We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like being on a cruise ship”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Astoria
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Astoria
Certificate of Excellence
Beaverton, Oregon
1 review
“Like being on a cruise ship”
Reviewed July 24, 2014

This hotel had all the amenities you expect from a Hampton/Hilton property--great beds, linens, pillows, anytime coffee, breakfast, friendly staff, easy check-in, etc. What was unexpected, was the beautifully maintained and landscaped property nestled along the Columbia river. From our 4th floor room, we felt like we were on a cruise ship! Looking off of our balcony, we watched ships and pilot boats come and go, we saw herons and other birds in their natural setting, and we listened to the trolley that goes along the waterfront ring its bell every hour! Colleen at the front desk gave us excellent suggestions for restaurants and other adventures. This is a trip we will do again. There is too much to see and do in two days!

Room Tip: Select a river front, balcony, if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JeffandDebbieH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen C, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Astoria, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear JeffandDebbieH,

We want to thank you for all of your amazing compliments from the great beds, linens, pillows, coffee, breakfast, and friendly staff to your easy check in. I am very happy that you found our hotel to be beautifully maintained as we all strive hard for perfection. It was a pleasure meeting you and I can’t wait to see you guys again soon! Thank you for taking the time to write your review and for choosing to stay with us!

Sincerely,
Colleen Casper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

845 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    570
    195
    49
    18
    13
See reviews for
239
408
34
78
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lincolnton, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2014

We booked this room with some caution, considering some of the strange reviews on Trip Advisor. Our fears were unfounded. The king size room was big, clean, and comfortable. The hotel is new. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We wanted to extend our stay instead of continuing up the coast and the staff made it possible although we had to move to a queen room with two beds instead. After all, it was a weekend coming up. There is a boardwalk right in front of the hotel that leads to town, if you are a walking person. If you are not, and you are patient, you can ride the trolly. There is food nearby on the pier or plenty of restaurants in town. Also worth noting, the sea lions were not here at this time, which is probably best for quiet sleeping. This actually looked like the best place in town. And that was above the more upscale price of others we had checked before booking here. We really enjoyed all the town had to offer.

Room Tip: Ask before booking if the sea lions are in the harbor for your visit. They get really loud. Also, al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen C, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Astoria, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear Janet G,

We want to thank you for continuing to reserve your room with us despite what others may have said. As you have now seen our hotel personally and we have shown and proven that we maintain our beautiful hotel and we strive to make every guests stay a satisfying one. I am thankful that you found your room large in size, clean, and comfortable, and that you decided to stay even longer due to your great experience with us! Thank you for taking the time to write your review and for choosing to stay with us!

Sincerely,
Colleen Casper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coldspring, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2014 via mobile

We love Hampton Inn & this one is a really a nice one. Our room had a balcony facing the Columbia River which had ship traffic and seals barking + the trolley right in front !!
Breakfast was really nice with plenty of seating and selection. The bedding in the room was so clean and comfy. A real coffee pot was a bonus too. China cups would be a nice addition as coffee in a paper cup isn't good. Overall, we enjoyed our stay at this expensive but beautiful hotel!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bentleybeagledog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen C, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Astoria, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear Bentleybeagledog,

We would like to thank you for being loyal to the Hampton brand! I am very happy that you enjoyed your river view room with a balcony and were able to enjoy the ship traffic coming and going up and down the Columbia River. Thank you for the nice compliments about our nice deluxe continental breakfast buffet. Thank you for taking the time to write your review and for choosing to stay with us!

Kind Regards,
Colleen Casper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 24, 2014

Clean, courteous and good breakfast offerings. Request top floor room facing the Columbia River. Beautiful sunset views! Also enjoyed the River walk each morning. Great place to exhale and relax, and a short walk to Pier 39, good food, better beer selections!

Room Tip: Request top floor , river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeorgiaTee63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen C, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Astoria, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear GeorgiaTee63,

We are so happy to hear that your stay was clean, staff was courteous and that you enjoyed all of breakfast offerings. I am grateful to know that you found us as a great place to exhale and relax! Yes the river walk is beautiful! I am so happy that you were able to enjoy it! Thank you for taking the time to write your review and for choosing to stay with us!

Sincerely,
Colleen Casper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Townsend, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2014

Not the greatest location but property lives up to the Hampton/Hilton standard. Room was comfortable and clean, with good amenities. Included breakfast was as could be expected - no custom orders but good fare nevertheless. Courteous staff, comfortable room, convenient to Highway 101, decent value for the money. No hesitation in staying there again if in the Astoria area..

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theedge139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen C, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Astoria, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear theedge139,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review! We are grateful to know that your room was comfortable, clean, with great amenities. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to your return!

Kind Regards,
Colleen Casper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Augusta, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2014

Stayed here at the end of June for 3 nights. Rooms are clean and beds are comfortable. I did miss having common areas where guests can lounge. I hanged out momentarily in the breakfast area one afternoon while my room was getting cleaned and I was approached by a gentleman asking me whether 'I was waiting for someone', as if I shouldn't be there at that time. Also, even though it backs up to the waterfront, there are no benches, tables, chairs or covered seating where guests can enjoy the view. No sea lions this time of the year.

Room Tip: Rooms with balconies are available but much more costly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JacquieK316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen C, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Astoria, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear Jacquiek316.

We are so happy to hear that your room was clean and the beds were comfortable. We actually do have a common area down stairs near the breakfast buffet. You are always more than welcome to hang out in there. I believe that he was just trying to make sure you were being helped. Thank you for taking the time to write your review and for choosing to stay with us.

Kind Regards,
Colleen Casper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Junction City, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2014

Enjoyed a great experience staying here. The staff was very professional and made sure that we were well taken care of. The top floor room facing the Columbia River was comfortable and clean with great amenities as well as an excellent view.
The location is right at the east end of the River Walk and the Riverfront Trolley station which will get you to a number of great historical venues. Also, being at the foot of Pier 39, you're just a short walk or drive to an excellent experience on the pier.

Room Tip: Definitely ask for an upper floor room facing the river!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen C, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Astoria, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear Jamie A,

I am so happy that you enjoyed a great experience staying here with us! Thank you for the wonderful compliments about our staff as we do strive for perfection. We are thrilled to know that your river view room was comfortable, clean with great amenities, and a gorgeous view. Thank you for taking the time to write your review and for choosing to stay with us!

Sincerely,
Colleen Casper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Astoria hotels
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Astoria
2.6 mi away
Cannery Pier Hotel
Cannery Pier Hotel
#1 of 14 in Astoria
1,207 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Columbia River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Best Western Astoria Bayfront Hotel
2.7 mi away
Astoria Riverwalk Inn
Astoria Riverwalk Inn
#7 of 14 in Astoria
686 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Elliott
Hotel Elliott
#5 of 14 in Astoria
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Astoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Astoria

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Astoria
Address: 201 39th St, Astoria, OR 97103-2461
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Astoria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Astoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Astoria 2.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the waterfront of the Columbia River, the Hampton Inn & Suites Astoria offers guest great location to Astoria’s dining and attractions. Each stay includes free hot breakfast, free WiFi access, gym/fitness center and the Clean and fresh Hampton bed®. Riverview rooms with balconies are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Astoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing