We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice visit” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fort Clatsop National Memorial

Fort Clatsop National Memorial
Ranked #5 of 44 things to do in Astoria
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A replica of Lewis & Clark's original fort built during their expedition in 1805.
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
83 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Nice visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2011

We area glad we stopped at this area but it is probably only a place to stop once. The fort was interesting to see, probably more interesting during interactive summer times. The museum area was not one of my favorite NP area but was still interestings. Ranger programs were fun for our daughter. $3 per person to enter.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank 1cutemom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

574 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    344
    190
    37
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“amazing history”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2011

I loved the visitor center, staffed by volunteers and others who are very knowledgeable. great collection of books and other information. the movies were a bit mediocre. the fort replica is well done and gives one a great idea of how lewis and clark's group lived.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank teleAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
houston
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Interesting historical site”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2011

If you don't have much knowledge about the Lewis and Clark expedition and their winter on the coast, this national park site will be even more interesting. Minimum time is 1.5 hours for the 2 films, exhibits, and exploring the replica of the fort. If you want to hike allow even more time.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank houstonkar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
480 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
“Educational and worth visiting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2011

This museum has a reconstruction of Lewis and Clark's fort along with educational video presentations and exhibits. Worth a visit if in the area.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank bgtravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agoura Hills, California
Level Contributor
59 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“An Historical Must-See”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2011

From downtown Astoria, it took just fifteen minutes to drive to Fort Clatsop. Because it was an uphill climb from the parking lot to the Visitor Center we got out the wheelchair for Louise, and upon reaching the entrance all three of us were allowed to enter the park free of charge based upon my National Park Senior Pass. I would heartily recommend obtaining this pass to anyone over the age of 62 who plans to travel even moderately. It cost a mere $10 and allows free entry into any National Park, Forest, Battlefield, etc., to the bearer and up to three other persons in his/her car. It is good for life.
Entering the Visitor Center, we were greeted by a friendly staff who – noting the wheelchair – offered a motorized one to Louise. She enjoyed it, and it spared Owen and me a lot of energy. Our first stop was at a spot twenty yards downhill from Fort Clatsop, where a demonstration was held showing the loading and firing of a musket from the early 1800s - explaining the use of the powder, patch, ball, and ramrod.
Afterward a Park Service guide offered us a tour down to the Lewis and Clark canoe landing with a further mile's trek along the river thereafter. We wanted to see the canoe landing, but were dubious about another mile of walking; however,we were assured that we could come right back from the landing.
Right above the canoe landing an octagonal wooden viewing platform has been erected because the mud and terrain below are too treacherous for visitors. From here, we could see the spot where the Corps Of Discovery had beached their canoes. As an added attraction, there was a Bald Eagle circling out over the river.
Now we headed back uphill to inspect the Fort Clatsop replica, being amazed at how relatively luxurious these quarters had been, considering that they had been erected in the early 1800s. Sacajawea and her husband had a large room with a double bed, fireplace, table, and two chairs, as well as an overhead bin in which to store belongings.
This was pretty much the norm for all the rooms except that the one for Lewis and Clark had a large writing table and a much bigger fireplace. However, even the rooms which held eight men in four double bunks contained a table, chairs, and a fireplace with chimney in which they would cook their meals. The fort and rooms were constructed of logs almost eighteen inches in diameter, so I would imagine that after being chinked with mud, they would remain relatively comfortable during the winter with the warmth from their fireplaces.
Heading back to the Visitor Center, we came across a life-sized statue of Sacajawea, and back at the Center browsed through the interesting museum and gift shop for half an hour.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank lajollabob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fort Clatsop National Memorial also viewed

 

Been to Fort Clatsop National Memorial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing