We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, Good staff, worth the $$$”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Astoria
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Astoria
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas Texas
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great location, Good staff, worth the $$$”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2008

There is a reason this is rated #1. The room was clean and neat. The pool and spa are a salt system so there is no chlorine smell. We walked right out the back door to catch the local trolley ($1). It is right under the bridge which you would think is bad but it really makes the place with the great view!

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank wartoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

755 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    500
    221
    21
    5
    8
See reviews for
230
317
33
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (300)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2008

Relatives booked us a beautiful room at this hotel. We were greeted warmly by the front desk. The lobby was very attractive and the breakfast the next morning was wonderful. Would stay here again. The view of the Columbia River and bridge was worth the expense. The trolley runs out the back door and there is a lovely riverwalk.

  • Liked — wonderful rooms
  • Disliked — not a thing
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank schoolmarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
48 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2008

We really enjoyed our stay here. Our room had a fantastic view of the Columbia River, bridge, and Washington on the other side. Our room appeared to be new and very clean. The breakfast was better than most "continental breakfasts"--eggs and sausage and the best cinnamon rolls I've had for awhile. They are pet friendly, too. Their sign out front says it well: "Where sleeping under the bridge is a good thing!"

  • Liked — Location; view; well designed, clean room; staff.
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank anaturegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
181 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2008

We drove an extra hour after Aberdeen to get to Astoria. Good idea. We stayed 19 nights in 8 states. We rated this facility as the second best of all. Absolutely outstanding! Other reviews are spot-on with high marks for reception, room and the community spirit. An outstanding suite overlooking the river complete with ocean-going vessels, fireplace and a very comfortable bed. A large and separate breakfast area with a good selection and an attendent who cared about the cleanliness of the room was very good. If you are passing through Astoria, this is the place to stay.

  • Liked — The Room
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank trafdlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2008

We were in Astoria on a busy weekend. When we got to the Holiday Inn, we went to look at a room, and while we were looking, the agent downstairs unknowingly booked the room to someone else. In response to this oversight, they gave us a free upgrade to a two room suite on the fourth floor. The rooms were very clean and modern and the beds were extremely comfortable. The shower was excellent with nice thick towels. The lotions and shampoos smelled like cinnamon cookies! The view out the window of the bridge and the river traffic at sunset was astounding. Staff members were friendly and well-informed, recommending a number of restaurants nearby. The extra sink, microwave, fridge, and fireplace worked well. The only complaint we had was with the morning breakfast which was not very appealing with greasy prefab bacon and what appeared to be powdered eggs. Very short on fresh fruit. I was expecting something better after enjoying the quality of the rooms. Slight noise from bridge traffic on our side of the building, but overall, an excellent stay in a charming town.

  • Liked — The beds
  • Disliked — The breakfast
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank stephenb65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2008

Stayed in May, booked a room through the hotels own website, not the Holiday Inn group website, they have some special offers on their website, www.astoriahie.com ,so we had a room over looking the river and with a fireplace. Staff were excellent, helpful in every way, friendly (in a genuine way, not an act). The breakfast was good for a HIE, omlettes, sausage etc.

Hopefully we will be back.

  • Liked — The staff and the room
  • Disliked — Loved everything
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank mickt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michigan
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2008

If you are going to stay in Astoria for a night or for a few days, this motel is the place to stay at. The Holiday Inn & Suites is exceptionally clean, well maintained and the rooms are spacious and clean as well. The staff couldn't be more accomodating and are willing to make your visit enjoyable. The view on the river side is spectacular and quiet as it is under the bridge connecting Oregon to Washington. I wish that I had planned to stay in Astoria longer than one night just to stay at the Holiday Inn and Suites. The price is right, we loved it!

  • Liked — Clean rooms
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Carol A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Astoria hotels
2.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Astoria
0.2 mi away
Cannery Pier Hotel
Cannery Pier Hotel
#1 of 14 in Astoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,157 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Astoria Bayfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Columbia River
0.3 mi away
Astoria Riverwalk Inn
Astoria Riverwalk Inn
#7 of 14 in Astoria
3.5 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
0.9 mi away
Commodore Hotel
Commodore Hotel
#8 of 14 in Astoria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express and Suites Astoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express and Suites Astoria

Property: Holiday Inn Express and Suites Astoria
Address: 204 W Marine Dr, Astoria, OR 97103-6204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Astoria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Astoria
#2 Business Hotel in Astoria
#2 Romantic Hotel in Astoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express and Suites Astoria 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The all non smoking Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Astoria is set on the banks of the Mighty Columbia River, offering spectacular, unobstructed views, and comfortable accommodations. Hotel features include, free Hi-Speed Wireless Internet, free local phone calls, and Complimentary Hot Express Start Breakfast, We have also created the world's best tasting cinnamon roll. Visit Astoria Oregon, the oldest American settlement west of the Rocky Mountains, and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Astoria. . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express and Suites Astoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express And Suites Astoria Hotel Astoria
Holiday Inn Express Astoria
Holiday Inn Astoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing