We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great sleepy town and warm hotel!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Elliott

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Elliott
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Astoria
Certificate of Excellence
Hermosa Beach, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great sleepy town and warm hotel!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2006

We found ourselves in Astoria for family reasons. What a great discovery for us! There is so much history there and if you like water, this is the place. Located at the mouth of the Columbia River, the place is bustling with activity. There are wonderful old school restaurants and cafes in the area and the people are warm and friendly. Lots of Victorian Homes around and a state-of-the-art maritime museum.

The Hotel Elliott was a wonderful base camp for our daily activities. The hotel was remodelled a couple of years ago and is as comfortable as any first class Vegas hotel. Add to that a cute breakfast basket provided each day and you are set. They have a handy wine bar in the basement and an enclosed cigar humidor for those who enjoy a good smoke. They offer 50 or more cigars and many great Washington and Oregon wines and even California favorites.

A great place for a romantic get away, whatever your age.

  • Liked — Overall experience
  • Disliked — Elevator a bit slow
  • Tips/Secrets — Free welcome glass of wine offered first night!
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank CoastieDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    127
    28
    16
    13
See reviews for
37
235
15
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Beaver.OR
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2006

Absolutely beautiful, but quaint restored Historic Hotel. The suite room we stayed in was luxurious, immaculately clean, with a beautiful view of the town & bay and had a fabulously comfortable, well dressed bed! We had warmed bathroom floors, jacuzzi, fireplace, frig, 2 televisions (including plasma). Parking is free and around the corner. No food on the facility, but restaurants are within one block or less walking distance. A complimentary fruit, cheese, biscuit and juice basket along with the paper is left in the morning at your door. The neighborhood is in the restored downtown area with many quaint shops and completely safe touring. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. We will stay there again when we visit Astoria. Can't imagine a better place to recommend when visiting. D. Barnett, Beaver, Oregon

  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank westgull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2006

We stayed for two nights at the Elliott in the middle of a Northwest monsoon. The staff at the hotel are incredibly friendly and helpful, particularly when finding fun places to go and eat around Astoria.

The rooms are beautifully outfitted and quite cozy, perfect for hanging out with a book.

  • Liked — friendly service
  • Disliked — smallish room
  • Tips/Secrets — columbian cafe
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pierre9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakton, VA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2006

What a great hotel, what a nice town! We spent Columbus Day weekend at Hotel Elliott and we're still talking about it. The staff was great. Everyone was helpful and friendly - from management to housekeeping. All in all, a very well run hotel. The suites are roomy, comfortable, clean and very nicely appointed. If there weren't so much to see and do in the area, I could've spent the whole time relaxing in our room. Loved the view from the rooftop, loved the wine bar. While you're in Astoria, aside from the obvious attractions, be sure to go to the Bow Picker for fish and chips (in season) and to Shallon Winery for an interesting winery experience. Well worth the trip!

  • Liked — everything!
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hey_Miss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean Shores, WA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2006

I had a wonderful stay at the Hotel Elliott this last weekend! The service was great, the weather was fabulous and I slept SO WELL! Everything about my stay was so easy, from having the doggy bed and treats with bowls in my room for my dog, to the wonderful breakfast basket in morning! The staff was very accommodating and made my dog and I feel at home! :o) I look forward to staying again in the future!

  • Liked — the bed was so soft and comfortable and the service...
  • Disliked — Had to walk 2 blocks for my dog to go to the bathroom
  • Tips/Secrets — Get a view of the water, it is spectacular!
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank bblancas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tn
Level Contributor
206 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2006

We had a very enjoyable stay at the Hotel Elliott. The room decor was more modern than the hotel lobby and bar. The furninshings were well maintained and everything was very neat and clean. The staff was friendly. The hotel is located in the middle of Astoria with plenty of restaurants and galleries within a block or two. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nashville1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2006

We spent one night at The Elliott Hotel in a standard room. The room was small but very clean. The bed was quite comfortable. The biggest problem was no screens on the windows. It was June and not real hot, but the only air circulation was through the windows. Our room was on a busy street and was quite noisy during the day. Unfortunately along with the open window came the flies.

The bathroom was very nicely decorated but there were no towel racks for hanging. The towels were great, probably the best we've had in a hotel. There was no bathtub in our room.

The complimentary breakfast was pretty bad. The food was of very poor quality and there wasn't much of a selection. It's better to just dine out for breakfast if you want something good to eat.

I probably would not stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MTB2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Astoria hotels
1.1 mi away
Cannery Pier Hotel
Cannery Pier Hotel
#1 of 14 in Astoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,156 reviews
0.1 mi away
Commodore Hotel
Commodore Hotel
#7 of 14 in Astoria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Astoria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Astoria
1.5 mi away
Best Western Astoria Bayfront Hotel
1.2 mi away
Astoria Riverwalk Inn
Astoria Riverwalk Inn
#8 of 14 in Astoria
3.5 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Elliott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Elliott

Property: Hotel Elliott
Address: 357 12th St, Astoria, OR 97103-4119
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Astoria
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Astoria
#5 Family Hotel in Astoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Elliott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our historic hotel is located in downtown Astoria and has most of the modern day amenities and all of the old time charm. Features 32 guest rooms and suites-all luxuriously appointed with heated bathroom floors and "Wonderful Beds." Some rooms feature jacuzzi tubs and fireplaces. Stroll out the door to restaurants, museums and the riverwalk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Elliott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elliott Hotel Astoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing