We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“always a fun thing”

Fort Stevens State Park
Ranked #6 of 50 things to do in Astoria
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Astoria, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
221 reviews
73 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“always a fun thing”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

we live in Astoria, so we take walks in Fort Stevens frequently. Our grandkids were visiting from San Diego this summer, and they loved it! The Peter Iredale is often quite visible and uncovered at extra low tides. Only negative is that at some times of the year, certain parts of the beach are open for driving. Be sure to check this before planning to bring the kids for some serious sandcastle construction. Not safe!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank oregonoma4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

864 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    532
    260
    58
    12
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Huntington Beach, California
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Like waves and rough water.”
Reviewed November 21, 2013

Spectacular and unspoiled. Lot C has a high viewing tower of the huge swells. We saved an abandoned cat's life in Lot D.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank BobBarnett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Great Campground”
Reviewed November 21, 2013

This is one of the best state parks I have ever been to. Great spaces, awesome showers, lots to do and see and close to Astoria which has good food and amenities.

In the winter the area is very quite. You drive down on the beach for a few miles and see no one.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank mikeepool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astoria oregon
Level 6 Contributor
1,706 reviews
327 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 732 helpful votes
“One of the most beautiful if not the most beautiful state parks in the nation.”
Reviewed November 15, 2013 via mobile

One can experience the only destination on mainland to be bombed by the Japanese during WW11. The bunkers and all the remains of the world wars.
The beach still has minimal remains of the wreck of the Peter Iredale. A French schooner washed ashore and wrecked many years ago.
The Lakes Coffenberry and Crabapple for swimming picnicking, hiking,biking, fishing, canoeing, camping.
Phonomenal!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Journeyman644
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, Massachusetts, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Parks”
Reviewed November 15, 2013

This place is very special to me. When I was little my dad took the family there. He is gone now, but the memories of the good times we had, I will never forget. Every time I'm in Oregon, I always visit this wonderful place.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Janet H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fort Stevens State Park also viewed

 

Been to Fort Stevens State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing