We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best views in Astoria”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Astoria Column

Astoria Column
Book In Advance
More Info
$100.00*
and up
Oregon Coast Day Trip from Portland: Astoria and Cannon Beach
Ranked #2 of 44 things to do in Astoria
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: A 125-foot column which sits atop of Coxcomb Hill overlooking Astoria.
gloucester va
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best views in Astoria”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2012

This is the second time I've visited Astoria and both times I've had to climb the Astoria Column. The views are absolutely gorgeous. The climb is not for the out of shape. About 170 steps up a spiral staircase, but totally worth the reward. If you don't do anything else in Astoria go for the climb, you'll love it.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank oldcoastie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,747 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,136
    491
    97
    17
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level Contributor
62 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Excellent views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2012

Fantastic views from the top of the column. The climb to the top won't kill you, and it's well worth it.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank kwpapers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Placerville, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Up Up and Away”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2012

a wonderful workout with a view everyone loves at the top.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Waianaegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Excellent views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2012

We quickly drived by here at the end of our day and we were so glad that we did. The column itself looks great and the views from the top are stunning. The walk up and down the stairs did make my travel companion feel queasy so if you are prone to dizziness beware! Well worth the visit.

Helpful?
Thank Beckstar77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon City
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Worth the Drive from Seaside”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2012

We enjoyed the history and view from the top. Kids will enjoy launching a balsa wood glider from the top of the column. They are available to purchase for a dollar from the gift shop.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Dennis K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Astoria Column also viewed

 

Been to Astoria Column? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing