We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go to comfort inn”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Astoria Bayfront Hotel
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Astoria
Certificate of Excellence
Manzanita, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Go to comfort inn”
Reviewed January 25, 2012

We decided to stay here instead of comfort inn, because the pool seemed bigger in the pictures and the rooms looked nicer and newly renovated. When we came here we didn't get what we thought we would. The bed was small and hard, as well as the size of the room was small and a bit old. We had a view of a boat lot and all we could hear was a bouy going up and down. The hotel was located in a weird spot, which made it a bit difficult to figure out where it was exactly. The breakfast wasn't amazing either. The only good thing was the fitness center, hot tub and sauna. The value for what you get and the time of year it is, it could of been priced better. I can't imagine paying more for this place.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisaungie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWAstoriaGM_11, General Manager at Best Western Astoria Bayfront Hotel, responded to this review, March 12, 2012
Thank you for your response. It would seem that you were not in one of the remodeled rooms. I am sorry that you did not to experience what this hotel has to offer to the fullest extent. We are currently remodeling what was left of our older rooms.

I hope that you would try us again in the future. I can't do anything about our neighbors, but I can see to it that you have a new room next time.

Thank you again for your valuable input.

Sincerely,
Sandie Cindrich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

886 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    398
    294
    133
    41
    20
See reviews for
281
403
32
84
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2011

We arrived in the late afternoon and were driving directly into the setting sun and we missed this hotel. You can see it from the main road but you have to turn off and then drive down an alley to get to it. Look for the car wash on the corner; turn there and then turn left down an alley past some self storage units with U Hauls out front of them.

We were upgraded to a newer room with a comfortable king bed but it appears that the remodel is not finished. The microwave is quite old and the bar fridge did not fit into the console so the console door did not close completely. Other than this, the room is reasonably attractive with tile flooring and new carpet. There was lots or room to sit and read or work at the computer desk; however the wifi signal was slow at times.

Breakfast included sausage and eggs, hot and cold cereals, yogurt, juices, tea and coffee and hot chocolate etc, waffles. You should be able to find something to eat-but there was no fruit if that is important to you.

Overall, this was a clean, comfortable and quiet hotel. We would stay again.

Room Tip: ask for a remodeled room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MesaMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWAstoriaGM_11, General Manager at Best Western Astoria Bayfront Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2011
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review for our property. You are correct about our remodel. We are in the process of remodeling our whole hotel. Our tower is complete, leaving our standard rooms needing to be finished. We are actually replacing our beds this week with higher pillow tops. Which raises them additional 18 inches off the floor. They really do make for an every enjoyable rest. With our breakfast we are always striving to have a fun, healthy array of selections. We normally have bananas as our fruit selections but recently have added some granny smith apples too. Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you in the future.

-Brad Smithart General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2011

We traveled here at the beginning of the off-season, and when we arrived we were upgraded to a nicer room for free. Our room was spacious and comfortable with a fire place, hot tub, fridge, and microwave. They have a decent continental breakfast, and the front desk was very friendly and helpful. Easy stop on our way up the coast to Olympic National Park.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HHawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWAstoriaGM_11, General Manager at Best Western Astoria Bayfront Hotel, responded to this review, March 14, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind words about our property. It is so important that we as employees get feedback from out guests. On your next trip through the area, please let us know and we would be happy to get you booked back in.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2011

This is our favorite hotel in Astoria! Always fantastic service, clean rooms and feels right at home. Our doggy is welcome, and they even give a little treat for him when we check in. They have a nice walking area at the front of the building for our Tucker, on the leash of course. Love the 24 hour pool, we get to enjoy swimming and hot tub and sauna anytime we want. Breakfast is way above what you would find at another best western. Ask for the remodeled room and you will be treated to an extra cozy bed! Or the fireplace jacuzzi rooms are a treat too! We will always be back!

Room Tip: 344 and the suite on the 4th floor are well worth the extra $
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Happyfroggy19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWAstoriaGM_11, General Manager at Best Western Astoria Bayfront Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2011
Thank you so much and we are glad you enjoyed your stay. 344 is my favorite room too. We look forward to having you back soon.

Brad Smithart - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calif
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2011

We just pulled into town-no reservation.Traveling with our dog we had to be on the first floor.It never fails, when you have a dog you get the worst and pay more for it.The room itself was really cramped not any room for the dogs bed, no view even though we were on the ocean. I get tired of being treated like a lesser citizen and having to pay more for it.Most people who travel with thier dogs have well behaved and clean dogs. The gal at the front desk should be given a raise-excellent employee.A redeaming factor, the walking path.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spatterlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWAstoriaGM_11, General Manager at Best Western Astoria Bayfront Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2011
I am sorry to hear about your displeasure in your room. We actually allot the ground floor for our furry friends. And it is not uncommon to have those rooms fill up fast. Even with 25 rooms that are pet friendly. We have two sections of pet rooms: our tower and our main wing. Both have different configurations, some offering more space then other for pets. The next time you are traveling thru please do not hesitate to let me know and I will preregister you into my favorite room. Also I’ll show you some great trails for you and your pet to enjoy. Thank you

-Brad Smithart General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

If you are going to stay here ask for the remodeled rooms! Our room was very nice but waling through the filthy halls on the first floor and using the smelly elevator up to our room I was not impressed. We had a bayside view which overlooked a shipping yard. We were on the road for two weeks and this hotel was the most expensive and probably the most unkept of any we stayed.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank weedwakr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWAstoriaGM_11, General Manager at Best Western Astoria Bayfront Hotel, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Dear weedwakr,

Thank you for staying with us back in 2011. I apologize this response to your great post is so delayed. I am the new General Manager for the Best Western in Astoria and I wanted to let you know that we are even better than when you stayed with us last. With a new exterior and FULL interior renovation we have re-imaged and are looking forward to improving even further.

I want to invite you to stay with us again on your next trip to Astoria, Oregon so we can give you a better experience than your last stay.

-Brandon Kraft
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garden City, Ks.
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

This hotel is hard to get to....you can see it from the road, but together with a roundabout, lots of traffic, and access to the hotel being off a less traveled road and through a UHaul parking lot, even the GPS was of no help in finding the road in.

Once there, we were less than impressed with the facility. We arrived about 3pm on a busy memorial day Sunday. Our room was not ready, so we did a sashay thru the town. When we returned a couple of hours later, our room was ready. It was on the first floor, down a long dark narrow hallway. Having just checked out of a great Best Western Plus in Troutdale, Or., I was very disappointed in the size and appointments of the room. The linens were cheap but clean. The tv old style, the sink right inside the doorway, and not in the bathroom...very motel 6. But, after staying there for 2 nights, overall the experience wasn't bad. Beds were comfortable.

The hotel was full for the weekend, and breakfast was very crowded both mornings we were there. The one person staff had a hard time keeping the food stocked, and there was not enough seating for all the people who were trying to eat breakfast. Also, this hotel is not really equipped for a "full house". The breakfast area was too small to accommodate so many people, even on the second morning when there were fewer folks there. Food was adequate if you were willing to wait in line for it and lucky enough to find a table to sit down.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ksdoglady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWAstoriaGM_11, General Manager at Best Western Astoria Bayfront Hotel, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Thank you for staying with us back in 2011. I apologize this response to your great post is so delayed. I am the new General Manager for the Best Western in Astoria and I wanted to let you know that we are even better than when you stayed with us last. With a new exterior and FULL interior renovation we have re-imaged and are looking forward to improving even further.

I want to invite you to stay with us again on your next trip to Astoria, Oregon so we can give you a better experience than your last stay.

-Brandon Kraft
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Astoria hotels
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Astoria
0.4 mi away
Astoria Riverwalk Inn
Astoria Riverwalk Inn
#7 of 14 in Astoria
710 reviews
2.7 mi away
Comfort Suites Columbia River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Astoria
0.6 mi away
Cannery Pier Hotel
Cannery Pier Hotel
#1 of 14 in Astoria
1,217 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Elliott
Hotel Elliott
#5 of 14 in Astoria
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Astoria Bayfront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Astoria Bayfront Hotel

Property: Best Western Astoria Bayfront Hotel
Address: 555 Hamburg Avenue, Astoria, OR 97103-5939 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Lincoln Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Astoria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Astoria
#4 Business Hotel in Astoria
#5 Romantic Hotel in Astoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Astoria Bayfront Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to BEST WESTERN Lincoln Inn! Astoria, OR hotels are nestled in a charming coastal town, where beloved films like Goonies and Kindergarten Cop were filmed and still draw fans to this day. Your BEST WESTERN Lincoln Inn features easy access to the beach including the famous sights like Haystack Rock. However, it’s the Crab, Seafood & Wine Festival that really draws a crowd, but you don’t need to wait for this annual event to indulge. Enjoy the freshest seafood and most delectable vino along the coast year-round. Hotels in Astoria, OR cater to travelers interested in a diverse range of entertainment from wine tasting to wind surfing. Convenient amenities, like the pool open 24-hours, make this Astoria hotel really stand out. Take advantage of upgraded Wi-Fi to stay well-connected whether traveling for business or pleasure. A clean hotel and friendly staff is the foundation for a memorable stay. This property is close to the most exciting attractions in town such as the Maritime Museum. The Astoria Column is a must-see, and of course the Goonies House can’t be missed. Travelers stay at this Astoria hotel and find plenty of opportunities to play at Kroger or events at Longshoremen. While the Crab Festival remains a town favorite, this is also the end destination of Hood to Coast, the epic run or walk from Mount Hood to the Oregon coast. Held late in the summer, the grand finale is a massive beach party that welcomes all whether you came from the mountain or not. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, Best Western, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Astoria Bayfront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Lincoln Hotel Astoria
Best Western Astoria
Astoria Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing