Elliott
Hotel Elliott
#7 of 14 in Astoria
402 reviews
2.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Columbia River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cannery Pier Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cannery Pier Hotel

Address: 10 Basin St, Astoria, OR 97103-6221
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Astoria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Astoria
#1 Family Hotel in Astoria
#1 Green Hotel in Astoria
#3 Business Hotel in Astoria
Price Range: $219 - $472 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cannery Pier Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Cannery Pier Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cannery Pier Astoria
Hotel Cannery Pier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing