We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Riverside delight”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of La Cabane de Raya

La Cabane de Raya
Ranked #24 of 98 Restaurants in Astoria
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Scenic view, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Montreal
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Riverside delight”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

Came across this restaurant completely by accident when I took a wrong turn. What a pleasant surprise!

Nothing fancy but the food is authentic. They have tamales every other Saturday! Tables right on the waterfront.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robertmtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    14
    7
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Excellent authentic Mexican food served by extremely friendly staff.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

We could have not asked for better service or staff so willing to accommodate a large group during a busy time. The food was fresh and authentic just as promised. The portions are generous and so delicious, we are planning on eating it again for dinner.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Life_with_sarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astoria, Oregon
Level Contributor
86 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Best Mexican in town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

We have eaten at many many Mexican places, both in Oregon and California. This little restaurant ranks right up with the best. The food is amazingly delicious, fresh and savory, and very reasonable price-wise. The service is excellent and the view beautiful. The ambiance could be better, but once you take a bite of what ever you ordered, you won't notice.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dragonflymoon123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Battle Ground, WA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Amazing authentic Mexican”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

This is real Mexican - not American Mexican. No cheddar cheese. No rice. No giant tub of chips and salsa. The menu is not extensive but covers all the bases. Homemade everything. The best guacamole I've had in a restaurant ever, served with chips made from tortillas made in house. Yummy! The service was excellent and the view is lovely. When the restaurant is filled with locals, not tourists; you know you've found a winner! We'll go back every trip to Astoria,

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tootles46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astoria, Oregon
Level Contributor
158 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Our favorite!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

If we don't eat here at least weekly I start to have withdrawals! Love their homemade tortillas, the salsa, the guacamole (the make it fresh when you order it)...everything is so good! (They're also great for ordering food to go)

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Cabane de Raya also viewed

Astoria, Oregon Coast
Astoria, Oregon Coast
 
Astoria, Oregon Coast
Astoria, Oregon Coast
 

Been to La Cabane de Raya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing