We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great For Kids And History Buffs”

Fort Stevens State Park
Ranked #3 of 44 things to do in Astoria
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Dayton, Washington
Level Contributor
61 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Great For Kids And History Buffs”
Reviewed May 4, 2014

When I was a small child, we used to come every summer; it's a great place to both learn about history and run around pretending. Some of the gun batteries are open and can be explored and climbed on. There is an excellent interpretive center/museum run by the Friends of Fort Stevens. There are simply so many structures here that many are neglected or forgotten and can be easily accessed by a serious explorer. This is the site of the only attack on the mainland U.S. during wartime, and there is some fascinating and important history here.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank LawNerd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

806 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    505
    237
    55
    8
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
54 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Beaches, coastline, shipwreck, all in a historical setting”
Reviewed April 30, 2014

My wife and I spent a few hours at this park, at the mouth of the Columbia River, on our Oregon coast road trip. Although not the most scenic of the Oregon parks, this park has it all: history, beaches, lakes, forest, wetlands, dunes, plus a shipwreck. It is hard to believe that this state park was a defense fort for over 80 years. There is a $5 day use fee at this park.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Pinter17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
72 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Fascinating for the history buffs, fun and educational for the young”
Reviewed April 27, 2014

Fort Stevens is steeped in military history dating back to the Civil War and was the site of a WWII Japanese Submarine attack.
I was in awe of the engineering and complexity of this facility, considering when it was built.
Exploring the various artillery battery rooms, looking through the canon sites, riding in the old truck.

If you like military history then the Tillamook blimp hangar and the vintage aircraft are also a must see. Visit soon as they plan on moving the aircraft collection.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank HappyTravellerCAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Place To Explore”
Reviewed April 22, 2014

My family (including triplet 10 year old boys) spent quite a bit of time walking around on the battlements, underneath, and in the underground parts. We also took the military truck tour and the boys loved that. Would definately visit again.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank the5Adventurers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagle, Idaho
Level Contributor
449 reviews
172 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
“History”
Reviewed April 19, 2014

This is an old Fort sight that is largely empty , but still some gun works in place , it's worth the time to stop if your in the area and enjoy history !

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mike T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fort Stevens State Park also viewed

 

Been to Fort Stevens State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing