We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (921)
Filter reviews
921 results
Traveler rating
605
266
28
12
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
605
266
28
12
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the river hi express great view cinnamon rolls a river view room gas fireplace king suite trolley runs room was large living area indoor pool yogurt very nice hotel free breakfast morning breakfast front desk staff dvd player
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
313 - 318 of 921 reviews
Reviewed March 26, 2016

I don't often stay at Holiday Inn Express; but, the Astoria property was the location of a relatively small three-day meeting in mid-March, and I was pleasantly surprised by the experience.

The location is great right under the Astoria Bridge with wonderful views from waterside rooms. The riverfront trolley, with a designated stop nearby, runs right behind the hotel and can deliver you to downtown in minutes if you choose not to walk along the waterfront path. The fabulous Bridgewater Bistro is perhaps a five minute walk along the path in the opposite direction from downtown.

Rooms are very spacious and nicely furnished. I especially enjoyed the Keurig coffeemakers in the room. There's a small but serviceable fitness room with one each of a treadmill, elliptical, and recumbent cycle. Complimentary breakfast is average for this type of property.

My only quibble with the room was the heating/air conditioning unit which was noisy enough to disrupt sleep. With the unit turned off, room temperature averaged 74-76 (even in March with outside temperatures in the upper 40s), which was beyond my comfort level. So, it was a rather lose-lose situation! Other people with less sensitivity to warmth and noise will probably do just fine.

All-in-all, however, the Holiday Inn was a good experience and worth revisiting.

Room tip: Waterside rooms are especially worthwhile because of the view of the Astoria Bridge.
Date of stay: March 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 665philipw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2016

We love Holiday Inn Express and stay with them whenever one is available. In Astoria, you really want a river facing room for extra wow! Sitting right at the base of the Astoria-Megler bridge (expansion underway 2016) the views are mesmerizing. Watch the big ships and the fishing boats from your room. Ship schedule posted in the lobby.

We borrowed one of the hotel's bicycles for a ride up the riverfront (paved) trail, so much to see in Astoria. Hotel property is like all Holiday Inn Expresses, clean, modern, very nice. Free breakfast is one of the best, not a typical continental you find at most properties. The staff goes out of their way to assist you with whatever you need. Great place, great people, it's the only place we stay while in Astoria. There is a coffee roaster across the street as well as a good Mexican restaurant.

Room tip: Go for the river view !
Date of stay: August 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2Vegans2wheels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2016 via mobile

We are two adults and two teens. We had a 4th floor room for 2 nights. Fantastic front desk, especially Havana who provides service above and beyond with charm and grace. The river view room is well provided, spacious and clean. There is the odd late night bridge traffic noise but this was no problem for us. Breakfast was good and the pancake machine was fun for teens. We stayed here 10 years ago, loved it then and would return again. Great location, convenient parking.

Date of stay: March 2016
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank fiestakarenrocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2016

This was an unexpected surprise. Checked in last minute, dark and rainy outside. Woke up the next morning to a gorgeous view of the river and Washington in the distance. Close to downtown - great recommendation for dinner from front desk. Nice park and walkway along river behind hotel. Definitely will be staying here again in the future.

Room tip: Request river view
Date of stay: March 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2016

This is our home away from home, comfy room and the staff can't be beat! They go above and beyond the call of duty! Amanda, Stephanie, Caroline and Mike along with all the others are the best staff at any motel/hotel in the business! On Monday Mar. 7th we stayed here for my birthday. I was hungry for a slice of peach pie, my hubby stopped at several places including the pie and coffee shop in Clatskanie, Or. to no avail...I asked if any of the staff knew of a close by bakery...the only one was closed on Monday..we check in to our room and a few minutes later Stephanie at the front desk called and said she had located a restaurant with a slice of peach pie and it was only two blocks away! It was Stephanie's Cabin Restaurant...when I arrived the cashier said, you must be the peach pie lady and there is no charge! How many people would go to that length to satisfy ones craving~~~

Room tip: one time we had a dog barking next to us in the middle of the night...dogs are only allowed in certain rooms!
Date of stay: March 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank AnnieMunson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews