We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bayfront View Mediocre Food”
Review of Stephanie's Cabin

Stephanie's Cabin
Ranked #77 of 98 Restaurants in Astoria
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Ventura, CA
Level Contributor
265 reviews
164 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Bayfront View Mediocre Food”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Live and learn. Always and I mean always check Tripadvisor using your smart phone application before you go to a restaurant in a new area. We drove over from Portland, went through the fantastic Coast Guard museum, went out to see where the ocean meets the Columbia and now we need a bite to eat. We actually stopped at the smoked fish place next door first but alas they were closing. Great smoked fish but another story. The sales person sent us next door for clam chowder. Stephanies. This used to a coffee house a long time ago but now is a quasi-fine food /view restaurant. Everyone ordered the clam chowder. Odd consistency and color liked they used a lot of cornstarch to thicken. Not great flavor, not bad. Mediocre. I ordered the razor clams which per the menu were grilled. First the deep fry em then must grill them. All I tasted was old grease and batter instead of the sweet flavor of these clams. Service was slow but reasonable. Food pricey for the quality. There must be better in the area but we were moving on. Pass.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CWS55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    45
    46
    18
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Woodburn
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Staff is delightful ... food is ample ... prime rib was tough.”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This is a great place if you're starving, and don't care much what you eat. We had the prime rib sandwich ... served with au jus, and cheese on the garlic toast, the sandwich was tasty enough ... perhaps a little greasy, but the prime rib was as tough as shoe leather. Our grandson tried the regular french dip, served on an enormous loaf of bread ... he liked it, but had nothing to compare it to. The chocolate sundae for dessert was absolutely wonderful. The scenery out the back was breathtaking ... The prices were a bit steep for the quality of the meal.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank William C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idaho Falls, Idaho
Level Contributor
107 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“average tasting food”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

the food was a little on the high side ..food wasn't to bad,we ate there twice,it was close to our hotel...you can see the bay if you sat on the west side...

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank patty p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
210 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
“Great Gyro!”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

My wife & I stopped here for lunch on our way to Long Beach for a little getaway. We both ordered the Gyros & were we ever happy. Huge & flavorful. Our waitress said the owners are Greek & they like to show off their heritage. Whatever the reason, it was great. Not a fancy place but very good food

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelSinceRetired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great stop for lunch”
Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

The prime rib sandwhich and roast beef sandwhich were both quite good and served with au jus dip. Prices were a bit high. Seafood was average. Great service. Close to the water.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IrfanS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stephanie's Cabin also viewed

Astoria, Oregon Coast
 
Astoria, Oregon Coast
Astoria, Oregon Coast
 

Been to Stephanie's Cabin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing