We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't be deterred by the looks of the motel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Astoria Riverwalk Inn
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Astoria
St. Albert, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Don't be deterred by the looks of the motel!”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Really nice motel for the price. There are 3 hotels in the same area that are a lot more money but don't be turned away by the looks or location of the Astoria Riverwalk. It's an older motel, but clean with comfortable beds, great location with views of the marina from every room. There's a free continental breakfast with waffles and hot sausages, free bikes to take out to explore the Riverwalk, and free DVD rentals. They also make cookies and provide free coffee and juice that you can get at anytime. They're trying really hard to compete with the 2 hotel chains that have moved into the area and I think they're doing a great job. Wonderful service.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Renee570
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

711 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    219
    144
    93
    67
See reviews for
173
366
36
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Kelso, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We bought a groupon 2night king room deal, after booking 5 months in advance, we arrive at 1:30 and they say come back in 2 hrs rooms not ready. When we return at 5:00 they tell me there out of king rooms. They put me in a two queen bed room, it smelled like dog, bathroom was grose dirty with hair all over and god knows what on the walls by the tiolet(looked like puke). Breakfast room was full of bridge workers that are staying there for 10 months, no food left, so we went out for breakfast.The package was 2 nights, we only stayed one, we started getting stuffed up from dog smell. When it was Red Lion it was nice with super soft beds w/down comforts and Bath& Body Works products. People bring your own soap and shampoo and room spray if you have to stay there.

Room Tip: Stay at another Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DrewL641
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Astoria hotels

cottage grove, oregon
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Staying in an older facility is not usually an issue for us and we can overlook chipped paint and worn furnishings as long as the room is clean and we sleep well. However there was a horrible chemical cleaning smell that would not go away despite having the balcony sliding doors open at all times when we were in the room. The balcony railing was very loose, which was a safety concern. Because we overheard that the hotel was fully booked, the ability to change rooms was not possible.
That said, there were several positives. The room was clean and the bed was great. Beautiful view of the marina, friendly staff and fresh baked cookies always available was a nice perk. Hopefully the new owners will be able to continue to update this hotel as it's in a great location.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cstclair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

I, too, had a Groupon which brought me to this Inn. Overall, I'd return, recognizing that the place has limitations. Two fantastic things: amazing staff. Truly amazing. Lovely views.

Clearly, renovations are in process. It looks like the owners and their friends are doing the painting rather than hiring professionals. Some of the color choices are rather too bright. Breakfast OK, coffee dismal. But don't expect better at the kiosk a block away. There's a Starbucks a few miles east.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nancyvictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

This hotel is older and in the process of being upgraded but the staff are friendly and the room was clean and adequate. Each room has a balcony (albeit older) which overlooks the marina and the River. Fun to watch the comings and goings of boats, and nice to relax on the balcony and enjoy a glass of wine. The staff were friendly and made suggestions for dinner. The breakfast was a simple continental style but adequate. We would recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

The location and the views were great. Right on the marina with balconies overlooking the river in every room. The staff was friendly and tried to accommodate the guests. The owners are in the process of updating the rooms with varying success. We arrived at 3 pm on a Saturday but none of our 3 rooms were ready. Check in is supposed to be 4 pm but we couldn't get in till after 5. The hotel was pretty full and the housekeeping staff was overwhelmed. They have added free wifi in the rooms in addition to the listed wifi in the lobby and there were free chocolate chip cookies at the desk. They also had a free wine & snack reception on Saturday evening. The continental breakfast was more than adequate but the dining area was way too small for the 85 rooms when the motel is crowded. On Sunday, the rooms weren't cleaned until after 4 pm and the service was perfunctory. Clean towels & the trash was emptied but not much more. The price is very reasonable and I hope that the renovations get done soon. And that they add to the housekeeping staff to keep up.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Big mattress high off the floor. But sheets are deep enough to fit and stay on.
Night tables are too short for high beds. Lamps need to be raised up to read in bed.
Small pillows. And only 3 in king. Asked for another. And got one (lucky according to the very pleasant front desk employee).
Alarm went off at 3:45. Maid service needs to add this to check list: turn off clock alarms)

Deck chairs were clean -expected salt and spooge but maid service took care of that before we arrived.
Bathroom fans are rattly. Sink faucet drips.
Microwave across from the bed and its click light shines in my face.
Toiletries are low end. Shower is good pressure and volume. In room coffee is marginal.

Breakfast buffet is okay. Kids will love the waffles. Only protein is sausage.
Very attentive and pleasant staff. That makes up for the misses.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sleeperpage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Astoria hotels
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Astoria
0.4 mi away
Best Western Astoria Bayfront Hotel
2.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Columbia River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Cannery Pier Hotel
Cannery Pier Hotel
#1 of 14 in Astoria
1,217 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Astoria
3.8 mi away
Astoria Crest Motel
Astoria Crest Motel
#6 of 14 in Astoria
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astoria Riverwalk Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astoria Riverwalk Inn

Property: Astoria Riverwalk Inn
Address: 400 Industry St, Astoria, OR 97103-6308
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Astoria
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Astoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Astoria Riverwalk Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally opened as the Red Lion – Thunderbird Motor Inn and later simply as the Red Lion, the Astoria Riverwalk Inn was the town’s first waterfront hotel, established in the late 1960s. The Port of Astoria owns the facility, and in September 2015 contracted with new local ownership to assume and improve the Riverwalk Inn operations. The new ownership group is comprised of seasoned business management professionals with significant experience in commercial property development and hospitality, including the development and initial launch of the award-winning Hotel Elliott in downtown Astoria. With a new operating team in place since September 2015, literally everything is new at the Astoria Riverwalk Inn. From the luxurious Egyptian cotton sheets, redesigned dining area and lobby adorned with local, original artwork; the addition of a continental breakfast; extensive landscaping and general updates throughout (including lots of fresh paint!), guests will gain a sense of renewed care and attention to detail. Other complimentary amenities include a business center just off the lobby, upgraded high-speed Wi-Fi, a DVD library and “Beach Cruiser” bikes for exploring Astoria’s acclaimed four-mile long Riverwalk. We think you’ll find changes to the Astoria Riverwalk Inn create an inviting atmosphere for a restful stay on the waterfront. We hope to see you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your Astoria Riverwalk Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing