We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Must Stop for Lunch”

Bowpicker Fish & Chips
Ranked #1 of 98 Restaurants in Astoria
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Fast Food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Scenic view, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Takeout
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
184 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“A Must Stop for Lunch”
Reviewed July 24, 2014

This is some of the best fish and chips I ever had. No wonder they always have a line waiting to be served. But... it's well worth the wait.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank WorldTravelerOR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

744 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    534
    143
    47
    15
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Better than the hype”
Reviewed July 21, 2014

Incredible little morsels of wonder. The line is a plus if you like to meet the locals or other travelers.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Jordan, Utah
Level Contributor
54 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fun Concept & Location”
Reviewed July 21, 2014 via mobile

This place was recommended to us from a Newport local. We are so glad we decided on this place. After enjoying the maritime museum we got a couple orders of the fish and chips. It was a long line but well worth it. The fish tasted fresh and we were very happy. This place was very simple but fun and well worth the experience. We will be back on our next road trip.

Helpful?
Thank Marcus M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toano, Virginia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A Great Find!”
Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

The fish and chips here were recommended as the best in Oregon. They were correct! The fish is tuna steak, not your typical white meat fish.

Be prepared to wait in line for a meal that is worth the wait. This venue is located across the road from the maritime museum. There are several picnic tables where you can join others savoring these delectable treats. You 'll feel like one of the locals here. A must stop when in Astoria!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Boscomac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goodyear, AZ
Level Contributor
68 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Loved the tuna fish and chips!”
Reviewed July 18, 2014

Long wait, but once we got the fish and chips was well worth it! Such a grand taste and texture of the fish. Be sure to order the 5-piece as you will wish you had! Cute little place where they serve out of an old boat. We ate in the car as there were only two park benches--but we didn't mind. Kind of fun, actually. And the people running the place were very friendly and fun.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank howler5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bowpicker Fish & Chips also viewed

 

Been to Bowpicker Fish & Chips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing