We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice coffee but left with a " bitter taste " due staff”
Review of The Rusty Cup

The Rusty Cup
Ranked #7 of 9 Coffee & Tea in Astoria
Restaurant details
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Nice coffee but left with a " bitter taste " due staff”
Reviewed February 5, 2014 via mobile

The coffee is good - no doubt about that. Order an extra shot in your espresso if you really like coffee and want to taste it. But, we were disappointed that the staff pay total attention to chatting with their mates rather than at least acknowledging customers as they pay and leave. I kind of felt like I was imposing on the staff by breaking up their chat. I'll look elsewhere next time I want a nice coffee.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank CyclistSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    7
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Astoria fixture”
Reviewed November 1, 2013

Great fixture of Astoria. We never miss stopping at the Rusty Cup.Too bad for me that driving all the way from Canada stops me from visiting way more often. Love that place.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Airstream2210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great coffee and food”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

The Rusty Cup is a quirky coffee shop with great food, fantastic coffee and friendly staff. The sandwiches were very nice and great value for money. There were games to keep the kids occupied and overall a great atmosphere. If you are looking for a relaxing location for coffee or a light meal then I would recommend the Rusty Cup.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astoria, Oregon
1 review
“Best Coffee Shop On The Coast!!!”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

First let me just say that their staff is awesome. Fun atmosphere that makes you feel like you're with family, and the owner Kristy is a hoot.
Now to the good stuff, the coffee. Let me just say that as a former barista i know quite a bit about the art of espresso and the drinks you'll find there are amazing. They have great blended concoctions such as the Flying Barney or the ever popular Brown Cow, but where they really shine is their high octane espresso. They have many different blends to chose from, including different roast styles, and as an avid fan of all things caffinated I would recomend the Whitewater whichis just superb. 3 times the caffeine of regular coffee and a taste as smooth as silk.
The Rusty Cup also has fantastic soups and sandwiches which can be custom made to order, and the pastries are delicious.
Seriously, if you like good coffee and cool people this is the place for you.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MetalHead97103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astoria, Oregon
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“What a great place”
Reviewed May 11, 2012

The coffee is literally the best I've ever tasted. They have great sandwiches and you get a lot of food for not much money. By far the best thing about this place is the owner Kristy. She keeps her place humming along but with a lite and fun atmosphere. She's always quick with a joke and it's definitely a great experience.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Astoriaboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Rusty Cup also viewed

 
Astoria, Oregon Coast
Astoria, Oregon Coast
 
Astoria, Oregon Coast
Astoria, Oregon Coast
 

Been to The Rusty Cup? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing