We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Must When in Astoria”

Fort George Brewery + Public House
Ranked #6 of 101 Restaurants in Astoria
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $12
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast
Description: There’s always something new to try from the brewery’s rotating taps, including taster trays, pints, and growlers-to-go. The lively public house offers family-friendly dining with made-from-scratch meals using organic, natural, and local ingredients.An upstairs Woodfired Pizza venue was opened in the Summer of '13 and operates all day on Saturdays and Sundays, from 4:30-10pm on Wednesdays-Fridays and is closed Monday and Tuesday. Beautiful views and woodwork. Tours of the 30 barrel production brewery and beer canning line are available Saturdays and Sundays at 1pm and 4pm. Located on the site of the original 1811 settlement of Astoria, the locals lining the bar can get you up to speed on the city’s past, present, and future.
Portland, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A Must When in Astoria”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Good brew and good food. Make their own beer, but have guest beers as well. Great to sit outside in the warmer months. Sunday night music as well.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Catherine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

892 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    408
    348
    98
    26
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“One of our favorite breweries in Oregon”
Reviewed March 5, 2013

We're from Portland, so we we have access to a TON Of breweries in our own backyard; however, one of our favorite breweries in the entire state is Fort George. We especially enjoy the service in the taproom. Each time we are there, we get excellent service from the same guy (he's a tall guy, very cheerful and friendly) who seems to work there almost every day. We choose the taproom over the dining room every time. The last time we were there, we sampled some of their stouts, which were amazing. Of course, my favorite is the Vortex IPA and we got a growler filled to enjoy back home. Half the reason we travel to Astoria is to stop by Fort George.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank PDXLadie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Fantastic beer, Okay food”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

In some ways, I feel bad only giving Fort George 3 stars as they are a great brewery (5 stars for the beer!) and the staff are always wonderful. However, the food tends to be a bit hit or miss, the menu is limited, and there are few options for non-red meat eaters. On our most recent visit, I tried the vegetarian chili and it was a bit meh - it lacked a comprehensive flavor palate which I expect from good chili, but this was improved with a touch of fresh lemon juice I added at the table. It was a bean heavy chili, which would not have been a problem as vegetarian chilis often are, but some of the beans were undercooked and, well, almost crunchy. A bit disappointing to say the least...

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kittygoth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“February is Stout month”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

stopped in for a late lunch on blustery/rainy Tuesday afternoon. Was pleasantly surprised that it was "stout month" and they were having a flight of 9 stouts for tasting for $11. Great deal, I was sold. I tried the blind tasting (got only 3 of out 9 right! eek) and really really enjoyed the process. The Viva Le Stout was a lovely coffee/chocolate option. Food was ok, service prompt and informative.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sparklingspirit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abbotsford, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
392 reviews
167 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
“Really good beer ...”
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Fort George Brewery may not be the best known craft brewery in Oregon, but its brews are right up there with best. The pub is very popular with the locals and has an extensive range of excellent ales and stouts. The staff are very friendly and helpful with selecting which brews to sample (so many beers - so little time!). Our server was happy to bring small "tasters" before we made our final decisions.Vortex IPA is outstanding for anyone who likes hops! My wife fell in love with the Hefeweizen. Many of the brews are available in cans or bottles, so if you can't drink it in the pub, you can take it home. The food is pretty standard pub food, but well cooked and not overpriced.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fort George Brewery + Public House also viewed

 

Been to Fort George Brewery + Public House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing