We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Nice Surprise” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express and Suites Astoria

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Astoria
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Astoria
Certificate of Excellence
Shenzhen, China
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice Surprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

My husband and I have stayed in Astoria numerous times at hotels and B&Bs. This is the first time we stayed here and we were very pleasantly surprised with the spaciousness of the room. We also had a nice view of the water and the bridge that towers over this part of town. The free WiFi was consistent and fast, and it worked everywhere in the hotel. The room was very comfortable and even had a love seat sofa. If you want to explore downtown Astoria on foot, you might want to choose a B&B closer to the historic district. But if you don't mind getting some walking exercise, you can explore Astoria on foot from this location. The breakfast was quick and easy with a lot of choices. My only suggestion for improvement would be to include more healthy breakfast options without sugar. Even the oatmeal packs included sugar.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DoctorLorraine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

725 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    478
    214
    20
    5
    8
See reviews for
223
303
32
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (284)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

We arrived at this Holiday Inn Express in Astoria, OR and we're warmly greeted and promptly checked in.

We arrived in our room to be totally surprised by it's large, comfortable size, along with a fireplace and river view. The couch is positioned so you can see out the window, with the fireplace comfortably in front of it. The king bed was comfortable and they give you lots of pillows to choose from. The bathroom was also very nice and sparkling clean. There was a shower and a bath too. In the room there was also a microwave and refrigerator.

We did not eat breakfast at the inn, but the room where it is served looked great, with a beautiful view of the Columbia River.

When we come back to Astoria, which we do often, we will certainly stay here again. Keep up the good work, Holiday inn. The place is great and the price is reasonable too.

Room Tip: I would definitely pay the few extra dollars for a river view room with a fireplace. Our room was a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DMC551
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

Second time staying here. Front desk staff are more than helpful...had reserved a wheel chair accessible room, and she asked if I'd prefer main floor, and upgraded us to a river view room.Plus cookies to sweeten us up! Room/bathroom were well laid out for wheel chair user and very clean.
Breakfast is a nice selection of hot and cold food.
Easy walk to Bistro along boardwalk for dinner.

Room Tip: Great views on river side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AMRfsr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranbrook, Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

Don't get me wrong, it is a fine holiday inn, with good service, good breakfast and great location! They have limited amounts of room for allergy sufferers. It was my fault for not realizing that most hotels in Oregon are pet friendly. So if you have allergy problems, make sure you mention it at time of reservation.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marieclaude f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubumbashi, Democratic Republic of the Congo
Level Contributor
112 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

We stayed in a king bed jacuzzi room, river view. Fireplace, nice size to the room. What is great about this room is the jacuzzi is not located in the bathroom but in the room itself, next to the bed, near the window and in frontof the fireplace. Talk about ambiance! The front desk staff is exceptional. The breakfast is above the normal fare. I do not rate many places with a 5/excellent, but this one deserves it.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shawbones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

We come from Tacoma to Astoria, for the weekend, two or three times a year, since 2005 to get away from the city & all its stressful problems. At first we stayed at other motels in Astoria, but now we always stay here at this Holiday Inn & Suites. The staff are very friendly and know the area well. The rooms are always excellent & trouble free. The view from the window, facing the river, is outstanding & hard to leave. You can spend a lot of enjoyable, stressless time, just looking at everything from the window. The motel posts the names of all the passing ships in its lobby. The lobby is one of the best lobbies I have seen. The heated pool is one of my favorite pools with a great view. You will enjoy your stay in Astoria when you stay at this motel. Steve and Melva Golding

Room Tip: All rooms are nice but the suites are extra special.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
81 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2012

In Summer 2012 my wife, 3 daughters and I drove from Seattle to LA. Astoria was our first over night stop. I booked this hotel the day before we arrived and didn't expect much. I was very pleasantly surprised. Great location on the Columbia River. Close walk to lovely Restuarant. Nice walk along the Riverside.

Room was big, nice view, well laid out and in excellent condition.

Staff were very friendly and helpful.

Based on our experience here we tried to stay in Holiday Inn Express where ever possible for the next two weeks.

I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Astoria hotels
2.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Astoria
0.2 mi away
Cannery Pier Hotel
Cannery Pier Hotel
#1 of 14 in Astoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,114 reviews
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Astoria Bayfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Astoria Riverwalk Inn
Astoria Riverwalk Inn
#9 of 14 in Astoria
3.5 of 5 bubbles 588 reviews
2.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Columbia River
1.0 mi away
Commodore Hotel
Commodore Hotel
#7 of 14 in Astoria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express and Suites Astoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express and Suites Astoria

Property: Holiday Inn Express and Suites Astoria
Address: 204 W Marine Dr, Astoria, OR 97103-6204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Astoria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Astoria
#2 Romantic Hotel in Astoria
#2 Business Hotel in Astoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express and Suites Astoria 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The all non smoking Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Astoria is set on the banks of the Mighty Columbia River, offering spectacular, unobstructed views, and comfortable accommodations. Hotel features include, free Hi-Speed Wireless Internet, free local phone calls, and Complimentary Hot Express Start Breakfast, We have also created the world's best tasting cinnamon roll. Visit Astoria Oregon, the oldest American settlement west of the Rocky Mountains, and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Astoria. . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Holiday Inn Express and Suites Astoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express And Suites Astoria Hotel Astoria
Holiday Inn Express Astoria
Holiday Inn Astoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing