We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Huge rooms and riverfront view!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express and Suites Astoria

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Astoria
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Astoria
Certificate of Excellence
Upper Left Coast
Level Contributor
93 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 396 helpful votes
“Huge rooms and riverfront view!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

This is an amazing hotel for the Holiday Inn Express brand. It's right on the river near the bridge across the Columbia. Riverside rooms look out on the river as enormous ships pass by. On that side of the hotel is a footpath that goes into downtown Astoria as well as the riverfront trolley that goes to the Oregon Maritime Center.

The rooms are huge and well appointed. Most have in-room refrigerators and microwaves. Some have jacuzzis. Very clean. My only gripe is that they block the windows from opening more than a couple of inches and the rooms can get stuffy.

Decent enough free breakfast room in the morning. Pig 'n' Pancake is across the street as well.

For a comfortable, affordable stay in Astoria, this is easily my first choice.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a jacuzzi. Ask if they can get the windows to open. Stay on the river side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank umbrellaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

726 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    479
    214
    20
    5
    8
See reviews for
224
303
32
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (284)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
231 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

First stop from Seattle. Had just crossed Columbia River and stopped at this hotel. A good clean hotel with helpful staff. Interesting old photos from "lumber jacker" times. Free WiFi. Morning breakfast was good. Stunning view over the river. My first time in Oregon. It's a beautiful place

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richardt H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Battle Ground, Washington
Level Contributor
84 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

This place is always very clean and the staff is friendly. We really enjoy the view of the Columbia River. Anytime we have stayed here the rooms have been very comfortable and quiet. The morning breakfast was OK this time. The eggs were over cooked and very brown around the edges. Om not real fond of the pancake maker, wish that they had a waffle maker instead.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank skypay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
80 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

I've stayed at some that are a bit too cheap or run down. This one is clean, well furnished & maintained, and has exceptionally helpful staff. Located on the water just under the bridge, it has beautiful views. Breakfast has lots of good food & later in the day there are warm cookies on the lobby. Pool is nice, but a bit cold.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenai, AK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

I had a King room on the river side. The view is stunning. I also like the separation of the sleeping areas. There is a convertible couch in the “living room” and a king bed in the bedroom. The bathroom and kitchenette area separate the sleeping areas. Great for parents with kids. The gas fireplace in the living room is cute but not really necessary in my opinion. All the basics were spot on. Extremely clean room, good hot shower and comfortable beds. The staff at the front desk was great. She made me feel welcome and she was really helpful.

The only negative I can add is the breakfast was mediocre at best. This property is a step above most Holliday Inn expresses I have ever stayed at and the breakfast deserves to be better. Over all a great stay just don’t expect breakfast to impress.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belfast
Level Contributor
88 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

You must get a river view room under the wonderful bridge with interesting river traffic. Bit of a walk into town. Quite a good breakfast. some helpful staff -others just a bit indifferent. there is also a comfort inn and a new hampton inn is opening in Astoria

Room Tip: river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank worldwideflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smith River, California, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

Everything in this hotel is pretty much average. The beds were comfortable and the place was clean. The complimentary breakfast downstairs was average. I missed having TV availability. There was no TV guide, so I had to guess and of course could not find a thing. No movies were available except for $9.99 you could choose from the movie rentals they had DOWNSTAIRS.
I did not need unlimited movies for that high price, just one would have been nice!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kkmurals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Astoria hotels
2.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Astoria
0.2 mi away
Cannery Pier Hotel
Cannery Pier Hotel
#1 of 14 in Astoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,114 reviews
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Astoria Bayfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Astoria Riverwalk Inn
Astoria Riverwalk Inn
#8 of 14 in Astoria
3.5 of 5 bubbles 588 reviews
2.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Columbia River
1.0 mi away
Commodore Hotel
Commodore Hotel
#7 of 14 in Astoria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express and Suites Astoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express and Suites Astoria

Property: Holiday Inn Express and Suites Astoria
Address: 204 W Marine Dr, Astoria, OR 97103-6204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Astoria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Astoria
#2 Business Hotel in Astoria
#2 Romantic Hotel in Astoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express and Suites Astoria 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The all non smoking Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Astoria is set on the banks of the Mighty Columbia River, offering spectacular, unobstructed views, and comfortable accommodations. Hotel features include, free Hi-Speed Wireless Internet, free local phone calls, and Complimentary Hot Express Start Breakfast, We have also created the world's best tasting cinnamon roll. Visit Astoria Oregon, the oldest American settlement west of the Rocky Mountains, and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Astoria. . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express and Suites Astoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express And Suites Astoria Hotel Astoria
Holiday Inn Express Astoria
Holiday Inn Astoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing