We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very overpriced for the value”
Review of Riverview Buffett - CLOSED

Riverview Buffett
Cuisines: Japanese
Restaurant details
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very overpriced for the value”
Reviewed July 9, 2014 via mobile

We paid $26.50 for two dinner buffets and one soda !! The food was hot, but there was only one row of food! The cook kept coming out to chec on the food line, and was not polite at all, he basically blocked me from some items and was inconsiderate in doing his job. He also didn't seem to thrilled to be working at 330 pm. The waitress sucked and took almost 10 minutes to bring our drinks to us. We also noticed other customers experiencing the same issue with this one waitress, 3 customers had to ask for their check, us included. We probably will not go back.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alyssa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    12
    3
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Astoria, Oregon
Level Contributor
86 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“The best calamari in town!”
Reviewed July 1, 2014

We ate in the bar instead of having the usual buffet and liked it so much more. The prices have gone up 50 cents an item, but the plate of calamari was huge, way enough to share and had an excellent dipping sauce with it.

We also had the steamed clams which were large and tender, but had a bit of grit and needed garlic and butter. I added wine and salt and pepper which almost saved them, but not quite. I will try them again and ask for garlic.

The potstickers were REALLY good, lots of them and tasty and hot with a very good sauce, light and delicious. The view was amazing as always with a HUGE car carrier going by. We will be back.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank dragonflymoon123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renton, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very Good”
Reviewed November 1, 2013

love this place,A huge selection for what you are really paying, Sushi bar they make fresh the whole time you are there, crab legs, dessert bar, etc etc and the view is great. Very pleased to see that a prime location didn't go to waste in this tough economy

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Edward C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaside, Oregon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nasty...”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

fake scallops (looked like rolled pressed jello) covered in batter extremely limited more like a layout for a family gathering not a buffet..fish was slimy/boiled in water rice was ok even the waitress looked embarrassed.... alot of the food had been sitting there for a while and the person who finally brought fresh food out to refill the bar was rude... said hi to her and she gave me a dirty look with no reply thee only two things i can say nice is the waitress was polite and the chicken sticks were good

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank salem2929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
283 reviews
150 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 246 helpful votes
“Very Disappointing LOW End Buffet”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

We had the lunch buffet. We arrived about 1:30pm on a Saturday in early September.

I go the impression that the Management was not taking the idea of a "Buffet" took seriously...

The Buffet choices were very limited and the items had been standing on the steam table far too long. It was not pleasant to try to eat most of the items offered on the buffet. This Restaurant promotes itself as a "Sea Food Buffet". I did not see any fish and chips. There were, however, little paper thin blocks of "breaded fish product" which had been deep fried. There were breaded frozen imitation scallops. The baked salmon had been consumed and had not been refilled.

The balance of the buffet was generic "1950s style" Chinese food. Very bland, very generic.
The "Hot and Sour Soup" tasted as if it was made of unseasoned hot water thickened with corn starch. There were a couple of other noodle type dishes.

There was a lovely seaside view of the Water.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kelly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Riverview Buffett also viewed

 
Astoria, Oregon Coast
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing