We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful building”
Review of Heritage Museum

Heritage Museum
Ranked #14 of 45 things to do in Astoria
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: In the building that was once Astoria's city hall, the Heritage Museum records the colorful past of Clatsop County.
Kent, WA
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful building”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

The building was beautiful but the exhibits were somewhat lacking. There is an amazing old bar upstairs that needs to be utilized in some way other than the sign that says "Employees only".

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Seattlegirl55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    29
    13
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Oswego, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing artifacts”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This local museum has a wonderful collection of Native American artifacts from the region - the arrowhead and basket collection are superb. There is also quite a bit of interesting information on the many events that have shaped Astoria over the years, and interesting exhibits on the original settlers that came to make Astoria their home.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine B B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Cute little museum”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

This was kind of an afterthought so we did not expect much. It was actually fun and there was a lot more to it then we thought. Some great exhibits and you can tell the local historical society has put some time and effort into it.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank chaisem28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Heritage museum”
Reviewed September 10, 2012

We loved the amount of info in this self guided museum of Astoria, but we absolutely hated the homage to the KKK there. It was not neccesary to actually have a hooded uniform on display. I felt like we stepped into the deep south for a minute when were in that area and wondered if Astoria was the kind of place we wanted to hang out in. Just sends the wrong message and considering Oregon already has a reputation for being a little too "pastey" in contrast to Washington's diverse communities, just seems like a bad piece of history to focus on. I wish Astoria used more of the museum space to tell stories of interesting people who lived and created the city.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Amy_Wheeler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oregon
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Glorifies the Klan”
Reviewed August 18, 2012

Yup, without warning or apology the Heritage Museum proudly displays a mannequin in full Ku Klux Klan white robe and hood. The younger employees / volunteers are embarrassed by it, by the older docents, volunteers or employees get very defensive stating on more than one occaision, "It's part of our history." It makes you wonder if there is a script. There is no reason to glorify this tragic part of Astoria when the Chinese and Finns were subject to this horror. Mention it, yes, but to dress a mannequin to scare people, NO.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank oregonbeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Heritage Museum also viewed

 

Been to Heritage Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing