We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great new(er) cabins”

Fort Stevens State Park
Ranked #3 of 45 things to do in Astoria
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Kenosha, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
64 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great new(er) cabins”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

We stayed this past weekend (4 adults) in the newer cabins in the K loop. K10 was a great choice backing into the woods, with the BBQ and table out back hemmed in with woods. The cabins for being about 2 years old are weathering beautifully with the traffic they see (must be great upkeep). The Fridge is good sized, the microwave was clean, sink and restroom very clean and water was hot. Very accessible ramp up to our unit made loading in easy from the truck.

Very nice option for the NW if you don't have a camper, and are not fond of tent camping in the rain. We had a blast. The Futon was functional, the bed fit 2 others comfortably well and was a hard mattress.

This park is our favorite. Tons of great history, and if you enjoy Geocaching, this park has some really neat ones that take you to some interesting locales. We also love to take the 4x4 down on the beach, as we always seem to see bald eagles.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank lived_there2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

820 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    515
    240
    56
    8
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
49 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Military History Buffs will enjoy this place-”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We are lucky they preserved the Fort. It is a place to learn how we got where we are today. The museum is filled with local facts on the area. The casements and lonely chimney's and concrete barracks bases are a reminder of how life was for the 'Guardians of Freedom" a Century ago. Take time to see the area right off-post. You can easily see the 'Officers Row' of houses, parade field and train line that was on post. For we veterans that served in modern times, they deserve our overdue respect for long cold wet nights 'on watch' in the middle of no-where.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
164 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Best State Park Ever!”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Wife, I and a Friend spent most of a Friday at this wonderful spot. Best way to say how great it was is to describe what it was like to be anywhere that you could watch a Snowy Owl and, at the same time, watch Whale spouts plume up out of the beautiful Pacific Ocean all from the Observation Deck at the South Jetty at this fabulous state park. Clatsop Spit is the westernmost piece of land in continental America and this was excactly where all this action took place. We also combed the Veteran's Cemetery at the park as well as the wonderful beach where the shipwrecked Peter Ireland lays for wonderful photo ops. There is much more we haven't done yet such as tour the military museum and the gun mounts so we will be back soon and we are looking into renting a cabin for sometime in March 2013.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Steven S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corvallis, Oregon
Level Contributor
103 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Very educational”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We learned a lot about the history of Ft. Stevens. The museum is small, but very helpful to understanding what you see. The guns were installed on disappearing gun mounts which was quite the feat of engineering.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank wingboyOR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McMinnville, Oregon
Level Contributor
110 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Oregon History”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

There is a lot to see and do but it does get a bit redundant (i.e. the batteries all look the same) but the history is amazing. We claim we had a "good year" even though we aren't true dedicated bird watchers, when we spent close to an hour watching the migrated Snow Owl mates enjoy the high winds and abundant rodent population.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank JeayPay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fort Stevens State Park also viewed

 

Been to Fort Stevens State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing