We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than average HIExpress”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Astoria
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Astoria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 17, 2014

I have stayed in many Holiday Inn Express hotels for business around the Northwest. This is by far the best of them. Very nice lobby and public area with nice artwork. The room was large and had a great view of the bridge and Columbia River. Bed was very comfortable. Had a fireplace. Room seemed to stay pretty warm even with the heat off and window open the crack that was allowed. Very little noise from bridge or road. The breakfast was a nice spread and had more options than many of the other hotels offering breakfast. Overall, very impressed and would stay here again.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room in the back overlooking the Columbia
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robin m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (832)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

452 - 458 of 832 reviews

Reviewed April 16, 2014

We loved our stay, a great river view, nice clean room, and an excellent breakfast. We were here for four nights just to relax and unwind. It was perfect. Sitting at the window watching the ships go by was just what we needed. The staff is friendly and helpful. We recommend the Holiday Inn Express all the time. Can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SteveandAB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2014

*Our room had a smokin' view of the Astoria-Megler Bridge, so that was a bonus. *

PROS:

1. Big room, tons of space.
2. The Bathroom was amazing and the shower was to die for. I swear I am buying that shower head for my house. (Kohler)
3. Great hot breakfast in the morning. Bacon, Biscuits and gravy, scrambled eggs, hard boiled eggs, sausages, cereal, milk, juice, the list goes on. Great breakfast.
4. Staff was extremely helpful and friendly.
5. The location cannot be beat. Right on the Astoria Riverwalk, so if you want to go for an evening stroll, you are right on the river front.

CONS:

1. You won't want to leave.
2. The elevator is a bit sllloooowwwwww.
3. The TV is kind of small.

That is it. I really had to think about something negative, these three petty, stupid things were all I could think of.

Overall, we enjoyed it. Great place. Would stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view. The view is awesome. Do it. :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scorehound_ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2014

Normally I will only make reservations at hotels that I can cancel without penalty. The Holiday Inn in Astoria does not offer this option, but its location convinced me to take the risk. It was absolutely worth it. I was placed in a north facing room, which was toward the river. The peacefulness of the river, along with the in-room fireplace and whirlpool tub, made made my stay the ultimate in relaxation. The room was very clean and the hotel staff was very helpful. All of this with and being within walking distance of several very good restaurants means this will be the place I stay the next time I am in Astoria.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelinT7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2014

Our second stay at this hotel and again felt that it was worth the cost. Recommend getting the river view room. You can relax with viewing the shipping traffic as well as nice sunsets when the weather permits. The hotel is situated on the astoria trolley line so it's easy to get around town for sightseeing. The river walk is also located just outside the hotels back door. Both times we have stayed here we have found the rooms to be clean and well taken care of. There is a nice pool and exercise room as well as a game room for kids to enjoy. The breakfast is the usual holiday in fair with no complaints. We well definitely stay here again.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
Thank Jim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2014

We go to the Seafood and Wine festival each year and its coming up in a couple of weeks. We usually stay at the Holiday Inn Express. It has a great view a cozy fire place in your room and a pretty decent breakfast. Unfortunately this year they are all booked up and we will have to stay in a motel due to no one in town having openings. Next time we will call earlier you think we would know by know. Darn

Room Tip: ask for ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruta M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express and Suites Astoria, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2014

Dear Ruta M,

Thank you for staying with us and providing us with your valuable feedback. We strive to ensure all of our guests needs are met and we are pleased to know you enjoyed your stay. We are glad that our accommodations and breakfast were to your liking. Comments as yours motivate us to work much harder in order to deliver the service levels that our guests are looking for when they stay with us.

Thank you again for your review and we hope to welcome you again soon.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2014

We travelled from Vancouver with our dog (choc lab) and this place was not actually only "pet friendly" but beyond any pet "friendly" hotel we came across on our short week long trip through the Oregon coast.
From check in to check out, this is a hotel that actually really does put their name to their advertisement. Our very friendly typical Lab was welcomed at entrance, and had a place to romp and pee (etc) right beside the hotel with pickup bags available.
Only a very few guests (or maybe just travellers passing through) did not pick up after their dogs. There are always a few who are too selfish to care about ruining accommodations for the rest of future guests (no big dog poo, always the small kind seen at any time). Yay for the medium to large size dog parents being far more responsible. Maybe the hotel should make a surcharge for the little dog people :-)

Ecxcellent hotel, excellent people at desk. Easily the best hotel we stayed at on our trip regarding bringing your dog.

Room Tip: River view rooms are worth it if you are spending daylight time in the room. Some dogs may have is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 604Tanya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Astoria hotels
0.8 mi away
Best Western Astoria Bayfront Hotel
2.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Astoria
0.2 mi away
Cannery Pier Hotel
Cannery Pier Hotel
#1 of 14 in Astoria
1,241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Columbia River
0.3 mi away
Astoria Riverwalk Inn
Astoria Riverwalk Inn
#5 of 14 in Astoria
757 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Elliott
Hotel Elliott
#7 of 14 in Astoria
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express and Suites Astoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express and Suites Astoria

Address: 204 W Marine Dr, Astoria, OR 97103-6204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Astoria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Astoria
#2 Business Hotel in Astoria
#2 Family Hotel in Astoria
Price Range: $137 - $197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express and Suites Astoria 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The all non smoking Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Astoria is set on the banks of the Mighty Columbia River, offering spectacular, unobstructed views, and comfortable accommodations. Hotel features include, free Hi-Speed Wireless Internet, free local phone calls, and Complimentary Hot Express Start Breakfast, We have also created the world's best tasting cinnamon roll. Visit Astoria Oregon, the oldest American settlement west of the Rocky Mountains, and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Astoria. . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express and Suites Astoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express And Suites Astoria Hotel Astoria
Holiday Inn Express Astoria
Holiday Inn Astoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing