We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“VERY NICE PROPERTY”
Review of Hotel Elliott

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Elliott
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Astoria
Certificate of Excellence
Medford, Oregon
Level Contributor
55 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“VERY NICE PROPERTY”
Reviewed May 29, 2006

The Hotel Elliott is a very nice restored hotel in downtown Astoria. If you want a central location to the downtown area, it is perfect. It is also extremely well located if you would like to attend the Sunday Market, as it is located literally at the front door steps of the hotel.

The interior design of the renovated rooms was nicely done. Good taste in colors, materials, and trim. Nice flat screen TV in bedroom.

Furnishings were pretty well done...although coffee tables and nightstands seemed a little nicked up, like an overnighter had knocked suitcases into them one too many times. What do I know though...maybe they were just a little "antiqued". Even though banged up a little, still nice quality.

The bathroom was absolutely incredible, with just about every detail taken into account. Nice, high-end materials were used for everything, from the granite counters to the heated stone / travertine floors. Kohler products galore. Very nice.

Was everything perfect? No. Couple nit picks: other than the glass shower door handle, there wasn't ONE other towel rack. So, you walk into a gorgeous bathroom, just to find a stack of 4-5 towels and hand cloths stacked on the toilet. Just a little odd.

Also, in our room, which featured a nice separate sitting area from the bedroom, the TV was sitting on top of a mini-fridge. Now don't get me wrong, having a little fridge in the room is handy, if you're staying for multiple nights like we did. But from an aesthetic point of view, just a little odd. Here's this big TV sitting on a brown, backyard patio used-looking mini-fridge. No built in cabinet for the fridge. No custom TV shelving on top of the fridge. Just a TV resting on a little metal brown fridge. The point I'm making is, it just seemed out of place, with everything else so nice and well done.

Even with these nit picks, the overall experience was positive. I would definitely stay again, and plan to do so in August, when I'm back up for a wedding that I'm attending.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank reddyrider2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    127
    29
    16
    13
See reviews for
37
236
15
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2006

We stayed recently for one night at the Hotel Elliott and loved it. The hotel is in the heart of town near the Liberty Theater. Our room was on the front of the hotel with a view of the Astoria Column and right above the bustling 12th street Sunday market. We didn't mind the early Sunday noise, but if you want more quiet ask for a room at the back of the hotel, which has views of the town and river. The rooftop deck also affords a great view of the town and river. The hotel rooms have been lovingly restored. Some nice touches in our room were a heated tile bathroom floor, a cedar lined closet and an antique sleigh bed. The staff of the hotel were welcoming, helpful and friendly. Our room was really affordable, as we were in the last weekend of "off season" rates. The price included a continental breakfast. We will definitely stay here again.

Stayed May 2006
Helpful?
3 Thank MPortland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
Level Contributor
32 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2006

Everything was perfect during my stay. The owners have done a great job renovating this fine Inn. From the time I checked in until I left, everything was great. Don't be fooled by the exterior (nothing special).

Their "Wonderful Beds" really were wonderful. The heated tile floors were great when you stepped out of your Jacquzzi. This really felt like a 5-Star hotel. I was very impressed. Once again TA Advisors, YOU ROCK.

After staying there and reading some of the reviews, I cannot believe that someone actually complained about the curtains and the curtain rods. I guess that goes to prove that you cannot please everyone.

If you find yourself in this area, stay here. You will not be disappointed.

P.S. The Wet Dog Cafe has a killer burger and their own brew.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wincherr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed March 16, 2006

I have traveled throughout Oregon for more than 20 years.
My family unanimously agreed the Hotel Elliott is on another level for elegance, joyfulness, and accommodation. Located around the corner from the main street in a newly spirited city, this historically preserved building is beautiful inside and out. The rooms are clean, spacious, comfortable, and tastefully decorated. The "frosting on the elegance cake" contains heated marble bathroom floors, attractive art, a classy wine bar, upscale room service, undescribable views of the Columbia River and Astoria's hills, and a rooftop garden to relax and gaze. The staff helped to make our stay a joyful one. They really care about the Hotel and their work. Finally, all our needs were met, and in some cases, the staff went beyond what we expected. This is the place to be on the Oregon Coast!

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2005

Just returned from a lovely weekend at Hotel Elliott. This is a wonderful boutique hotel in an up and coming town on the Oregon Coast. I can't say enough about the "feel" of this property.
The hotel is set in the center of town and within walking distance of galleries, shops and restaurants. Options for restaurants are not tremendous, but you do not need to look any further than across the street at The Schooner. The food is great, service "low key" friendly and down to earth. The hotel itself has been renovated and retains a strong sense of it's original character. Some original doors, windows, etc., but all the comforts and modern amenities one would expect at the best hotels.
We stayed in a two room river view suite and the comfort was just amazing. The attention to detail is nice, pendleton blankets, aveda bath products, heated bathroom floors, DVD/CD players, fireplace in living room, just overall a wonderful hotel room.
In the rainy weather of winter in Astoria, the Hotel Elliott shines like a beacon.
Oh...I must mention the "wonderful beds". The beds are truly "wonderful". The linen is some of the best I have seen in my travels and in working in hotels for eight years. 440+ thread count sheets. Really nice.
If your travels take you to the Astoria area, don't miss this property. Keep up the great work...

  • Stayed December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank blue5959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2005

Our visit to the Hotel Elliott was wonderful and reminded us of the many small five star hotels we have stayed at around the world. We were warmly welcomed by the staff upon our entrance to the well appointed lovely lobby. As in the old world tradition our bags accompained us to our room, the gas fireplace was lit and the heated bathroom floor was turned on. Wine was offered and we were made to feel as if this was our home. The main room was very well appointed and the bed was out of this world.! The decor from furnishngs to window dressings are designed to provide both beauty and funciton while maintaning the historical ambiance . The room service menu was truly gourmet as were several of the sourounding resturants. The Hotel Elliott is a beautifuly restored hotel which maintains traditional old world charm with modern technology.
Since the hotel is in the center of the resurgence of historic Astoria there are many wonderful little shops, museums and fantastic resturants a few steps away. We also enjoyed walking along the waterfront.
The next time we visit this wonderful little city we will again stay at the Hotel Elliott.
Karen and Bill

  • Stayed November 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank maggielee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed October 4, 2005

Always a bit skeptical about staying in a "historic rehab" hotel, the Elliott is truely amazing! Elegance in the "club suite" is rarely matched in hotels that are twice the price. And the HEATED bathroom floors are quite enjoyable in the morning (5am - even on vacation). The managers - a young husband and wife team - have done an excellent job building their staff - efficient, friendly and helpful. The Sunday street faire in front of the hotel was fun and the town has a charm that is hard to find on the north coast. My girlfriend and I enjoyed the stay so much, we are talking about having our wedding and reception at the hotel.

I highly recommend The Hotel Elliott to anybody looking for fun at the coast and want a comfortable, friendly place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Astoria hotels
1.1 mi away
Cannery Pier Hotel
Cannery Pier Hotel
#1 of 14 in Astoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,171 reviews
0.1 mi away
Commodore Hotel
Commodore Hotel
#8 of 14 in Astoria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Astoria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Astoria
1.5 mi away
Best Western Astoria Bayfront Hotel
1.2 mi away
Astoria Riverwalk Inn
Astoria Riverwalk Inn
#7 of 14 in Astoria
3.5 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Elliott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Elliott

Property: Hotel Elliott
Address: 357 12th St, Astoria, OR 97103-4119
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Astoria
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Astoria
#5 Family Hotel in Astoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Elliott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our historic hotel is located in downtown Astoria and has most of the modern day amenities and all of the old time charm. Features 32 guest rooms and suites-all luxuriously appointed with heated bathroom floors and "Wonderful Beds." Some rooms feature jacuzzi tubs and fireplaces. Stroll out the door to restaurants, museums and the riverwalk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Elliott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elliott Hotel Astoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing