We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great New Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Astoria
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Astoria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 22, 2013

No surprises here. Clean, new, good view of the Oregon's 'wait a minute weather'. It's at the end of the line for the trolley which takes you along the water front. Full breakfast bar. We stayed off season so the pricing was about 116 plus taxes

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bobc65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (926)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

906 - 912 of 926 reviews

Reviewed March 3, 2013

We stay at Hampton Inns whenever we can, because we have been very pleased in the past. This time we were disappointed in the size of the room, it was much smaller that other Hampton Inns that we have stayed at. The Innkeeper wasn't much help in locating a restaurant for dinner. The breakfast was not very good - waffles almost impossible to cut with plastic knife and fork, scrambled eggs like little marbles. We did enjoy watching the sea lions from our room.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

My husband, 15-yr. old daughter, 11-yr. old son, and I spent a couple of nights here over Presidents' Day weekend. I had reserved a riverview suite, and we ended up on the 4th floor, so the view was lovely. The hotel is rather new and the furnishings were very nice, but one downside of the suite's open floorplan was that there was only one TV. (We usually prefer a suite with two TVs, so the kids can watch their shows and my husband and I can watch another.)
The pool and hot tub were nice, and I appreciated the shower next to the pool.
The breakfast was tasty but the kitchen couldn't keep up with the demand and we had to wait several times for the hot dishes. There was a large variety of items served, including fresh fruit. They also served cold cereal, bagels, pastries, waffles (freshly made), oatmeal, and yogurt (fairly standard Hampton inn fare).
The staff was friendly, the lobby and eating area were nice, and we loved being so close to the waterfront trail. The Rogue Brewery is an easy walk and the Safeway store isn't too far away, but I think we'll stay closer to the Astoria-Megler bridge next time.

Room Tip: We didn't have any trouble with the sea lions, who make some noise during the night, but if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PJMS_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We stayed here on a whim after deciding to drive out to Astoria just to get away. The hotel is on the outer edge of Astoria so you are not in the middle of town but obviously close enough to get to everything in a short amount of time. It is located along the Columbia River shore so you are able to see the river from the rear hotel rooms. The staff is very friendly and helpful and the hotel is very clean and comfortable. We got a double queen non smoking room and it was a great value. The room itself is very clean and the beds comfortable. There is an indoor pool and hot tub which is always a bonus for people with kids. They serve a continental breakfast which had a big variety...cereal, bacon, eggs, waffles, biscuits and gravy, etc. Overall we were very happy with our stay and this will now be our go to hotel when deciding to come out to Astoria.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Familyvacayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Not sure if its the world chaotic pace that made this hotel simply wonderful. I checked quickly with a pleasant staff member. The room was fresh and clean. Everything was in place and great (btw more than enough outlets for my computer, phone charger, wife's charger... handy). The bed so comfy my wife laid down and was passed out before I knew what was happening! So I figured I'd go running; the workout room had nice equipment, and really well set up. The pool was pretty sweet too. After my run and swim, I walked around the river front and the Hampton has done a great job with it's riverfront property. It's really not fair to call their breakfast continental; I ate two plates of fresh eggs, bacon, and potatoes! The coffee was delicious too.

All and all my wife and I have found our little haven, and it's at the Hampton in Astoria...

PS - We live in Astoria, and we want to get away at this calm, cool, and collected Hampton Inn and Suites!

Room Tip: "Spa" rooms are NICE!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank angelwings5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

This hotel is only a few months old. Nicely worked out building, nice architecture, on the riverfront .... with a view on Rogue brewery .... and walking distance to it, which is very interesting if you want a late meal and (quite some) tasting of their many good beers. Try their chipotle ale by the way !!! Reception area is big and both staff are friendly. Rooms are also very large and the beds, matresses etc are of excellent quality. The swimming pool is reasonably big and has filtered sea water, which is very very good compared to the average hotel swimming pool in the States ... having usually too much chlorine in it. In this place I had a rare good morning swim. On the contrary, the "stuff" served at (free) breakfast was really under average what you get in this range of hotels.Really nothing tasted well. But you have a beautiful river view out of the nicely decorated and very large breakfast area. Also I still wanted to mention the enthousiasm for their work of all of the staff of the hotel, off course they have the job only since a few months, but each and everyone of them is doing a fine job. Price/quality this place is one of the best places to stay in Astoria. On average, hotel rooms in Astoria are a bit pricier (+/- usd 30) then in other cities of Oregon/Washington, certainly for this (tourist quiet) time of the year.

Room Tip: quite simple : if you want a river view, you pay more, and probably you will regret that during the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kortenbergtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

We live in Astoria but stayed here for our anniversary just for fun. We had a king suite with balcony & it was a beautiful, spacious room! Great view of the river and all the ship traffic, very enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Get a river view
See more room tips
Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Astoria hotels
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Astoria
2.6 mi away
Cannery Pier Hotel
Cannery Pier Hotel
#1 of 14 in Astoria
1,271 reviews
3 mi away
Best Western Astoria Bayfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Columbia River
2.7 mi away
Astoria Riverwalk Inn
Astoria Riverwalk Inn
#5 of 14 in Astoria
767 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Elliott
Hotel Elliott
#7 of 14 in Astoria
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Astoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Astoria

Address: 201 39th St, Astoria, OR 97103-2461
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Astoria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Astoria
Price Range: $113 - $301 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Astoria 2.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the waterfront of the Columbia River, the Hampton Inn & Suites Astoria offers guest great location to Astoria’s dining and attractions. Each stay includes free hot breakfast, free WiFi access, gym/fitness center and the Clean and fresh Hampton bed®. Riverview rooms with balconies are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Astoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing