We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sparkling new hotel, walking distance to Rogue brewery ....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Astoria
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Astoria
Certificate of Excellence
Monte-Carlo, Monaco
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Sparkling new hotel, walking distance to Rogue brewery ....”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

This hotel is only a few months old. Nicely worked out building, nice architecture, on the riverfront .... with a view on Rogue brewery .... and walking distance to it, which is very interesting if you want a late meal and (quite some) tasting of their many good beers. Try their chipotle ale by the way !!! Reception area is big and both staff are friendly. Rooms are also very large and the beds, matresses etc are of excellent quality. The swimming pool is reasonably big and has filtered sea water, which is very very good compared to the average hotel swimming pool in the States ... having usually too much chlorine in it. In this place I had a rare good morning swim. On the contrary, the "stuff" served at (free) breakfast was really under average what you get in this range of hotels.Really nothing tasted well. But you have a beautiful river view out of the nicely decorated and very large breakfast area. Also I still wanted to mention the enthousiasm for their work of all of the staff of the hotel, off course they have the job only since a few months, but each and everyone of them is doing a fine job. Price/quality this place is one of the best places to stay in Astoria. On average, hotel rooms in Astoria are a bit pricier (+/- usd 30) then in other cities of Oregon/Washington, certainly for this (tourist quiet) time of the year.

Room Tip: quite simple : if you want a river view, you pay more, and probably you will regret that during the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kortenbergtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

854 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    573
    199
    51
    18
    13
See reviews for
246
409
34
79
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Astoria, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

We live in Astoria but stayed here for our anniversary just for fun. We had a king suite with balcony & it was a beautiful, spacious room! Great view of the river and all the ship traffic, very enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Get a river view
See more room tips
Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Everett, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

The location was great near the Columbia River, the view was fantastic with the body of water with ships, fishing boats and foothills to the west. You could hear the sea lions if you chose or simply close your window. The facility was clean and staff helpful. The beds as always comfortable. The second night we had to switch beds as the air blowing was with too warm or too cool. The heat needed to be on so this was inconvenient.

Room Tip: Get the river views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arnie548
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Battle Ground, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We had a great view of the Columbia River from our room. We were able to watch a couple of sea lions feeding on something in the water along with four bald eagles and numerous seagulls. We did not hear the sea lions during the night but then I am not sure there are that many around in the winter. The room was very clean and inviting. The breakfast was good. We most likely will stay here again,

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank skypay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

This Hampton has only been open for two months, and it is obviously a fresh hotel. The staff are cordial and will take the time to chat with you about the area. When we checked in, the woman at the front desk thoughtfully assigned us to a room on the floor above where a young teen's birthday party guests were staying. The riverview king room was comfortable and spacious, with a large flat screen TV, refrigerator, microwave, sofa sleeper, and gave an entertaining view of the boats and ships on the river.

The breakfast included small omelets, potatoes, biscuits and gravy, a waffle maker, cereals, milk and juices, oat meal and toppings, pastries, bagles, muffins, bread and toaster, mixed fruit, apples, and coffee. Maybe more. The breakfast room has a view of the river.

The trolley stops just outside the hotel, and for a dollar you can jump on and ride all the way to the other side of town. For 2 dollars, you can ride all day. We didn't see it run on Sunday.

There is a colony of about 20 sea lions about 300 yards from the hotel. It's a short walk to where they are hauled out onto a dock, and they are fun to watch. There is another colony on the other side of the pier that you can't see from the hotel. There are also about 20 sea lions there. They can create a barking serenade that is loud, and you will hear them in most river front hotels here. But when you close the double-pane sliding door, the sound almost disappears. If you can still hear a distant sound, put the heater/AC fan on the constant setting and you will hear nothing from them (or download a background sound app to your smart phone). Not a problem.

My wife and I live about 2 hours from Astoria, and since we didn't get to see everything we wanted to there, we will be going back. After seeing the other hotels in Astoria, we think this is the best place for us.

Room Tip: If you don't have a river view, you will have a parking lot and road view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jeremiahred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 6 Contributor
341 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Located on the Columbia River in the heart of things to do and places to see in Astoria, OR. The rooms are large, well furnished and nicely decorated. There is an excellent free breakfast. Do get a room with a view!

Room Tip: Get a view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JohntheSkierGolfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean Park, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Great very clean & comfortable hotel. Angie at the front desk during check in, was very pleasant & full of info, she even called up to our room to make sure the room was ok with us. We stayed in one of their jacuzzi rooms, & that even had a view of the river. The breakfast that was offered, was one of the best I have seen. Everything was fresh & tasty. We would definetly stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lea B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Astoria hotels
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Astoria
2.6 mi away
Cannery Pier Hotel
Cannery Pier Hotel
#1 of 14 in Astoria
1,216 reviews
3.0 mi away
Best Western Astoria Bayfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Columbia River
2.7 mi away
Astoria Riverwalk Inn
Astoria Riverwalk Inn
#7 of 14 in Astoria
695 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Elliott
Hotel Elliott
#5 of 14 in Astoria
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Astoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Astoria

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Astoria
Address: 201 39th St, Astoria, OR 97103-2461
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Astoria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Astoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Astoria 2.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the waterfront of the Columbia River, the Hampton Inn & Suites Astoria offers guest great location to Astoria’s dining and attractions. Each stay includes free hot breakfast, free WiFi access, gym/fitness center and the Clean and fresh Hampton bed®. Riverview rooms with balconies are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Astoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing