We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Astoria
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Astoria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 10, 2013

We recently stayed at the HI Express in Astoria, paying a bit extra for a room facing the river (as recommended by another TA reviewer). I totally recommend spending the money for the river view as well, you just can't beat watching the water, the birds, the ships, etc. We found the staff to be friendly, the property well kept up, the room was clean and updated, and the breakfast was a little above standard. There is a pool and a workout room, which looked inviting and clean, although we did not utilize either of these conveniences.

Of note, I particularly liked the size of the breakfast room (not just three or four tables jammed together in a corner of the lobby). We loved being able to pop out the back door and stroll along the river walk in any direction. We appreciated the listing in the lobby of what ships would be coming through from the bar and at what time. And even though the property is partially situated under a bridge, we did not experience any noise from either the street or the bridge.

I think it would be a fairly substantial walk to the old downtown part of Astoria (maybe not when the trolley is running), but there are a number of restaurants within walking distance, so if you just don't want to get back into the car, you don't have to.

We will definitely be back

Room Tip: River view - 2nd floor and up
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DickandJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (838)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

474 - 480 of 838 reviews

Reviewed December 4, 2013

This is a nice hotel, quiet and in a very convenient location right under the Astoria bridge! The rooms are nice, very clean and the staff is really friendly. There is lots to see and do in and around Astoria, and it was nice to come back a room with a nice view of the bridge and river.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are clean, but if stay on the river side for a great view!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013

This past weekend was our second time staying at the Holiday Inn Express in Astoria. The bed is incredibly comfortable and the view is amazing. It's clean and the staff is attentive, but they will also leave you alone if you want peace and quite. The TV selections is pretty good. Aside from the wallpaper and décor being a bit outdated, it's really got everything you need. It's the perfect place to stay if you are exploring Astoria because it is right in town and you can walk to all of the cute restaurants and stores.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scudderk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

The overall stay was good, we got the romance pkg. We had a beautiful view of the river, Jacuzzi tub, sparkling cider, popcorn and free movie rentals. Good service. Continental breakfast was decent. Beds & pillows aren't super comfy. They need too clean out the filters and vents of the AC/Heat units, ours had mold in it. They also make you do a $100 no smoking deposit on your credit card, then credit you back when you check out.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beaverfanatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express and Suites Astoria, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2013

Dear beaverfanatic,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. We are so glad you liked the service you had and the facilities we have to offer to our guests. We apologize for the issues you had with your in-room Air-Conditioner. It is regrettable that we fell below your expectations. Rest assured, we have taken note of your comments and actions will be done accordingly. Thank you for staying and we all hope to have an opportunity to serve you again on your next future visit.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

Not only is the view from the River side perfect, the staff is excellent! During our stay we had a family situation come up. They helped us find the services in town and were accommodating with the well stocked business center. The hot complementary breakfast is delicious too. We will be back soon to stay longer!

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank SteveandAB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Absolutly beautiful room with large open windows to hear the water lapping ....nice open sitting room and great shower. Breakfast was absolutely great...especially the biscuits and gravy...staff was so helpful and friendly. Great place to stay.

Room Tip: Anyroom that you can see the water is great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Once again we had a wonderful two-day stay in Astoria, with the Holiday Inn Express playing a huge role in our enjoyment. Waterfront rooms place the bedroom at the hall entrance leaving a comfortable living room and large window on the water side and a fireplace in one corner. Pulling the couch over to the window gives you a superb view of the shipping channel which is barely beyond a stone's throw from the shoreline below. The hotel provides a daily schedule of ship traffic, but I discovered an even greater means to enjoy the passing scene. At least one website shows you thousands of ships currently in motion or at anchor throughout the world, along with links to photos and data for each ship detected. The hotel desk can advise you of the web address (by TripAdvisor rules, reference not permitted within this review). As they say, "You can't tell the players without a program," and this tool makes the marine experience intimate and instructive.

The hotel has the best breakfast (including daily variety) I can remember having in any chain motel, highlighted by its being staged in a waterfront room with huge windows capturing the view of the bridge and passing ship traffic. The staff was uniformly friendly and helpful and planned to include the above-mentioned website on their published shipping schedule.

By the way, even in winter, bring a swim suit and enjoy the waterfront view from the beautiful indoor pool. Or in summer, enjoy the city's only (albeit tiny) beach right in front of the property.

Bikes (including a tandem) are available free for the first hour and a small charge beyond that time. Also don't miss the amazing Marine Museum. Plan to spend at least two hours there.

Room Tip: The 4th and 5th floors are best especially for a nighttime waterfront view as they are further above...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brenton B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Astoria hotels
0.8 mi away
Best Western Astoria Bayfront Hotel
2.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Astoria
2.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Columbia River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Cannery Pier Hotel
Cannery Pier Hotel
#1 of 14 in Astoria
1,253 reviews
0.3 mi away
Astoria Riverwalk Inn
Astoria Riverwalk Inn
#5 of 14 in Astoria
763 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Elliott
Hotel Elliott
#7 of 14 in Astoria
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express and Suites Astoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express and Suites Astoria

Address: 204 W Marine Dr, Astoria, OR 97103-6204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Astoria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Astoria
#2 Business Hotel in Astoria
#2 Romantic Hotel in Astoria
Price Range: $141 - $264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express and Suites Astoria 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The all non smoking Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Astoria is set on the banks of the Mighty Columbia River, offering spectacular, unobstructed views, and comfortable accommodations. Hotel features include, free Hi-Speed Wireless Internet, free local phone calls, and Complimentary Hot Express Start Breakfast, We have also created the world's best tasting cinnamon roll. Visit Astoria Oregon, the oldest American settlement west of the Rocky Mountains, and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Astoria. . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express and Suites Astoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express And Suites Astoria Hotel Astoria
Holiday Inn Express Astoria
Holiday Inn Astoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing