We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Genteel comfort”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Elliott

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Elliott
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Astoria
Certificate of Excellence
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
70 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Genteel comfort”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

One night stay for a business meeting the following day. Not that many stairs to trundle to the third floor. Desk staff was terrific. My room was cozy and comfortable. I love a place that has feather pillows! Nice views from two sides of the room and great water pressure in the shower.

Breakfast was generous and good.

I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gypsygurl1271
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    127
    28
    16
    13
See reviews for
37
235
15
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
ohio
Level Contributor
223 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

My husband and I stayed in the Presidential Suite with our son and his wife for a two night stay. We had a family reunion and wanted something different than the usual chain hotel. We visited Cannon Beach for the day and returned to the Hotel for wine on the rooftop. What an amazing view. The Presidential Suite afforded us the ability to utilize the roof after hours. The gas fireplace kept us warm. The loft second bedroom was a little cramped and warm, but my son and his wife said it was worth it for the room alone. From the website, we thought there was only one bathroom, so we were pleasantly surprised to find two bathrooms, one that is right out of a magazine! Heated floors, what more can you ask for. Charming, and we found the room spotless. The breakfast is a step above the usual continental fare. Several restaurants within walking distance and we loved the Sunday Morning Farmers Market even though it made parking a little inconvenient on Saturday nite.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank soccerdeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
84 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

We had a lovely one night stay in Astoria. This is a charming older hotel. The rooms are average sized and charmingly decorated. The bathrooms are absolutely spotless. While breakfast is simple, we had plenty of fresh fruit, oatmeal, cereals, and yogurt to choose from and the tables were quickly cleaned between guest use. The staff was cheerful and gave us an outstanding restaurant recommendation. It is right in the middle of a charmingly renovated section of downtown - a nice walking area. However, watch out for that elevator! Quite a classic...but one person got stuck. I must say the fire department had him out in minutes and everyone remained in good humor! All in all, a delightful stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pippin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager1313, General Manager at Hotel Elliott, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with!
Although we are a historic hotel, our elevator is up to date and rarely malfunctions. It was good to hear that our local rescue team arrived swiftly.
They are just another great thing about our town.
We hope to see you again soon and thanks again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Level Contributor
38 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

From the moment we checked in, we were extremely impressed with every aspect of the Hotel Elliott. It's beautiful architecture, rich historical significance, impeccable service, well appointed rooms and EXCELLENT location! Even breakfast was a treat with delicious breads, gourmet oatmeal cups, fresh fruit and hot entrees (eggs, sausage.) We will stay here every time we visit Astoria.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank lbarboza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

Now I know why this hotel fell from the number one spot. The cleanliness of the room was sub-standard. Next time I go to Astoria I will choose another hotel. The room was not vacuumed every day; the coffee pot was not cleaned and was, in fact, dirty the day I arrived and after I shared this information with the front desk, the next day the coffee pot was still not cleaned; who knows how long the liquid was in the pot? Management did not fill my expectations when I addressed my issues. The location is ideal if you want to walk to restaurants.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maxigirl2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager1313, General Manager at Hotel Elliott, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
As was stated in the communications to you from our chief operating officer, in your case we realized we failed in some areas and you were inconvenienced.
We only wish you would have given us the opportunity to correct these problems while you were still at the hotel. We would have been happy to clean your coffee pot.
We realize that travelers have many choices and we strive to provide a quality product and high level of guest service to promote our great reputation and continued development of a loyal clientele.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TACOMA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

This sweet little novelty hotel was a pleasant surprise. We were looking for a quiet, clean, comfy room and the Elliott met that need easily. It also provided a quaint step back into a different time. The building has been beautifully restored, and our corner room on the 3rd floor was spacious, clean and beautifully appointed. The bed was comfortable and the heated tile floor in the bathroom was wonderful. All in all a good choice when staying in Astoria. We heartily recommend.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LbCHrC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

I was part of a family group of women who rented the Presidential Suite on the top floor of Hotel Elliot. The suite included a grand piano, gas fireplace, and a spiral staircase leading to an upstairs bedroom with private access to the rooftop deck.

Breakfast was included, buffet style, and included warm food such as an egg scramble (w/bacon and cheese) and ham/biscuits with sauce).

The staff there are local and very nice. They made us feel welcome and provided all the services you expect from a good local hotel. This is a great place if you like to stay away from the big chain hotels.

Beware that during the summer there is a Sunday market directly below and in front of the hotel, so if you hope to sleep in late (eg. past 9am) you might hear the folks setting up down below. I think it's a feature, not a bug, because you are located right in the thick of the fun.

Room Tip: Fifth-level floors might hear the rooftop fans more than other floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wallingfordgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Astoria hotels
1.1 mi away
Cannery Pier Hotel
Cannery Pier Hotel
#1 of 14 in Astoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,156 reviews
0.1 mi away
Commodore Hotel
Commodore Hotel
#7 of 14 in Astoria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Astoria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Astoria
1.5 mi away
Best Western Astoria Bayfront Hotel
1.2 mi away
Astoria Riverwalk Inn
Astoria Riverwalk Inn
#8 of 14 in Astoria
3.5 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Elliott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Elliott

Property: Hotel Elliott
Address: 357 12th St, Astoria, OR 97103-4119
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Astoria
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Astoria
#5 Family Hotel in Astoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Elliott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our historic hotel is located in downtown Astoria and has most of the modern day amenities and all of the old time charm. Features 32 guest rooms and suites-all luxuriously appointed with heated bathroom floors and "Wonderful Beds." Some rooms feature jacuzzi tubs and fireplaces. Stroll out the door to restaurants, museums and the riverwalk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Elliott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elliott Hotel Astoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing