We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Miles of sparkling warm sand - for those who truly love to walk on a beach”

Fort Stevens State Park
Ranked #3 of 44 things to do in Astoria
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Toronto
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Miles of sparkling warm sand - for those who truly love to walk on a beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2012

My wife and I spent hours just soaking in the scenery at the beach..wide wide expanse which was great for us and the dogs too... warm soft sand...the roaring crash of the surf. The shipwreck is a haunting structure - great for photos! Overall just a wonderful place. We camped for one night and the facilities are kept in fantastic condition. They also have yurts and cabins available for those who aren't interested in pitching a tent. When I was registering for my campsite the lady who was assisting me couldn't have been more friendly! Absolutely fantastic service.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank raynfall84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

803 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    501
    237
    56
    8
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oregon
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A huge park with lots of hiking, beach walking, and nature sights”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2012

Our first time here, we saw a bald eagle perched atop a tall pillar. The shipwreck is something you don't see every day, and there are many great trails for hiking, both along the dunes and into the woods. We were geocaching and had a great time getting half a dozen caches. Be aware- restrooms are closed and locked at dusk. With ocean views, beach walking, camping, hiking, and biking, this park has it all. Well, except for eating establishments- you'll have to go into town for food if you haven't brought your own.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Kiraboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
146 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Nice State Park with caveats”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2012

Large, very large park. Lots of trails for walking or bicycling to either the Columbia River or the Pacific. Great scenery. Bathrooms surprisingly nice. Don't expect a lot of camping privacy however, as the sites are relatively close together and with few exceptions, there are not a lot of trees or plants separating you from your neighbors. You'll not only smell their burgers, you'll probably know what seasonings they used as well.

But...there is a lot to see and do, and if you don't mind the above caveat, it's a worthwhile place to go.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank SethE56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great place to explore and run around”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2012

A perfect site for a boy with a big imagination but the interpretation aspect was limited. Be sure to wear closed shoes if you walk around on the grass. This is obviously a favorite grazing spot for he local elk herd.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank freeddee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon City
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“See the shipwreck remains.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2012

What a beautiful state park. I love their biking trails and always enjoy the beach at the park. The shipwreck remains are a neat thing to see.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Dennis K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fort Stevens State Park also viewed

 

Been to Fort Stevens State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing