We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Astoria
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Astoria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We had a great view of the Columbia River from our room. We were able to watch a couple of sea lions feeding on something in the water along with four bald eagles and numerous seagulls. We did not hear the sea lions during the night but then I am not sure there are that many around in the winter. The room was very clean and inviting. The breakfast was good. We most likely will stay here again,

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank skypay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (874)
There are newer reviews for Hampton Inn & Suites Astoria
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

862 - 868 of 874 reviews

Reviewed November 26, 2012

This Hampton has only been open for two months, and it is obviously a fresh hotel. The staff are cordial and will take the time to chat with you about the area. When we checked in, the woman at the front desk thoughtfully assigned us to a room on the floor above where a young teen's birthday party guests were staying. The riverview king room was comfortable and spacious, with a large flat screen TV, refrigerator, microwave, sofa sleeper, and gave an entertaining view of the boats and ships on the river.

The breakfast included small omelets, potatoes, biscuits and gravy, a waffle maker, cereals, milk and juices, oat meal and toppings, pastries, bagles, muffins, bread and toaster, mixed fruit, apples, and coffee. Maybe more. The breakfast room has a view of the river.

The trolley stops just outside the hotel, and for a dollar you can jump on and ride all the way to the other side of town. For 2 dollars, you can ride all day. We didn't see it run on Sunday.

There is a colony of about 20 sea lions about 300 yards from the hotel. It's a short walk to where they are hauled out onto a dock, and they are fun to watch. There is another colony on the other side of the pier that you can't see from the hotel. There are also about 20 sea lions there. They can create a barking serenade that is loud, and you will hear them in most river front hotels here. But when you close the double-pane sliding door, the sound almost disappears. If you can still hear a distant sound, put the heater/AC fan on the constant setting and you will hear nothing from them (or download a background sound app to your smart phone). Not a problem.

My wife and I live about 2 hours from Astoria, and since we didn't get to see everything we wanted to there, we will be going back. After seeing the other hotels in Astoria, we think this is the best place for us.

Room Tip: If you don't have a river view, you will have a parking lot and road view.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jeremiahred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Located on the Columbia River in the heart of things to do and places to see in Astoria, OR. The rooms are large, well furnished and nicely decorated. There is an excellent free breakfast. Do get a room with a view!

Room Tip: Get a view room.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JohntheSkierGolfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Great very clean & comfortable hotel. Angie at the front desk during check in, was very pleasant & full of info, she even called up to our room to make sure the room was ok with us. We stayed in one of their jacuzzi rooms, & that even had a view of the river. The breakfast that was offered, was one of the best I have seen. Everything was fresh & tasty. We would definetly stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lea B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

On the Sea Lions -- yep, you can hear them all night long from the river facing rooms -- but how else do you expect to be able to see the river? (OK, confession, the Sea Lions don't bother us at all; we miss their barking since we are now living in the desert.) But, to the hotel: Yes, it's a Hampton Inn, yes it is clean, warm, and seems safe -- what we expect in Hamptons. The staff was a little not-quite-with-it-yet (but, we stayed on the third night it was open) in that they didn't have answers about town and some non-hotel issues; for check-in procedures and hotel issues they had all the answers, immediately, with the trademark smile and pleasant demeanor. Price-wise it seemed high compared to web-posted prices for other hotels (and significantly higher than most Hamptons I've stayed at) -- but I made a point of looking at those hotels when we walked downtown and thought to myself this Hampton was worth the price.

Room Tip: There are some rooms that don't face the river (and might not have the Sea Lions). Stay on the r...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank QuietWalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Beautiful hotel on Columbia River. Loved having a balcony so we could watch and hear the Sea Lions on the docks right outside the hotel. Very clean and comfortable and the staff was very friendly and accommodating. Resaurant on the pier was convienient and had terrific food.

Room Tip: Splurge for the balcony...well worth the money.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dieselnator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

This is a new hotel in Astoria and it is BEAUTIFUL! Location is perfect, staff is very accomodating and friendly, rooms are immaculate, smells fresh and clean, views from your private balcony are breath-taking! You can see the Astoria Megler bridge, shipping traffic (which is even more fantastic when you learn about bar pilots), the pool is large (it was cold while we were there..hopefully it'll warm up), the hot tub was great, and over all this place is just amazing!! The BAD part...there is a whole pack of sea lions in the marina just outside the hotel (you can see them from your private balcony). They barked all night long, and even with ear plugs, they were loud and kept us from getting a good nights rest, which we desparately needed to do our 10K the next day. I wouldn't say we WON'T stay there again, we would, but only if we're not running a 10K the next day. And check out the Rogue Brewery next door! YUM!!! Chocolate Stout, Mocha Porter....they have awesome fish and chips and pizza too!!!

Room Tip: Try it, it's worth the stay, but bring ear plugs to drown out the sea lions!
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank timnbarbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Astoria hotels
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Astoria
3.0 mi away
Best Western Astoria Bayfront Hotel
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Columbia River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Cannery Pier Hotel
Cannery Pier Hotel
#1 of 14 in Astoria
1,230 reviews
2.7 mi away
Astoria Riverwalk Inn
Astoria Riverwalk Inn
#5 of 14 in Astoria
747 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Elliott
Hotel Elliott
#6 of 14 in Astoria
398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Astoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Astoria

Address: 201 39th St, Astoria, OR 97103-2461
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Astoria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Astoria
Price Range: $125 - $241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Astoria 2.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the waterfront of the Columbia River, the Hampton Inn & Suites Astoria offers guest great location to Astoria’s dining and attractions. Each stay includes free hot breakfast, free WiFi access, gym/fitness center and the Clean and fresh Hampton bed®. Riverview rooms with balconies are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Astoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing