We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than we'd anticipated”
Review of Hotel Elliott

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Elliott
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Astoria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 24, 2012

This is a historic building that has been refurbed. The room we had was small with very little storage space and a view of a car park. The bathroon was miniscule but fine. Liked the Aveda products.We found the room to be very warm at all times and the ceiling fan very noisy.

Breakfast was included in our room rate. The hot meals were not inviting but the cold buffet was OK.

The staff were very helpful. They are trying so hard.

Loved the fact that they have a (very small) gym in the basement. I even tried it out!

Room Tip: Pay a bit more for a larger room.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Christa England H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (398)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Elliott
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

235 - 241 of 398 reviews

Reviewed September 23, 2012

We stayed here one night, Sept 20, at the beginning of our trip. What a great boutique hotel. Nicely appointed rooms and very friendly, helpful staff. I love hotels that provide bath robes (not a big thing for most people) and the Elliot does. Very nice bathroom and super comfy bed. We would defineately recommend the Elliot if you are going to Astoria.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VictoriaWineLovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

The Hotel Elliott was built in 1924. Before you say "Ewwww, too old," it was completely renovated in the early 2000. We chose it to avoid the bridge noise but an added advantage was that it was right in the heart of downtown. We were able to walk just a few blocks to the restaurants we wanted to try and lots of boutique shops. Our room, a King Deluxe, was a tad small and I could have used more counter space in the bathroom, but it had all the amenities of a very modern hostelry plus heated tiles in the bathroom floor (a brilliant idea). There were terry cloth robes in the cedar-lined closet and the bed was super-comfy with goose-down pillows and duvet covers. Did I mention the hot, hot water? Great service. Would absolutely stay here again.

Room Tip: We were on the 4th floor and not bothered by street noise or adjoining rooms.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beachgal003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

The hotel was as seen online, nice standard and quality. Our room was nice and clean, no view, but not a problem when staying one night. Loved the bathroom amenities from Aveda - nice touch. The bathroom was updated as was the room. The breakfast was a motel buffet, unfortunately, but you could grab some fresh fruit and coffee to go. The hotel doesn't have parking, but you can park on the street or at a parking lot just around the corner. We arrived on a Sunday so our parking was free until noon next day.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tamara V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Arrived just prior to check in time and was given our room right away. Went upstairs and tested the magnificent beds, it was exactly as described. The amenities were very nice. We faced the street and tested the noise level. It was friday night. I was awoken twice, once by some young ppl walking and talking and then by a streetsweeper or garbage truck. Was not different than being at home. I say that the noise level was acceptable as I am a light sleeper.
Shower was very accomodating for two ppl, heated floor which was a surprise.
In the morning, we went down late for a brekkie which was above normal fare. I really enjoyed the bisquits and sausage gravy.
So, we have the staff, very courteous and helpful, Cleanliness- excellent, location- central to many things, Food- good and lots of it. Wine bar, a bit of a nose blower but enjoyed a couple of glasses of local red wines.
Price? Well there are cheaper places around but this place exudes a touch of the past that says class. I believe the price was well reflective of the services provided.
Would I stay here again? Already did, we returned to stay another night on sunday, it was just as enjoyable as the first night.
Bravo to the owners and staff for keeping up appearances.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 3rd floor , room 305, queen , AC and good view of the port. 2nd night, room 403, q...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MisterEd-69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Two nights in a king room on the third floor. The room was small compared to other properties, and the king bed, desk/chair and armoire (with flat-screen TV sitting on top, not in it) filled the room, which looked over roofs toward the Astoric Bridge. Lots of bucks spent in the public areas reflect the owners' desire to bring this place back. The rooms are also well-refurbished; the details such as crown molding and heated (!) bathroom floor show their attention. The hotel is right on 12th Street in Astoria; within walking distance of restaurants, the river, the trolley that takes you to the Maritime Museum,and with easy on-street parking.

The continental breakfast in the wine bar area was very well-done. Classy offerings, and in a classy location.

One caveat; avoid trying to get to the rooftop deck if you have any mobility issues. The stairs are steep, with narrow treads and high railings. And the deck itself has suffered from its exposure to the weather. Deck boards have racked/warped, the glass walls were dirty, the gas fireplace had no instructions & seemed tenuous. The deck needs to be updated or at least cleaned/painted next Spring.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank westlakeroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager1313, General Manager at Hotel Elliott, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2012

We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience at our hotel.
We have worked very hard to improve the facility and our owner has been extremely supportive in making our hotel a great experience for all of our guests.
We will continue to make improvements and comments like yours are invaluable to helping us prioritize our list of plans and goals.
Thanks again for your review and we look forward to seeing you again on your next trip out West!

Best Regards

John C. Nelson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I rented the junior suite. The room had great ammenities including
A kureig coffee maker and spacious jetted tub. The continental breAkfast had a wide variety of healthy and delicious choices. There was even a viewing loft with a fireplace above the hotel. The loCation was right in downtown and walking distance for all kinds of activities. We were very please with our stay!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashlobennett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Astoria hotels
1.1 mi away
Cannery Pier Hotel
Cannery Pier Hotel
#1 of 14 in Astoria
1,232 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Astoria
1.2 mi away
Astoria Riverwalk Inn
Astoria Riverwalk Inn
#6 of 14 in Astoria
747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Astoria
1.5 mi away
Best Western Astoria Bayfront Hotel
1.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Columbia River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Elliott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Elliott

Address: 357 12th St, Astoria, OR 97103-4119
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Astoria
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Astoria
#5 Family Hotel in Astoria
Price Range: $128 - $198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Elliott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our historic hotel is located in downtown Astoria and has most of the modern day amenities and all of the old time charm. Features 32 guest rooms and suites-all luxuriously appointed with heated bathroom floors and "Wonderful Beds." Some rooms feature jacuzzi tubs and fireplaces. Stroll out the door to restaurants, museums and the riverwalk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Elliott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elliott Hotel Astoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing