We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good service, stuffy room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Astoria Riverwalk Inn
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Astoria
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We stayed one night at the Riverwalk Inn on August 4th. It took 30 minutes for me to wait to check in, but I think that was mainly due to the hot weather so everyone was looking for a room. As every other reviewer has stated, you could not open the balcony window. The night we stayed, I believe it reached 91 degrees that day... which made for a very stuffy room, with no AC and no door to open. I found the staff to be very friendly and helpful and thought the somewhat tired facilities were clean. The breakfast bar was stocked and clean. Our room had a view of the marina and it was fun for the kids to watch the boats.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
Thank Brandi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BradSmithart, Manager at Astoria Riverwalk Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to give a review. All feedback from our guests is appreciated.

We apologize for the stuffiness of your room when you were here. As of today, we have opened forty-two balconies, so guests will be able to enjoy the cool coastal breeze.. By the end of next week we anticipate having approximately seventeen more opened.

Again, thank you for your comments. We look forward to having you return and try one of our family suites, a kid-friendly and cozy environment for the kids to enjoy.

Sincerely,

Brad Smithart
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (763)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

732 - 738 of 763 reviews

Reviewed August 17, 2012

Our first response upon seeing the room was to wonder why we weren't staying at Holiday Inn Express. As noted by other reviewers, the property is sadly in need of a major facelift both outside and in. We had to sign a waiver agreeing to a $200 fine if we opened the door to the balcony, and when we entered the room we got the instant horrors. One of the armchairs had a big tear in it, the fake wood furniture was pretty beat up and the bedspreads were worn at the seams. We had requested a micro/fridge, but due to non-communication between their web booking and the front desk, our request had not been honored. Well.

They delivered a brand new microwave and mini-fridge within an hour of our arrival. It turned out the beds were brand new pillow tops, and the bathroom had been recently re-done and the entire room was spotlessly clean. The reading light was pretty good, the room was spacious and the view was outstanding. The location on the bike route was just perfect and we had a wonderful time. We've learned long ago not to panic over the first impression of a place.

We were still feeling a little bit "had" about paying $150+/night until we checked rates for other Astoria Hotels. Turns out it was quite a deal.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Opera_lover054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

We were planning a trip along the Oregon coast and wanted to finish our trip in Astoria, I saw a Groupon for this hotel for $65.00 and thought that was a great deal as it was advertised as fifty percent off. I now am reminded what the adage, "you get what you pay for," means! For nine nights of our trip, we stayed at a different hotel each night and this was by far, the "bottom of the barrel!" When we checked in, we had to sign an agreement that we wouldn't try to open the sliding glass door in the room that led to the balcony because, as the desk clerk explained, "The flooring on the patio isn't safe and may collapse if you go onto it!" We couldn't have opened it if we even wanted a little fresh air- it was bolted shut! The room was bare bones- bathroom tiles were mustard yellow, from a long time ago! The TV in the room was from the early nineties and did not have good reception. The furniture was not in great shape. To sum it up, the room and decor was "tired." A "breakfast" was included. The breakfast area was dirty; there was cereal on the floor and the trash can in the corner was over-flowing. There were three tables, all taken, so we had to wait for a table to sit down. When we finally did sit, the tables were soiled and there was nothing available to wipe the table off. They were out of paper plates. No employee was monitoring the room, and it showed. I'm glad I only paid $65.00 (which was still probably too much) and would have been extremely upset if I paid a dollar more!

Room Tip: Don't stay here if you want a good room!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rosemary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012

We really didn't have any thoughts ahead of time about Riverwalk, it was just the only place in town with rooms still available on a hot Saturday in July. No groupon motivation, and I still thought the price was totally reasonable for high season. We are the kind of folks who really value a beautiful outside view when we're inside a room, so the lack of appealing wallpaper and art on the walls didn't even figure after we got in and looked out at the harbor. (And I'm picky, art director by trade, but the white walls didn't oppress me here). Amazing setting, REALLY motivated owners (you can just tell when you talk to them they are not employees of some distant corp) means that I believe this place will be great someday. When the balconies are repaired for sure, when there's some individuality to the decor of the rooms, but the basic structure for a unique great place to stay is in place. I wish them the best of luck and expect great things in the future (however, that will mean it will be more expensive, so there's the tradeoff, right?). Nothing sad about it... just people working really hard to please. Our room was very clean and they let us check out late. What's not to love? Also, for such a full hotel it was amazingly quiet. Not sure why....

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012

This past July, I stayed at the Inn with my wife using a Groupon special. I'm sorry to say that there's less here than advertised on their website. The room was well used and tired looking, with worn furniture and in need of an upgrade, which I understand is in the works. It had a great view and was located conveniently close to restaurants and the Astoria riverwalk. I too had to sign a statement promising not to go onto the balcony or even open the door to it upon pain of expulsion. Problem was the small window available for ventilation wasn't enough to cool down a warm room. There wasn't an air conditioning unit to ventilate. When I called the desk clerk to ask about opening the sliding door, she said that we should open our room door instead. Not a very secure way to ventilate a room. The breakfast room was tiny for the size of the Inn with minimal breakfast fixings.
The second floor walkway was blocked with plywood to prevent access, presumably because of structural problems. The concrete walkways were well cracked in many places. On the plus side, the room was clean. It did not have the usual microwave and mini-fridge that one would expect of a place of this type. The Wi-Fi signal was weak to non-existent. The only reason I didn't give just one star to the Inn is because the Inn's employees were helpful and when I mentioned our dissatisfaction to the desk clerk during checkout, the manager offered a very discounted one-night stay in the future, sometime after October or November when planned renovations were completed. This Inn compares unfavorably with other hotels located in the vicinity that I have stayed in.

Room Tip: If booking a room on the second floor, try to get one close to the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PDX_Nomad2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

This is a sad hotel that could be great. We had to sign that we would not open the patio door due to safety issues. If we opened the patio, we could be fined $200. I was afraid to put my bare foot in the shower because of the mold and mildew. The breakfast area was filthy. The floor was filthy and needed mopping desperately.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rita P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

The staff is friendly and the room is clean. This was an old Red Lion and obviously they did not replace any of the old furniture or make any updates. The furniture was worn. The bed was soft and uncomfortable. We both had backaches the next day. No remote for the TV and the TV is at least 10-15 years old. Asked for a remote and was told "we will have to find one" and never heard back. The breakfast is just cold cereal, oatmeal in a pouch and waffles you make yourself. And there was a total of 2 towels, 2 washcloth and a hand towel in the room. Balcony is closed till Summer 2013 but it did have a nice view of the marina, however the windows were dirty. We paid $65 on Groupon and I would seriously been upset if we had paid the full price.

Room Tip: I would pick another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ellen0811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Astoria hotels
0.4 mi away
Best Western Astoria Bayfront Hotel
2.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Columbia River
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Astoria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Astoria
0.2 mi away
Cannery Pier Hotel
Cannery Pier Hotel
#1 of 14 in Astoria
1,257 reviews
1.2 mi away
Commodore Hotel
Commodore Hotel
#8 of 14 in Astoria
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astoria Riverwalk Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astoria Riverwalk Inn

Address: 400 Industry St, Astoria, OR 97103-6308
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Astoria
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Astoria
Price Range: $101 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Astoria Riverwalk Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally opened as the Red Lion – Thunderbird Motor Inn and later simply as the Red Lion, the Astoria Riverwalk Inn was the town’s first waterfront hotel, established in the late 1960s. The Port of Astoria owns the facility, and in September 2015 contracted with new local ownership to assume and improve the Riverwalk Inn operations. The new ownership group is comprised of seasoned business management professionals with significant experience in commercial property development and hospitality, including the development and initial launch of the award-winning Hotel Elliott in downtown Astoria. With a new operating team in place since September 2015, literally everything is new at the Astoria Riverwalk Inn. From the luxurious cotton sheets, redesigned dining area and lobby adorned with local, original artwork; the addition of a continental breakfast; extensive landscaping and general updates throughout (including lots of fresh paint!), guests will gain a sense of renewed care and attention to detail. Other complimentary amenities include a business center just off the lobby, upgraded high-speed Wi-Fi, a DVD library and “Beach Cruiser” bikes for exploring Astoria’s acclaimed four-mile long Riverwalk. We think you’ll find changes to the Astoria Riverwalk Inn create an inviting atmosphere for a restful stay on the waterfront. We hope to see you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Groupon, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Astoria Riverwalk Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing