We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Astoria
Post
Inbox
Search
Save
Review Highlights
Beautiful Boat Ride with Bruce!

We booked our tour over Valentine's Day Weekend and had the most beautiful and sunny private boat... read more

Reviewed March 11, 2019
Lindzerlady
via mobile
Visiting Astoria for vacation

My sister and I took the 3 hour tour today, with Captain Bruce at the helm. There was a party of... read more

Reviewed September 27, 2018
Hanjan1
,
Salt Lake City, Utah
Read all 56 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Astoria
from $130.00
More Info
from $1,239.00
More Info
Reviews (56)
Filter reviews
56 results
Traveler rating
49
4
0
2
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
49
4
0
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hour tour captain chris bald eagles floating homes highly recommend this tour wealth of knowledge columbia river beautiful scenery rain or shine astoria area visiting astoria cousteau wildlife boat freighters geology ships
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 56 reviews
Reviewed May 2, 2017

For the money, we expected more than just a glorified sight-seeing boat tour of the Columbia River immediately surrounding Astoria. We did not see the point of seeing or hearing about the captains banker's house or other random places that had nothing to do with anything "eco". Don't waste your time - there are so many other worthwhile tours of the area.

Date of experience: April 2017
5  Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
christopherlloyd, Owner at Columbia River Eco Tours, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2017

INTERESTING REVIEW
The reviewer 'forgot' to tell you a few things...
1) There was no discussion about 'the captain's bankers house'. We don't even have such a thing in Astoria.
2) There were other passengers aboard that tour who saw, California Sea Lions, Stellar Sea Lions, Harbor Seals, Ospreys sitting on their nests, Bald Eagles, American White Pelicans, Cormorants, Endangered Species Wild Salmon Juvenile Raising Pens, Endangered Species Caspian Terns, and so much more...
3) After cruising along the beautiful coastline of Astoria we entered the Lewis and Clark National Wildlife Area - GORGEOUS - and explored the John Day River by passing through an ~100 year old hand cranked railroad bridge. Chinook and Clatsop Native Americans called this place home. Now days there are numerous modern floating homes along the coastline. Over the past eight years passengers have delighted in seeing these floating river homes.
4) On the way back we cruised by huge Grain Ships picking up Summer and Winter Wheat from the Portland Area and bound for Asia.
5) Bornstein's Fish Plant processing the catch from the bountiful NW waters.
6) The Oregon Responder - an Oil Cleanup Vessel - just like the ships used in the Gulf of Mexico during the BP spill.
7) The Cruise Ship Docks where thousands come ashore to enjoy Astoria each year.
To the Reviewer - This review is first 'negative' review I've received in eight years. THANK YOU! For you have given me the opportunity to recount just how fantastic the tour actually is!!!
To Everyone Else - Welcome aboard... We'll go have a GREAT TIME. ECO AND MORE!!!
Thank you,
Captain Christopher

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2017

We spent a day in Astoria when the Norwegian Jewel stopped for a day as part of an autumn re-positioning cruise, and after some research made this half-day trip our # 1 choice of things to do. We weren't disappointed!

After the ship docked we disembarked and walked through the nearby docks to meet Captain Chris Lloyd of Columbia River Eco-tours. We were very much looking forward to spending the morning touring the Columbia River and nearby Lewis and Clark National Wildlife Refuge.

While aboard the Christina Cousteau we were treated to beautiful scenery, a lot of male sea lions, cormorants, kingfishers, ospreys, and even a bald eagle. Captain Chris regaled us with stories of Astoria's colourful past and present, including the government's losing battle with the sea lions who choose to take over the local piers.

In addition to the amazing scenery and abundant wildlife, we also had an opportunity to pass by a merchant marine school and learn about its purpose and history, and tour into a narrow area of the river, the home of some fascinating houseboats and other river-top homes. Then there was the working dock with all it's bustling activity, and the amazing scenery in general - there was absolutely nothing we didn't love about this trip.

Date of experience: September 2016
4  Thank Summer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2016

We have taken the West Coast re-positioning cruise several times. All included the inevitable stop in Astoria. It’s a lovely town but not too much to do- not really a place to bring 3.000 people. In past we’ve enjoyed the waterfront walk and fish & chips at one of the lovely brewpubs.
This time however, I was determined to find something different. Because of the outstanding reviews on TripAdvisor, we choose to go on a River cruise with Columbia River Eco Tours. We were not disappointed. The excursion was only marginally more expensive than the ships excursions but more personal, more informative and more fun. There were only 6 of us on Chris Lloyd’s boat for the 3 hour excursion. Chris is knowledgeable about the history of the area. We were treated to various wildlife sightings (eagles, seals, sea lions) and got a new perspective on the Columbia River basin. Later we still had time for our fish & chips. Would highly recommend for young families.

Date of experience: September 2016
2  Thank Peter061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2016

We loved our trip with Captain Chris, even though it was raining a little it was the highlight of our trip and cruise!
My daughter FELL IN LOVE with the Sea Lions and he got her "up close and personal" with them and two weeks later she is still talking about the trip. Highly recommend it!

Date of experience: September 2016
1  Thank caraacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2016

What a great tour! Captain Chris so personable and knowledgeable. Had a great time experiencing the beautiful Oregon coastline and learning about the workings of an active port. Fascinating information & history, very easy going. Love having that small group, only 6 passenger, experience. Very accommodating when our ship arrived late into port and we missed our original time. Kept us informed and assured us we would "get our tour"!. Thanks Chris for a perfect day! Highly recommend

Date of experience: September 2016
2  Thank JNoel1211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews