We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value”
Review of Atomic Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Atomic Motel
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Astoria
Reviewed May 6, 2011

We were in our Oregon Coast trip when we arrived to Astoria. This was by far, the best rate we found. Pretty far from downtown, that´s not an issue. You have a diner place very close to the motel.

Room Tip: Ask for the farthest rooms from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marchador
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (156)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

139 - 145 of 156 reviews

Reviewed August 30, 2010

Found it overpriced for the room. The room they put us in was surrounded by a group of people that were travelling together so when we got there, there were several people congregrated outside our room smoking and yapping. We asked to be moved but since we were already in the room, it was a no go. The manager knew that the four couples were all together and had not mentioned that when she booked us in that room. They quieted down after a bit but the whole thing left a bad taste. Would not stay there again. For a bit more money, we could have stayed at a nicer and cleaner place.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JRoc2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2010

We recently traveled for 2 weeks in the Pacific Northwest, in a motel or hotel every night, and this motel was the poorest quality for the price of any we encountered. Very disappointing since it does have a good location.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NanaPapa60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2010

Traveled up to Astoria to do two days of Razor clamming at Ft. Stevens. This was a PERFECT location. Pig and Pancake was right next door. This motel was clean and neat, inexpensive, friendly staff, free complementary soup and stew in the evening and a continental breakfast in the morning...coffee available in the office, as was fresh fruit. It's an old utilitarian motel, convenient location, with Wi-Fi....comfortable beds, HBO. It's not the RITZ, but worth the stay. We'd stay there again and would recommend it to my friends.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rick A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2010

Spent the night in Astoria, initially arriving with hopes of camping at one of the many state parks. However, Mother Nature and her apparent monsoon season soon dashed those plans. We were looking for an inexpensive, yet clean, motel that offered in room wi-fi and happened upon the Lamplighter. The desk clerk was very friendly and our room was clean. The motel is right next to a "Pigs N' Pancake" restaurant that has great food and great service. Hoping to make it back to Astoria before summer is through, and will most likely stay there again, as it is much more reasonable than some of the other "chain" motels in the area.

  • Stayed: June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gypsyfrau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2010

Didn't like: The price. $97.00!!!
Liked: Easy walking distance to downtown Astoria.

The Lamplighter Inn is just your basic motor-court style hotel from the 1960's. I was a little wary after my interactions with them over the telephone. I was afraid Jim would book me on the wrong day; I had to repeat the date 3 or 4 times to him. The morning of our stay, I called to confirm our reservations and the woman who answered told me they were short of housekeeping staff, and made it sound like our room might not be ready. However, when we arrived, it was ready.

The room itself was clean and basic. Contrary to some other reviews online, there were plenty of nice, fat pillows (5 in all). The coverlet on the bed was a little worn and pilly, and my husband said he saw a cigarette burn, but other than that the room was clean. There was a table, chairs, a dresser/TV stand, a desk, and 2 lamps. They also provided a luggage rack, a microwave, and a refrigerator. I had a problem getting the drapes to meet in the middle when closed, but then I noticed someone had conveniently left a paperclip on the drapes so I could pin them shut. Also, the bathroom looked a little worn out. We did not even use the shower, cause the showerhead was placed so low, at about neck level (and I'm 5'2"). Also, I was awakened early in the morning by a large truck idling in front of our window, but that is practically unavoidable in motor-court style motels.

I am not trying to say I had a bad experience. My husband thought it was great! It was a cozy room, and for our purposes (walking around sightseeing, laying around watching cable, keeping food cold in the fridge), it worked great. This hotel seems to cater to fishermen (hence all the large trucks in the parking lot) and had a real down-home feeling. These little quirks and flaws are just part of the adventure of traveling.

Although the Lamplighter Inn does not have a restaurant, fans of the Pig n Pancake will be pleased to note there is one right next door. The Astoria visitor's center is on the other side of the hotel, and they are a great resource for maps and information.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank la_blue_girl2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2010

loved this place, very warm and inviting, good value, nice rooms, very clean and cozy, could have stayed here for a week and felt completely at home. Make sure you try urban cafe downtown.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank flyingtetas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Astoria hotels
2 mi away
Comfort Suites Columbia River
0.4 mi away
Astoria Riverwalk Inn
Astoria Riverwalk Inn
#5 of 14 in Astoria
764 reviews
0.8 mi away
Norblad Hotel And Hostel
Norblad Hotel And Hostel
#11 of 14 in Astoria
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Commodore Hotel
Commodore Hotel
#8 of 14 in Astoria
218 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cannery Pier Hotel
Cannery Pier Hotel
#1 of 14 in Astoria
1,260 reviews
3.4 mi away
Astoria Crest Motel
Astoria Crest Motel
#6 of 14 in Astoria
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atomic Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atomic Motel

Address: 131 W Marine Dr, Astoria, OR 97103-6004 (Formerly Lamplighter Motel)
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Astoria
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Astoria
Price Range: $63 - $161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Atomic Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fun mid-century modern hotel. Step back in time with us. Hang out with Dean Martin in the lobby, enjoying micro-brews and chips and salsa. Seconds away from the Astoria river walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Atomic Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lamplighter Hotel Astoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing