We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“For vegetarians, a big disappointment.”

Himani Indian Cuisine
Ranked #21 of 98 Restaurants in Astoria
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Business meetings, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Opened about 4 months ago
Pittsfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“For vegetarians, a big disappointment.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2011

My partner and I love Indian food, and were eagerly looking forward to an Indian restaurant opening in Astoria, OR. So we had high hopes for the Himani. Sadly, we were disappointed. The vegetarian selections are limited, and not very appealing. The saag paneer is made with lumps of potatoes, rather than paneer cheese.
Meat eaters might have a better time there. But across, the basic meal does not include naan, you are not served any papadum before the meal, chutney is extra, and the prices are what you might expect for a much better meal in Portland.
Best bet is their lunch buffet. Again. not much in the way of appetizing vegetarian dishes, but at least you can eat all you want. Dinner is paying too much for too little.
Big disappointment!

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Pilgrim4Art
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    19
    10
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
South Bend WA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Incredible!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2011

Since they had just opened, they offered only a buffet at lunch, but they did serve dinner from an extensive menu starting at 5 p.m. Their lunch buffet consisted of at least 15 items, including tandoori chicken, two soups, two curries and numerous other offerings. Not to mention a salad and a dessert involving mangos.

Everything was piping hot (well, except the salad and dessert) and was excellent. We were also impressed by the cloth napkins, tablecloths and REAL cutlery. Weird, but we both remarked on it.

My friend paid for lunch while I was otherwise occupied, and when she left she said. "How much do you think lunch was?' I said it was probably around $12 to $15. When she told me it was $5.00, I was stunned!

So give this place a try. Even if you are not a big fan of most Indian food, I can almost guarantee that you will find something on their buffet or menu to like.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank catglass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
niceplanet
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great new option in Astoria”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2011

This family has been serving the best food at the Astoria Sunday Market for years. I am so glad that I have so many more chances to enjoy during the week now. Fearless traditional entrees served family style. Go with a group so you get to try more items!

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank niceplanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
57 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great place, a must try!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2011

I have only been here for lunch. It was good when I went. They have a buffet for lunch which is great. You end up trying everything and getting a good taste of their food. I know the buffet changes so its not always the exact same things. I have heard great things about dinner too but have yet to make it in for dinner.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank m_17kisses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
194 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“What a great find!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2011

Monday nights are not typically a dining out night, but you wouldn't know it at Himani. Arrived at 6:30 and there were only a few people, but 2 hours later, it was hopping! Our waitress was fun and informative and knew when to approach us and when to leave us alone. I was having dinner with an old friend and we had a lot to catch up on.

We shared an order of Samosa which was very good and the dipping sauces were light and flavorful. I ordered the Lamb kabob and my friend had the Chicken Curry. The lamb was really tender and you could cut it with a fork. It came on a sizzling platter with sautéed onions and veggies and a side of Basmati rice. The Chicken Curry came in in a little silver pot and was just spicy enough to enjoy. The chicken was tender and quite yummy. We shared our entrées back and forth and couldn't decide who had the best! We also had an order of Naan that was perfectly baked. We ended with sharing the homemade mango ice cream. It's on the sweet side so be prepared, but oh so yummy!!
Our total bill was $34.00 (w/out drinks and Oregon has no sales tax).

Himanis' prices are really quite modest. Appetizers and side dishes from $2 – $8, entrees $9 – $18, beverages and desserts run $2 - $4.

I can't wait to return to my hometown to try it again!

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Gigglebelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Himani Indian Cuisine also viewed

 
Astoria, Oregon Coast
Astoria, Oregon Coast
 

Been to Himani Indian Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing