We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'd stay again”
Review of Commodore Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Commodore Hotel
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Astoria
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I'd stay again”
Reviewed March 31, 2010

The room, decor, location and historic building were just fine. You do get used to the street noise, but it never goes away, even at 3am. Bring earplugs if you are a light sleeper. The price was definitely right and I would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CandyHeart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    78
    22
    6
    6
See reviews for
12
141
19
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2010

The good; great location downtown, you can walk to anything, nicely designed, modern super clean rooms and bathrooms. The rooms without bathrooms are probably the best value you can get anywhere in Astoria. Great Coffee-shop/restaurant in the building.

The bad; our room was pretty loud and it supposedly was on the quite side. One of the main thoroughfares runs past the hotel and trucks or music can be loud at night. The walls were thin enough that the occupants in the neighboring room could be clearly heard all night. There was also a humming that came from our end of the building, like a industrial fan or motor that was on day and night.

I really wanted to like this hotel, but I'm not certain if we would stay again. If you're on a limited budget and are looking for a nice, clean place to stay and don't mind sleeping with earplugs in, then I think this is a great choice. If you're looking for somewhere quite enough to sleep comfortable, you should look somewhere else.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank runSun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2009

Destination Astoria! One night stay at the Commodore. We booked the suite for $140.00. The suite was NOISY because highway 30 runs on the North and South ends of the hotel. The shared bathrooms are also right outside the door. The staff was responsive to our concerns. I highly recommend booking an interior, shared bath, cheap room for your stay. You will not be in the hotel much anyway because Astoria has great food and booze (check out Fort George brewery). Oh yeah, the Commodore is sparse and trendy.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sinisterhaley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagstaff
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2009

My wife and I ended up roomless in Astoria. We sort of stumbled upon the Commodore and we were instantly given a no-strings attached tour which made the place very inticing. It is a very modern hotel, super fabulous, and newly remodeled. Go there!
And while you're there, walk down to the Astoria cafe and eat some of there homemade food.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barenakedcakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SE Alaska
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2009

Great room for a great price. Stayed in the third floor suite nice view of the Columbia River and Astoria Bridge. Walking distance to all attractions, restaurants, etc. Helpful and curteous staff. Look forward to staying there again.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clarencestrait
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Astoria hotels
1.2 mi away
Cannery Pier Hotel
Cannery Pier Hotel
#1 of 14 in Astoria
1,194 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Elliott
Hotel Elliott
#5 of 14 in Astoria
382 reviews
1.2 mi away
Astoria Riverwalk Inn
Astoria Riverwalk Inn
#7 of 14 in Astoria
680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Astoria
1.6 mi away
Best Western Astoria Bayfront Hotel
0.1 mi away
Norblad Hotel And Hostel
Norblad Hotel And Hostel
#10 of 14 in Astoria
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Commodore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Commodore Hotel

Property: Commodore Hotel
Address: 258 14th St, Astoria, OR
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Astoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Astoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Commodore Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the Astoria Downtown Historic District, the Commodore Hotel occupies the 1925 Lewis Building, designed by John E. Wicks, Astoria's most influential architect. The hotel operated from 1925 until 1968, first as the Barton Inn Hotel and then as the Commodore. Shuttered for 40 years, the Commodore reopened in 2009 after an extraordinary renovation. Retaining the original doors, windows, woodwork, and fixtures-all meticulously rehabilitated-the Commodore is now a shining example of the highest standards of contemporary design and construction. The Commodore shares the historic Lewis Building with the legendary Street 14 Coffee, which you can enter directly from the lobby. Downtown Astoria is overflowing with sensory delights-dining, shopping, hiking and more are at your fingertips. Take a romantic stroll along the scenic Riverwalk. Take a ride on the Riverfront Trolley. Take a swim at the Aquatic Center. As our guest, you have access to a curated selection of films available on DVD from the front desk. Watch Goonies in the town where it was filmed. Spend a blustery night curled up with Chinatown or Magnolia. Put together a personal film festival by choosing from over 100 available titles ranging from 3 Days of the Condor to The X-Files. The Commodore understands the importance of sustainable and Earth-friendly business practices. We recycle-and we encourage our guests to do the same-and the hotel is kept sparkling with eco-safe cleaning products. Our commitment to sustainability is recognized by the Travel Oregon Forever Network. Free parking is readily available within a few blocks. Short-term street parking in front of the hotel is usually an option for check-in. The front desk can guide you to long-term parking near the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and Hotel.de so you can book your Commodore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing