We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Commodore Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$238
$206
ComfortSuites
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$259
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$226
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$227
$202
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$319
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Elliott(Astoria)
$229
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$194
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$138
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Astoria Crest Motel(Astoria)(Great Value!)
$129
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$85
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Reviews (221)
Filter reviews
221 results
Traveler rating
100
83
24
8
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
100
83
24
8
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshared bathroomcoffee shopprivate bathovernight parkingprovide fansfree beerdowntown astoriastreet parkingtruck trafficthird floorquaint hotelgreat coffeehotel lobbysmall roomother guestscomfortable bedwould stay again
Filter
Updating list...
162 - 167 of 221 reviews
Reviewed September 15, 2012

I loved my stay here. The staff was great, rooms were clean, and reasonably priced. Bathrooms and showers are shared among the floor but I never had to wait.

Rooms are small but clean and have the essentials. The bed was very comfortable.

The little coffee shop next door is connected through the lobby when open and serves a great breakfast.

Room Tip: I stayed on the third floor and it was excellent.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johno1304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

If you like boutique hotels, the commodore will not disappoint. Tiny rooms but perfectly arranged and decorated. Rooms with shared bathrooms (all immaculate and beautifully tiled and with modern fixtures) saves money (our room was $89/night). It's a lovingly maintained old building. Some rooms may have a view but our little cheapie didn't. One thing I liked about the booking process was they give you a map of the rooms so you can pick yours. It's walking distance to many good eating spots - HIGHLY recommend Columbia Cafe. The Commodore is like a hotel you'd find in San Fransisco but right there in the middle of Astoria! The people manning the desk are very friendly and helpful and the annexed coffee shop is a lovely touch. Book with confidence (if you are ok with tiny but beautiful euro-style rooms.)

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ootanaboot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

This hotel is wonderful. The staff were friendly and knowledgeable. They provide all the information you might desire to have a marvelous visit to Astoria and offered with clarity and affability. As the title suggests the beds are phenomenal, the sheets soft and the shared washrooms and showers clean and convenient. Admitedly the walls are thin, we had trouble drifting off our second night due the amorous activities of our neighbors. So if you are a light sleeper, bring earplugs. A stay in this hotel and a visit to Astoria are both well worth that bit of extra effort! One warning, the scents of coffee and pastries wafting from the cafe downstairs each morning will leave you little choice but to visit and offer them your custom.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Treasure W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

The hotel owners have done an amazing job restoring this unique heritage property. The original character of the building is maintained and yet the place doesn't have an "old" feel...it feels clean and up to date.

Our room was small (typical of what you would expect in Europe or in a historic property) and had a sink and mirror but no other bathroom facilities. There are shared toilets and showers at the end of the hall. We very quickly got over this unusual feature (heritage building...) because the showers and bathrooms were always impeccably, spotlessly clean, and also we never encountered any waits or issues with other guests all trying to use the facilities at once. The hotel owners have made an interesting choice to leave the building like this but in doing so they avoided major renovations that would only show up as higher room fees.

Quirk number two is that there is no hotel parking. There is street parking nearby but you have to pay careful attention to the signs as the streets closest to the hotel have time restrictions and other restrictions. If you go about 3 blocks away, you can park without restrictions. We pulled up and offloaded our car and then just parked it 3 blocks away for the whole time, was really not a big deal.

Finally, the only thing that really bothered me about this hotel and the reason I knocked a star off was the fact that it is right near a busy highway and as you'll typically have your windows open in the summer (no a/c), the constant sound of logging trucks and other traffic definitely affected my sleep.

Despite all of the above I would definitely stay here again and for the price I think it's a great opportunity to stay in a centrally located, beautifully restored heritage building in Astoria, if you're willing to accept some things that are different from a typical American hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank egon61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012 via mobile

We spent 1 night at the Commodore on our way south on the 101 and really enjoyed our stay. The front desk staff were kind and had great recommendations about the area. The room was tastefully decorated and had a sink, a TV w/DVD and an iPod docking station.
The shared bathroom (or private shared, as the owner calls it) was very clean and indeed private. Never even had to wait for someone to get out. The only flaws were the poor wi fi signal we got in our room and even in the lobby and the heat in our room (it was near some pipes or something, had two fans in the room though).

I would recommend this hotel to anyone going through lovely Astoria!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kerenym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews