We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Pleasant Surprise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express and Suites Astoria

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Astoria
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Astoria
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
80 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Pleasant Surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

In Summer 2012 my wife, 3 daughters and I drove from Seattle to LA. Astoria was our first over night stop. I booked this hotel the day before we arrived and didn't expect much. I was very pleasantly surprised. Great location on the Columbia River. Close walk to lovely Restuarant. Nice walk along the Riverside.

Room was big, nice view, well laid out and in excellent condition.

Staff were very friendly and helpful.

Based on our experience here we tried to stay in Holiday Inn Express where ever possible for the next two weeks.

I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

700 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    463
    205
    20
    5
    7
See reviews for
219
292
32
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Molokai, Hawaii
Level Contributor
268 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Superb location, clean rooms and friendly service. This hotel is right at the base of the bridge that connects Oregon and Washington with great views of the Columbia River. I was very happy with my stay and if I come back to Astoria will definitely stay at the Holiday Inn Express again.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a river view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wandering_bob231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upper Left Coast
Level Contributor
84 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 369 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

This is an amazing hotel for the Holiday Inn Express brand. It's right on the river near the bridge across the Columbia. Riverside rooms look out on the river as enormous ships pass by. On that side of the hotel is a footpath that goes into downtown Astoria as well as the riverfront trolley that goes to the Oregon Maritime Center.

The rooms are huge and well appointed. Most have in-room refrigerators and microwaves. Some have jacuzzis. Very clean. My only gripe is that they block the windows from opening more than a couple of inches and the rooms can get stuffy.

Decent enough free breakfast room in the morning. Pig 'n' Pancake is across the street as well.

For a comfortable, affordable stay in Astoria, this is easily my first choice.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a jacuzzi. Ask if they can get the windows to open. Stay on the river side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank umbrellaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
213 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

First stop from Seattle. Had just crossed Columbia River and stopped at this hotel. A good clean hotel with helpful staff. Interesting old photos from "lumber jacker" times. Free WiFi. Morning breakfast was good. Stunning view over the river. My first time in Oregon. It's a beautiful place

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richardt H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Battle Ground, Washington
Level Contributor
84 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

This place is always very clean and the staff is friendly. We really enjoy the view of the Columbia River. Anytime we have stayed here the rooms have been very comfortable and quiet. The morning breakfast was OK this time. The eggs were over cooked and very brown around the edges. Om not real fond of the pancake maker, wish that they had a waffle maker instead.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank skypay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
80 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

I've stayed at some that are a bit too cheap or run down. This one is clean, well furnished & maintained, and has exceptionally helpful staff. Located on the water just under the bridge, it has beautiful views. Breakfast has lots of good food & later in the day there are warm cookies on the lobby. Pool is nice, but a bit cold.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenai, AK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I had a King room on the river side. The view is stunning. I also like the separation of the sleeping areas. There is a convertible couch in the “living room” and a king bed in the bedroom. The bathroom and kitchenette area separate the sleeping areas. Great for parents with kids. The gas fireplace in the living room is cute but not really necessary in my opinion. All the basics were spot on. Extremely clean room, good hot shower and comfortable beds. The staff at the front desk was great. She made me feel welcome and she was really helpful.

The only negative I can add is the breakfast was mediocre at best. This property is a step above most Holliday Inn expresses I have ever stayed at and the breakfast deserves to be better. Over all a great stay just don’t expect breakfast to impress.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Astoria hotels
2.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Astoria
0.2 mi away
Cannery Pier Hotel
Cannery Pier Hotel
#1 of 14 in Astoria
5.0 of 5 stars 1,079 reviews
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Astoria Bayfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Astoria Riverwalk Inn
Astoria Riverwalk Inn
#10 of 14 in Astoria
3.5 of 5 stars 489 reviews
2.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Columbia River
1.0 mi away
Commodore Hotel
Commodore Hotel
#8 of 14 in Astoria
4.0 of 5 stars 191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express and Suites Astoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express and Suites Astoria

Property: Holiday Inn Express and Suites Astoria
Address: 204 W Marine Dr, Astoria, OR 97103-6204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Astoria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Astoria
#2 Romantic Hotel in Astoria
#2 Family Hotel in Astoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express and Suites Astoria 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The all non smoking Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Astoria is set on the banks of the Mighty Columbia River, offering spectacular, unobstructed views, and comfortable accommodations. Hotel features include, free Hi-Speed Wireless Internet, free local phone calls, and Complimentary Hot Express Start Breakfast, We have also created the world's best tasting cinnamon roll. Visit Astoria Oregon, the oldest American settlement west of the Rocky Mountains, and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Astoria. . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express and Suites Astoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express And Suites Astoria Hotel Astoria
Holiday Inn Express Astoria
Holiday Inn Astoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing