We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great place to see Oregon history in wartime”

Fort Stevens State Park
Ranked #3 of 44 things to do in Astoria
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Redmond, Oregon
Level Contributor
76 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A great place to see Oregon history in wartime”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

This the remains of the military base that closed down after WWII. It is mostly the concrete foundations of the battlements and various buildings of the camp. There is a museum that is very informative. You do have to pay for parking- 5.00 but the pass is good all day at any Oregon state park site that requires a pass.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank msstenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

803 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    501
    237
    56
    8
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
91 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Lots of options at this park”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

We only spent the morning at Fort Stevens State Park but plan on going back to camp and enjoy more of the park. Our first stop was Battery Russell and, further up the dirt road, a secondary site used to help triangulate the position of enemy ships in the water. Battery Russell was built in 1903 by the US Army Corp of Engineers. In 1942, a Japanese sub actually fired missiles at Fort Stevens, making it the first US mainland military base to be fired upon by a foreign power since the War of 1812.

Next up was the beach and the shipwreck of the Peter Iredale. This was a really nice beach with high sand dunes and minimal car traffic (at least in October). The shipwreck wasn't huge but it was really interesting to see something other than just water and waves. You could imagine what it must have looked like when the ship washed ashore.

There are miles of trails in the park and a lake. We would love to go back to camp and take our bikes and kayaks. Everything we saw was really clean and well maintained.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Laurie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cannon Beach, Oregon
Level Contributor
68 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

Fort Stevens State Park is big and really pretty. There are bike and walking paths, a good campground, a lake, beach access (& you can see the wreck of an old ship, the Peter Iredale). There are old World War II batteries, & a nice trail through the woods where I take my dogs to run every now & then.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Beautiful and interesting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

Fantastic historic site/park. Fabulous location. Friendly, knowledgeable staff. Great place to stay/visit.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank maxigirl2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“We love this campground!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

We love Fort Stevens! We went for one week in July of 2012 and two weeks the following year. The Ranger Programs and Junior Ranger programs are great. The sites are nice. The staff is very friendly. We love biking and put on about 10 to 20 kilometres a day on the trails. If you don't have a bike, you might not like the walk to the beach. The only drawback is the mosquitoes.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank van70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fort Stevens State Park also viewed

 

Been to Fort Stevens State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing