We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the nicer Best Westerns.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Astoria Bayfront Hotel
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Astoria
Certificate of Excellence
Dixon, California
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“One of the nicer Best Westerns.”
Reviewed April 5, 2012

Days 3&4 of the Pacific Northwest tour.
While the view from our "river view" room left a bit to be desired the hotel itself was quite nice.
The room was recently refurbished, complete with nice beds, cushy carpet, and granite sink & shower.
What really set this motel apart though was the excellent service. Every person we came in contact with was friendly and helpful. Our housekeeper gave us perfect service ( we stayed two nights because the entire family came down with a nasty cold ), the front desk staff was über helpful even helping us check road conditions, and Keri our breakfast attendant was working some miracles with the powdered eggs that they serve as part of breakfast. If you are looking for a place to stay in the Astoria area I definately recommend !

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mutantchicken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWAstoriaGM_11, General Manager at Best Western Astoria Bayfront Hotel, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Dear mutantchicken,

Thank you for staying with us back in 2012. I apologize this response to your great post is so delayed. I am the new General Manager for the Best Western in Astoria and I wanted to let you know that we are even better than when you stayed with us last. With a new exterior and interior renovation we have re-imaged and are looking forward to improving even further.

I want to invite you to stay with us again on your next trip to Astoria, Oregon.

-Brandon Kraft
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

831 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    369
    279
    123
    40
    20
See reviews for
257
381
29
79
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Shoreline
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2012

The beautifully redecorated hotel is not much to look at from the outside, and the property on one adjacent side is "industrial". But the view of the river is incredible from the 3rd and 4th floors, and there is a short paved walkway along the waterfront next to the hotel to enjoy at sunset. They spared no expense in remodeling rooms with granite counters, tile floors, and slate decorating the hallway walls. Bed linens and towels are luxuriously soft and comfy, the 2 Queen room (340) was extra spacious, and the "kitchenette" had a good size refrigerator, microwave, coffeemaker, sink, and drawers for food storage. Breakfast was substantial with scrambled eggs, sausages, and Malted Belgium waffles! Keli, the breakfast host, worked hard to keep everything stocked, clean, and yummy (she is responsible for carefully layering the eggs with cheese!) Then there are the fresh-baked cookies every afternoon, the maintenance man who immediately took care of our noisy air conditioner, and the pool and spa that were in perfect shape. Part of our family booked the King Bed Room 344, and it has views in TWO directions, River and Bay views!! That room is popular so book early! Or get the King Suite one floor up so you don't have to hear the stomping foot-steps above -- that was our only complaint, really. Not well insulated between floors,unfortunately., so try to get them to book you under an empty room. We asked , but this did not happen for us. Otherwise, the hotel has very attentive staff and everything was spotless.

Room Tip: Corner Room 344 has 2 windows and 2 view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marilee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWAstoriaGM_11, General Manager at Best Western Astoria Bayfront Hotel, responded to this review, March 28, 2012
Thank you so much! What a great review. It's so nice to get recognition for all the hard work that goes into a property on a daily basis. Please come back soon. We always love to have return guests here!

Sincerely,
Sandie Cindrich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washougal, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2012

This is our first stay here as we were heading up the coast to go home. We had excellent service and a wonderful room. Since we are boaters, looking out at the Bay and the boat yard was great. A storm was rolling in and it was exciting to watch the rain and listen to the wind.Breakfast was wonderful with a great selection of food. We will definately stay again.We have stayed at a lot of Best Western's on the way to Mexico and back and it is definately the best bang for the buck.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Janice M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWAstoriaGM_11, General Manager at Best Western Astoria Bayfront Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind words. It makes the staff so appreciative when our guests take the time out of their busy lives to comment on a job well done! When you do it makes all of the hard work that goes into running and maintaining a property well worth it. Please come back and see us again.

Sandie Cindrich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2012

Me and my wife fully enjoy the jacuzzi room every year.The staff are wonderfull and the rooms are allways clean,and the price is rite.They are allways upgrading to make are stay even better.I cant wait till next year.
Thank You Best Western

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jason B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWAstoriaGM_11, General Manager at Best Western Astoria Bayfront Hotel, responded to this review, March 12, 2012
Thank you very much for your wonderful review!! I have to agree that the jacuzzi rooms are fabulous! We look forward to seeing you both next year!

Sandie Cindrich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver, bc
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2012

My stay here makes me think of that katy perry song " your hot and your cold, your yes and your no....." I was impressed with the lobby and the decor of the hotel. Our room was kinda small, but clean and new. The staff was friendly but almost seemed really weird, tooo friendly to me, like I was in a creepy movie. How is it everytime I come out of my room, someone is out in the hall "wiping down" the ice machine or "dusting" the elevator door or just straight up walking into my room at 9am. And in my two night stay here, our room keys were deactivated several times. Everytime I went to the front desk, they would ask me who was paying for the room (which was my husbands employer, he was working in Astoria and we came to visit) anyway, I felt like they were spying on me. (by the way, his company is 100% cool with family staying) Then the pool. It looked so nice but was so cold. Even the pool room was the same temperature as the hallways, which isnt very warm in the middle of winter. The pool being too cold to swim in, we opted for the hot tub which was incredibly hot, like Im buring up feeling faint after two minutes kind of hot.I cant say I was very impressed with the breakfast either, and Im not a picky person, but the eggs tasted like sea water and the sausage was pretty funky, suffice to say, we only did the breakfast once. I cant really give this hotel a bad rating, because it wasnt bad, it just wasnt too good either. Its a shame because it really does look nice, nicer than most best westerns, and my bed was comfy, maybe they just need to work out a few kinks.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Wine O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La WAnda J, General Manager at Best Western Astoria Bayfront Hotel, responded to this review, February 16, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I have had the maintenance dept. check the pool and spa temperatures per your input. I was a little surprised to hear your comment that the staff was "too friendly" and that the housekeepers were always there cleaning. We take great pride in the cleanliness of the property and the fact that the desk is friendly and accomodating is another reason so many guests come here time and time again. I would hope that you will try our hotel again. Astoria is a great place to see in the summer months.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manzanita, Oregon
Level Contributor
104 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2012

We decided to stay here instead of comfort inn, because the pool seemed bigger in the pictures and the rooms looked nicer and newly renovated. When we came here we didn't get what we thought we would. The bed was small and hard, as well as the size of the room was small and a bit old. We had a view of a boat lot and all we could hear was a bouy going up and down. The hotel was located in a weird spot, which made it a bit difficult to figure out where it was exactly. The breakfast wasn't amazing either. The only good thing was the fitness center, hot tub and sauna. The value for what you get and the time of year it is, it could of been priced better. I can't imagine paying more for this place.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisaungie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWAstoriaGM_11, General Manager at Best Western Astoria Bayfront Hotel, responded to this review, March 12, 2012
Thank you for your response. It would seem that you were not in one of the remodeled rooms. I am sorry that you did not to experience what this hotel has to offer to the fullest extent. We are currently remodeling what was left of our older rooms.

I hope that you would try us again in the future. I can't do anything about our neighbors, but I can see to it that you have a new room next time.

Thank you again for your valuable input.

Sincerely,
Sandie Cindrich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level Contributor
145 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2011

We arrived in the late afternoon and were driving directly into the setting sun and we missed this hotel. You can see it from the main road but you have to turn off and then drive down an alley to get to it. Look for the car wash on the corner; turn there and then turn left down an alley past some self storage units with U Hauls out front of them.

We were upgraded to a newer room with a comfortable king bed but it appears that the remodel is not finished. The microwave is quite old and the bar fridge did not fit into the console so the console door did not close completely. Other than this, the room is reasonably attractive with tile flooring and new carpet. There was lots or room to sit and read or work at the computer desk; however the wifi signal was slow at times.

Breakfast included sausage and eggs, hot and cold cereals, yogurt, juices, tea and coffee and hot chocolate etc, waffles. You should be able to find something to eat-but there was no fruit if that is important to you.

Overall, this was a clean, comfortable and quiet hotel. We would stay again.

Room Tip: ask for a remodeled room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MesaMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWAstoriaGM_11, General Manager at Best Western Astoria Bayfront Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2011
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review for our property. You are correct about our remodel. We are in the process of remodeling our whole hotel. Our tower is complete, leaving our standard rooms needing to be finished. We are actually replacing our beds this week with higher pillow tops. Which raises them additional 18 inches off the floor. They really do make for an every enjoyable rest. With our breakfast we are always striving to have a fun, healthy array of selections. We normally have bananas as our fruit selections but recently have added some granny smith apples too. Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you in the future.

-Brad Smithart General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Astoria hotels
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Astoria
3.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Astoria
2.7 mi away
Comfort Suites Columbia River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Astoria Riverwalk Inn
Astoria Riverwalk Inn
#7 of 14 in Astoria
679 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cannery Pier Hotel
Cannery Pier Hotel
#1 of 14 in Astoria
1,194 reviews
1.6 mi away
Commodore Hotel
Commodore Hotel
#8 of 14 in Astoria
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Astoria Bayfront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Astoria Bayfront Hotel

Property: Best Western Astoria Bayfront Hotel
Address: 555 Hamburg Avenue, Astoria, OR 97103-5939 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Lincoln Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Astoria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Astoria
#4 Business Hotel in Astoria
#5 Romantic Hotel in Astoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Astoria Bayfront Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Best Western® Astoria Bayfront Hotel! Astoria, OR hotels are nestled in a charming coastal town, where beloved films like Goonies and Kindergarten Cop were filmed and still draw fans to this day. Your Best Western® Astoria Bayfront Hotel features easy access to the beach including the famous sights like Haystack Rock. However, it’s the Crab, Seafood & Wine Festival that really draws a crowd, but you don’t need to wait for this annual event to indulge. Enjoy the freshest seafood and most delectable vino along the coast year-round. Hotels in Astoria, OR cater to travelers interested in a diverse range of entertainment from wine tasting to wind surfing. Convenient amenities, like the pool open 24-hours, make this Astoria hotel really stand out. Take advantage of upgraded Wi-Fi to stay well-connected whether traveling for business or pleasure. A clean hotel and friendly staff is the foundation for a memorable stay. This property is close to the most exciting attractions in town such as the Maritime Museum. The Astoria Column is a must-see, and of course the Goonies House can’t be missed. Some lucky travelers stay at this Astoria hotel on business but find plenty of opportunities to play in between meetings at Kroger or events at Longshoremen. While the Crab Festival remains a town favorite, this is also the end destination of Hood to Coast, the epic run or walk from Mount Hood to the Oregon coast. Held late in the summer, the grand finale is a massive beach party that welcomes all whether you came from the mountain or not. A fantastic hotel is all about location, but hospitality, spacious rooms and those comforts of home are important, too. Guests have it all at this hotel situated in what’s arguably the loveliest coastal town in the state. Book your room at the Best Western® Astoria Bayfront Hotel where life really is a beach! Enjoy your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Best Western, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Astoria Bayfront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Lincoln Hotel Astoria
Best Western Astoria
Astoria Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing