We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always Clean”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Commodore Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Commodore Hotel
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Astoria
Certificate of Excellence
Wilsonville, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Always Clean”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014

I have stayed at the Commodore several times now and can't say enough good things about it. The best part is that this property obviously takes pride in the cleanliness of the facility. It's a bit noisy, but they definitely cover their bases on the website. So if you're a light sleeper this may not be for you. However, if you can keep a little noise from affecting your getaway, this is the place to stay! Grab a beer at Fort George, get informed about a little of Oregon's history at Fort Stevens, obviously stop by the Goonies house, and top off your day with the amazing view at the Astoria Column.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Danwiche s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    78
    22
    6
    6
See reviews for
12
138
19
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Galiano Island, Canada
Level Contributor
193 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014

Only checked out the prices here..quoted $160.00 for dog room...cool reception from the manager lady...like we bothering her..seemed there was no one there. Wouldn't consider this very noisy location.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
Helpful?
Thank Will F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

Trendy, clean, comfortable - and affordable. Rarely do all of these things come together for a hotel. I've always admired the Commodore Hotel from afar after seeing it written up in a magazine or something a while back - but my husband and I finally decided to take a trip to Astoria and stay at the hotel for our 1st wedding anniversary. The coast hotel we usually stay at in Gearhart was booked and it was a blessing in disguise.

We were initially greeted by super friendly front desk and found our very nice room on the corner of the second floor. Although warned that the room was "loud" - if you are from a city you will probably not be too bothered, just light street noise. The room was super functional, not overly fancy and definitely had the 'Ace' hotel kind of vibe if you are familiar with the chain; very modern and hip. We honestly didn't spend too much time in the room just cause the hotel was so superbly located in the heart of lovely Astoria - we were able to walk to the majority of breweries/restaurants/shops we had on our list.

We keep talking about what an incredible weekend trip we had in Astoria and it just wouldn't have been the same without the Commodore! We'll certainly be back soon.

Room Tip: Corner rooms aren't too loud if you are used to city noise - but with the windows open you defin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank csnyder513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
199 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

Clean, comfy and affordable. The hotel is beautifully decorated and spotlessly clean. We opted for the cheap option of shared bathroom. The bathroom was probably one of the nicest bathrooms I've ever seen, as it was wonderfully finished. Robes were provided for you to hide your modesty easily while going along the corridor the the bathroom. Yes the room was slightly on the small side, but the attention to detail well made up for that. We were offered extra pillows when asked. We were given many good recommendations from the hotelier for bars and restaurants to visit during our stay.

Cannot recommend highly enough.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine2311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

My wife absolutely loved our stay at the Commodore Hotel. The hotel is clean, simple, and cheap, and was located right in downtown Astoria, within walking distance of Fort George Brewery and the pier.

And in the morning, the cafe located right next to the lobby provided a great start to our day, featuring Stumptown Coffee.

As a forewarning, if you are not used to the format, the bathroom area is shared, but the bathrooms were impeccably clean, and very nice. It wasn't a hassle at all. The only flaw I could find with the hotel is the lack of soundproofing. If you open up your windows, you will hear what is going on down the hall, and will probably hear the sea lions going on as well. Ear plugs provided by management.

Overall a very pleasant experience though that added to the small town charm of Astoria.

Room Tip: Don't choose a room by the street!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

Our guide book said there was only one hotel choice in downtown Astoria - wrong! this recently refurbished old hotel is an excellent budget choice in the centre of this interesting little town. Although we had a room without a bath, the shared shower rooms and toilets down the hall were excellent and we were even given bath robes to go down there. The staff were very helpful and the coffee shop on the ground floor serves really good breakfasts. The only downside was that there was a rumbling in the night which interrupted our sleep.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GrahamEdwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
71 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

Loved this place. Recommended by my brother who had cycled through and stayed in one of the shared-bathroom rooms - I instead booked one of the larger, en suite rooms. It was really cheap and great! Whoever designed this place had *great* taste - simple but very cool. The guy who checked me in was very friendly and fun, and they are attached to Street 14 coffee which is a super location for breakfast. Definitely the place to stay in Astoria!

Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank BostonianBrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Astoria hotels
1.2 mi away
Cannery Pier Hotel
Cannery Pier Hotel
#1 of 14 in Astoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,157 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Elliott
Hotel Elliott
#5 of 14 in Astoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Astoria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Astoria Riverwalk Inn
Astoria Riverwalk Inn
#7 of 14 in Astoria
3.5 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Astoria
1.6 mi away
Best Western Astoria Bayfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Commodore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Commodore Hotel

Property: Commodore Hotel
Address: 258 14th Street, Astoria, OR
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Astoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Astoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Commodore Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the Astoria Downtown Historic District, the Commodore Hotel occupies the 1925 Lewis Building, designed by John E. Wicks, Astoria's most influential architect. The hotel operated from 1925 until 1968, first as the Barton Inn Hotel and then as the Commodore. Shuttered for 40 years, the Commodore reopened in 2009 after an extraordinary renovation. Retaining the original doors, windows, woodwork, and fixtures-all meticulously rehabilitated-the Commodore is now a shining example of the highest standards of contemporary design and construction. The Commodore shares the historic Lewis Building with the legendary Street 14 Coffee, which you can enter directly from the lobby. Downtown Astoria is overflowing with sensory delights-dining, shopping, hiking and more are at your fingertips. Take a romantic stroll along the scenic Riverwalk. Take a ride on the Riverfront Trolley. Take a swim at the Aquatic Center. As our guest, you have access to a curated selection of films available on DVD from the front desk. Watch Goonies in the town where it was filmed. Spend a blustery night curled up with Chinatown or Magnolia. Put together a personal film festival by choosing from over 100 available titles ranging from 3 Days of the Condor to The X-Files. The Commodore understands the importance of sustainable and Earth-friendly business practices. We recycle-and we encourage our guests to do the same-and the hotel is kept sparkling with eco-safe cleaning products. Our commitment to sustainability is recognized by the Travel Oregon Forever Network. Free parking is readily available within a few blocks. Short-term street parking in front of the hotel is usually an option for check-in. The front desk can guide you to long-term parking near the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Commodore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing