We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Lewis And Clark National And State Historical Parks
Ranked #9 of 45 things to do in Astoria
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located in the states of Washington and Oregon, these national parks preserve the historic sites that mark the success of Lewis and Clark in the early 19th century.
Victoria, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fort Stevens”
Reviewed March 26, 2012

Great site to visit! The fellow in the museum was so sweet and helpful explaining things to us, and my young boys.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Stacey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    150
    57
    15
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Easton
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Great Place to Learn and Appreciate History”
Reviewed February 27, 2012

I visited the park and visitor center on a rainy day in January. The park had been open for nearly 2 hours and I was the first person to arrive. The staff at the visitor center greeted me and were extremely polite. They were also extremely helpful explaining some historical facts as well as helping me get back to Portland using a safe route. That being said, the park was unique and picturesque. If you like history or even taking a walk this is a wonderful place to visit. The National Park Service has again done a wonderful job with this site.

There is no fee to explore the visitor center, but there was a small fee to go into the park which was worthwhile.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Moonrover2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niwot, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Cape Of Disappointment”
Reviewed February 25, 2012

The name says it all. Worth the trip just to photograph the welcome sign.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank NiwotTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean Park, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Authentic history served plain”
Reviewed February 21, 2012

Best part was the musket firing. Great book selection in gift shop. Nice to see that the park service has not meedled much with the site.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank Sheplabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, California
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
78 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
“Great place to spend the day and get a little history!”
Reviewed February 9, 2012

This is my second time to this historic park and I love it! Being a huge history nut this was a definite stop. It really helped me realize what Lewis and Clark went through to make this journey. I'm thankful that President Jefferson was a visionary and sent them to explore the west! The fact that they had no idea what to expect, no maps, and no communication made this a journey beyond belief.

First, the park was easy to get too. If you are driving along the Oregon coast there are signs all along highway 1. The Visitor Center at Fort Clatsop was large, welcoming, and had wonderful park rangers with a vast amount of knowledge. The exhibits and movie are a definite must-see. It's a great educational experience for children and adults. The day that we had gone was a free weekend (I have a National Park Pass so this didn't really affect me) 14-16 January 2012. On non-free weekends, the cost is $3.00 per person if you are 16 or older. Fifteen and younger can get in for free.

Right outside the visitor center is a reconstructed wooden Fort simulating where the expedition team lived at while waiting for winter to pass so they could make their journey back east. There are trails everywhere. The park rangers even carved out a canoe that showed what they used for their journey on the Columbia River heading east.

This particular weekend the rangers dressed in period costumes. We got a timed ticket along with a sample "question sheet" with ideas of what to ask the Lewis and Clark party about living conditions and their journey here. There were fires in the rooms of the fort. They ate their stew in the same type bowls that were used back then. There was even a guy outside skinning animals (he told us they didn't actually kill them, that they were roadkill so no animals were intentionally hurt for this). The fact that it was a rainy, dreary day made this come even more to life and understand what kind of conditions they endured. Finally, they even had Lewis' dog, Seaman out this weekend.

Great place, great rangers, and a great day for young and old and everyone in between! The park rangers did a great job bringing us back in time! Let's keep our history alive!

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank WorldWanderer99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Lewis And Clark National And State Historical Parks also viewed

 

Been to The Lewis And Clark National And State Historical Parks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing