We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Find - Treat Yourself to A Relaxing Night”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Elliott

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Elliott
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Astoria
Certificate of Excellence
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
457 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
“Great Find - Treat Yourself to A Relaxing Night”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2010

We had actually made reservations at another hotel but were put in the Hotel Elliott as the first hotel was under renovation. It was our lucky day!

This is a small hotel - listed on Historic Hotels of America. It was renovated in 2004 and was made into a luxury hotel. Some of those enhancements (like a heated bathroom floor) seem to be gone, but the rooms were great! Wonderful, outstanding bed! Best bed of a 19 day trip! Downtown location - beautifully decorated rooms - thick cushy towels. Service was very good. The continental breakfast included a wait person, pastries, cereals, meat and cheese and a variety of breads and juices. All included - can't think of a thing that would make this better. Ourtstanding shower.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bensus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    127
    28
    16
    13
See reviews for
37
235
15
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2010

Was looking for a place to stay for the night and all the usual suspects (holiday inn, comfort suites, best western) were all booked up. I didn't know about the Elliott but once I found it I wished I had gone there first. It's a classic property with a modern twist. It's well upgraded but it maintains all of it's charm. The staff at the front were great too! When I come back to Astoria I will definitely come back!

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank uwmercury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tualatin
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2010

I loved the hotel! The staff were nothing but accommodating, my hotel room was well appointed, and the bed was so comfortable! What a wonderful experience. I would recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to or thinking about traveling to Astoria. It is the perfect jumping off point for all of your adventures!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrskatehenry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaside
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2010

Booked the king jacuzzi suite for my husband and my anniversary. The room was dirty (dust all over fireplace, cobwebs from drapes to tv, melon seeds on carpet and hair in the jacuzzi tub). We also were disappointed that there were no vending machines (for soda) nor was there any on site to purchase. When I asked at the front desk I was told that there was convenience store down the street a couple blocks. When I said I didn't want to walk that far in the rain...one of the front desk people made a smart comment "use an umbrella!".
At check out, when asked how my stay had been I handed the girl my comment card and told her that I had noted all our problems. She didn't even look at the card, just handed us our receipt and said thank you.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank beachsherry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthPacificMgnt, General Manager at Hotel Elliott, responded to this review, June 1, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to share comments about your stay, we appreciate all guest responses. We are disappointed to hear that our hotel did not meet your needs. With a new hotel manager recently in place we have been making some great changes at the hotel including the consistency of service delivery, staff training and overall cleanliness. We appreciate you taking the time to fill out the onsite comment card and connecting with us after your stay to expand on the details of your post. It allowed us to look further into your concerns and take corrective action. Since the stay you are referencing was paid for via a donated gift certificate (the Hotel Elliott participates in many non-profit fundraising efforts!) we regret that we were unable to reimburse you for any part of your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back for another complimentary stay and improving upon your experience at the Hotel Elliott. Best regards, John Taffin, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2010

We booked MONTHS in advance at $119/night...when we checked in, the clerk -- unaware of our arrangement -- tried to charge us $185 and said it was their "normal" rate. Other couples in our party were charged over $200 for their rooms, and they were in even smaller than ours....and to say our room was a shoebox would be an insult to shoeboxes! The continental breakfast was like an afterthought from an elderly woman who hadn't stocked her pantry for two months. The whole experience was a complete rip off and monumentally disappointing. We should've stayed elsewhere for half the price, and next time we will...

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TnT16301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthPacificMgnt, General Manager at Hotel Elliott, responded to this review, June 1, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to share with us about your stay, we appreciate all guest responses. We are disappointed to hear that our hotel did not meet your needs. Because of the historic nature of our hotel we have many room types in our 32 room property, ranging from 250 sq. ft. guest rooms to our 1,100 sq. ft. Presidential Suite. We have recently upgraded our complimentary continental breakfast and have been hearing good comments from our guests. While we always encourage our guests to let us know about any concerns at the time of their stay, which allows us to correct them during their visit, we understand this is not always possible. We would love to hear directly from you, please contact me at (503) 325-2222 if I can be of further assistance. Best regards, John Taffin, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2010

$275 for a night plus tax and pet deposit? This place is not that great compared to other historic hotels on the west coast. Small rooms and noisy neighbors are just some of the issues I had but when it came time for the "included breakfast" what a joke. I cannot begin to tell you how disappointing it was. No eggs, bacon, nice fruit or good coffee. Instead, a plate with cheese, some wheat bread and a few other sorted items that were not so breakfast like. We wound up going to a really great restaurant down the street called Steve and Al's or something like that. The Elliot gets a failing grade from us and the three other couples who went with us.
I need to point out that the Elliot cost $120 more than our 1800' square ft condo in Maui at the El Dorado.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank unicornfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthPacificMgnt, General Manager at Hotel Elliott, responded to this review, June 1, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay, we greatly value all guest feedback. We are disappointed to hear that our hotel did not meet your needs. We do recognize that the room rates on the Oregon Coast fluctuate quite dramatically during our demand season. We have recently upgraded our complimentary continental breakfast and have been hearing good comments from our guests... We agree with you that the hotel is surrounded by some fantastic restaurants – we love our downtown location! If you are ever in Astoria again, we would love the opportunity to show you our changes. Please contact me at (503) 325-2222 if I can be of further assistance. Best regards, John Taffin, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indian Harbour Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
76 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2010

I was told the hotel has a new manager and it is also has a tax lien on it by the City of Astoria, owning the city over $62,000. The website says the room comes with a breakfast, but it is only a continental breakfast.. There is no eggs and bacon, no toast or decaf coffee. Only cereal, pastries and hard boil eggs, serve in the lobby. We stayed in room 201, which had french glass doors, not very secure. The room had a seperate bedroom with tv/dvd player and a living room area with a very small desk, taken up with the coffee pot tray and telephone, very small flat screen tv, microwave, chair, sofa, coffee table and end table. The bathroom was off of the living room. No fridge, the wireless internet signal was very weak and there was no information package in the room. Our bathroom had no hand towels, burn out overhead light and mold starting in shower grout. The hotel has no parking lot, only street parking and a city lot in the next block. There is a smell in the lobby and hallway. The best thing about the hotel is its downtown location near many restuarants. If the new manager get the day to day details corrected, maybe if would be again be a place to stay. But right now I would go with another hotel in Astoria.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lgrohr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthPacificMgnt, General Manager at Hotel Elliott, responded to this review, June 1, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to share with us about your stay. We appreciate all guest responses. Our website has been completely updated as have other sites with whom we partner. Room 201 is typically a highly sought after room with its generous size and separate parlor and bedroom, heated stone bathroom floor, cedar lined closets and high thread count sheets and upgraded beds and bedding. We have added a refrigerator at your suggestion. Also, we have modified the complimentary continental breakfast and have been receiving good comments from the guests. We appreciate you taking the time to connect with us after your stay to expand on the details of your post. Best regards, John Taffin, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Astoria hotels
1.1 mi away
Cannery Pier Hotel
Cannery Pier Hotel
#1 of 14 in Astoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,156 reviews
0.1 mi away
Commodore Hotel
Commodore Hotel
#7 of 14 in Astoria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Astoria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Astoria
1.5 mi away
Best Western Astoria Bayfront Hotel
1.2 mi away
Astoria Riverwalk Inn
Astoria Riverwalk Inn
#8 of 14 in Astoria
3.5 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Elliott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Elliott

Property: Hotel Elliott
Address: 357 12th St, Astoria, OR 97103-4119
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Astoria
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Astoria
#5 Family Hotel in Astoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Elliott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our historic hotel is located in downtown Astoria and has most of the modern day amenities and all of the old time charm. Features 32 guest rooms and suites-all luxuriously appointed with heated bathroom floors and "Wonderful Beds." Some rooms feature jacuzzi tubs and fireplaces. Stroll out the door to restaurants, museums and the riverwalk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Elliott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elliott Hotel Astoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing